We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had dinner here and it was brill”
Review of Orocco Pier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orocco Pier
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“had dinner here and it was brill”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

staff excellent food fab recommend it.we were givena table nxt to a loud table the waitress moved us to a wee booth and itwas luvly.great view of the forth rail bridge all lit up stunning

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bananaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    155
    81
    52
    30
See reviews for
135
262
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Orocco Pier is a great hotel and we are so glad that we chose it for our wedding. The staff and co-ordinators couldn't do enough for us and were accommodating and helpful throughout our preparation and wedding day. The setting is stunning and all our guests commented on how lovely a venue it was. The food was excellent and the service on the day ran like clockwork. We booked out the full hotel, many of our guests for a couple of nights. The rooms are modern and well priced and the breakfast is great! We would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you can get one with a view of the river forth you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I've been staying at Orocco Pier since for many years, and watched it's growth into neighbouring properties. Unfortunately, in my opinion, growth has taken away a lot of the charm and character of the original small hotel, bar and restaurant.
My reason to stay in the hotel has always been to take advantage of the views over the Forth, and to enjoy a walk down the street to visit the local pubs.
The rooms over-looking the main street are really noisy from tyre rumble over the cobbles, and the inner rooms from the air- conditioning plant. They really should have adopted a higher standard of noise insulation in the build.
That said. the showers are really powerful, the rooms are just large enough and the breakfast is terrific!

Room Tip: If you don't get a room with a view over the Forth, be prepared for a noisy night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoscowMaleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Attended my cousins wedding at Orrocco Pier in South Queensferry yesterday and have a very nice time. The Fuscia function suite was used, which had quite low ceilings, but the views certainly made up for it, even on a Scottish winter day. The food wasok, standard wedding fayre, there could have been more. The service from the staff was excellent, they were very attentive and couldn't have been more helpful when I needed to put my 2 year olds kits (buggy, change bag etc) somewhere we could access but not in the way. Plus there were a lot of kids running about and the staff were just brilliant with them. The room is quite small but so was the wedding, with 6 tables of between 8 and 12. In the evening they moved the tables and there was plenty room for all the guests.

We didn't stay at the hotel as there were not enough rooms for us as it is more a boutique hotel - not suited for large parties as during the gap between the wedding ceremony and the meal we were in the bar restaurant area where paying customers were having lunch which was a bit of a shame for them. Plus there is no big space to have pictures done outside as it is on the main high street of South Queensferry - you could walk down to the beach to get pics done but it would be a 10 minute walk and in a wedding frock on wet sand - well if you didn't mind then your choice. There is a small balcony but it was very crammed for pictures - but obviously both the Forth Road and Rail bridges were in the back ground so they will be stunning.

All in all a good day for a smallish party of about 60.

The room is very pretty but the low ceilings make it feel a bit cramped - it has pbviously been lowered to accommodate lots of sparkly lights which is all very nice but not when you are worried about your fascinator coming into contact with them.

Room Tip: Did not stay so cannot advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed at Orocco Pier on a package of dinner bed & breakfast in January, 2012. From check-in to check-out it was excellent.
The room was lovely - with views of the two bridges from two large windows (room 15). Well furnished and comfortable with a great slate tiled bathroom - very large double-ended bath, huge walk-in shower and a window out to the same views as the bedroom. The only little quibble was that there was no door on the bathroom so any type of ablutions were open to the bedroom, which was five steps up from the bathroom - some type of door/partition would be a good addition.
The dinner in the Samphire restaurant was very good, including the service. Drinks are a bit pricey in the bar - which is also very busy at weekends - so we strolled along the High Street and sampled the local pub life.
Breakfast was great, in the Samphire again and served till 12 on the weekends ............overall we had a wonderful stay and would certainly go back again & recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Managed to get a fantastic dinner bed & breakfast deal at the last minute. As my boyfriend was leaving to go to Afghanistan we were give a beautiful room with amazing views over the Firth of Forth & both the bridges. The room had a big bay window so we just closed the sides of the curtains and had a wonderful view of the bridges when the sun came up. A decent hair-dryer in the room too! Just a set of GHD's and it would be perfect! We found all the staff to be extremely pleasant & helpful. It was a lovely touch to be taken up to our room as well. The bar had a buzzing atmosphere and we had a excellent dinner in Samphire Restaurant in a lovely booth. Even better than that check out is at 11am but breakfast is served until 12 at the weekend! How civilised!! The girl who checked us in suggested that we check out at 11 and then go and get breakfast - just wonderful!! You don't get the normal Hotel choice of lots of cereal & fruit here which would be the only slightly disappointing thing - but we had a great cooked breakfast and were given a lovely table overlooking the bridges by Alison in reception as some friends came and met us for breakfast.
There is no car-park there but a public one just along the road and it is so easy to find when you come of the bridge!
We are definately coming back when is back on his 2 weeks R&R in 4 months time.
Well done Orocco Pier - your staff are a great asset to you!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allybee0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

completly sub stansard in every respect try somewhere else

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orocco Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orocco Pier

Property: Orocco Pier
Address: 17 High St., South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9PP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Orocco Pier 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Orocco Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orocco Pier Edinburgh
Orocco Pier Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing