We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of Orocco Pier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orocco Pier
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Unlike the millions in Edinburgh this weekend we were not here for the festival we were here for my wife to have corrective eye surgery. Having scanned the hotels for weeks, most were full and every one was overpriced, the choices were limited so it was either the airport budget hotels or travel out of town.We were lucky to get the last available room at the Orocco Pier, and were genuinely looking forward to our stay.

We arrived at 3pm and the room was not ready, although this is a little on the late side the description did say checkin 4pm, we descended on the restaurant to fill the time. The place was vey busy and were advised there was a delay in ordering food, we ordered drinks and sat overlooking the magnificent Forth Rail Bridge, when the food arrived it was excellent and both of us enjoyed our order.
We ventured no further that the hotel bar in the evening and again have no complaints, we rounded off our trip with a full Scottish Breakfast, a read of the Sunday papers and of course overlooking the Firth of Forth.

I have read the reviews of others and most of the poor ones seem to be in 2012 and beyond, I can only assume there has been some work done on things because on the whole we could not fault the place.

The photograph is taken from our bedroom withe camera balanced on a coffee cup !

Room Tip: go for the executive rooms and try and get a bridge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    160
    82
    53
    30
See reviews for
138
266
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The food was excellent and waiting staff suitably attentive. As for the views - well they would be hard to top anywhere. The only gripe I have is the waitress's repeated use of the word 'guy' when referring to me - as in 'Was everything alright for you guys?' I resisted the temptation to point out that I have two substantial mammary glands attached to my upper body that make it more than clear I belong to the female species! A simple 'Was everything alright for you?' would suffice!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyMac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Absolutely wonderful food, beautifully presented and staff are very nice. So delicious I would go again. Gorgeous views over the forth as well. Couldn't fault it! Lamb was succulent and lovely. Couldn't fit a desert in unfortunately

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayegadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Lovely little rooms, with all you need for a weekend stay. Staff were very polite and helpful. Breakfast was amazing, lots of choice and we even sat outside looking over the water.
Surprisingly quiet, considering the late opening bar downstairs.
Paid £120 per night for double room, but booked last minute (day before) so not to bad at all!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nopenotsaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

8.8.13 - Visited the Antico Cafe Bar last night with a visitig friend from England. The service was very slow and the waiter totally lethargic. Starter of Nachos and Chowder were nice but there was nothing nice to say about the mains. Friend had the Southern Fried Chicken with Puffy Potatoes which turned out to be lumps of chicken in an overcooked breadcrumb base with overcooked potato wedges. The Caesar Salad was expensive and ordinary. It took nearly 5 minutes to get the waiter's attention to get the bill, when it arrived was asked to pay by card. Waiter went away and came back to say "sorry, our card machine is now broken you will have to go and pay at reception". On doing this the receptionist asked if we had enjoyed our meal to which we said that it was ok but not fantastic. She just shrugged her shoulders and took the payment! No tip left for sure and won't be back. I live in Cramond and visit South Queensferry a lot usually visiting the Ravenous Beastie Cafe which is opposite and there is a much better service and lovely food. Go there instead. The only good thing about the visit was the fantastic view of the Bridges.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We occasionally come to the Orocco Pier for our breakfast as a family as we love the views and relaxed atmosphere. We have a young girl who is fussy but she loves the bacon and sausage rolls, my wife and I have the full Scottish breakfast with the haggis. The staff are always friendly and the prices for the food are just about right.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank manaboutown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

don't stay here, please, i dont want it to be full when i come back, i had the tinniest room in the world with the most amazing view, great food, sensibly priced beer, i had room service and was asked if i wanted it all at once or to come seperately, i have never been asked this before, a nice touch, a great breakfast the next day,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dishmonkeysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
0.6 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,854 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Queensferry Hotel
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
734 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Staghead Hotel
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
4.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
4.8 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orocco Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orocco Pier

Property: Orocco Pier
Address: 17 High St., South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9PP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Orocco Pier 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Orocco Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orocco Pier Edinburgh
Orocco Pier Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing