We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and lovely cocktails!”
Review of Orocco Pier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Orocco Pier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We've visited a few times and have never been disappointed.

The food is always lovely, everything is always well-cooked and the presentation immaculate.

Also, the cocktail menu is rather exciting, I'd recommend sampling a few if you visit.

Staff-wise, they are polite and efficient, but not overbearing.

All in all, I would highly recommend trying here - even if just for the scenic views!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank HughJars85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked New Year package, could not fault our entire stay. Champagne, fresh fruit and chocolates on arrival. Room very spacious and very very clean. Attended the black tie bash, excellent night and food great. The food throughout our stay was excellent and again could not fault it. The thing that stood out most was the staff, everyone of the staff members were very friendly, very attentive and nothing was a problem. They always had a smile on their faces. We will defiantly be booking again. Thanks Orocco Pier for a fantastic 2 days.

Room Tip: Room 15, fantastic views over the Forth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I absolutely love staying at Orocco Pier~from the moment you arrive you are made to feel special.I booked a last minute stay and ended up in one of the newly furbished rooms.It was clean,spacious and the bed was massive!
We had something to eat in the bar restaurant~it was fresh and affordable.Staff are cheery and chatty.Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Had heard good things about this place, so had high hopes. It was ok, but no better,

Went for food with colleagues and it was average. Service was poor and had to chase things up several times - slow drinks, slow clearing the table. There was also a terrible stench coming in, as the smokers were congregating on the deck outside and a door or window were open, giving us the full strength nicotine experience - lovely!

Good view, no doubt about that onto the river. Drinks were expensive, but probably no more so than other places. After our meal we went to a few other pubs in south queensferry and then came back in here - to the bar, which was quite busy and in fairness had some character. I wouldn't hurry back to the place, as there is a lot of competition and better places to go.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Isthatyoujohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We visited Orocco Pier recently and although the service was excellent, I found the food wasn't as good as expected for the price. I had coconut and pineapple curry with chicken dumplings and although the curry itself was lovely, the dumplings tasted shop bought and had a weird texture.
The cheesecake also tasted shop bought. Very disappointing. Would perhaps give it another try but won't be in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have been to Orocco Pier a few times and have never been disappointed. Food and service always first class. The setting is great especially if you can get a window seat with views over the Forth. A little on the pricey side but worth it for the quality and location.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bodie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Second time visiting Orocco Pier in the last two months. Service was very poor, staff did not have knowledge of menu or drinks. Food not impressive, considering the prices they charge. You are simply paying for the view!

I used to look forward to visiting, as it used to be such a lovely place with a great menu. So disappointing to see it's being allowed to go down hill.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Scotties2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,005 reviews
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh -...
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
875 reviews
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Hotel
#94 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orocco Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orocco Pier

Address: 17 High St., South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9PP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range: £77 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orocco Pier 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Orocco Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orocco Pier Edinburgh
Orocco Pier Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing