We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel shame about the food!”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice hotel shame about the food!”
Reviewed 22 March 2011

I stayed here the first week of March for a night on a business trip. Like stated in many other reviews the outside gives the wrong impression as the internals of the hotel are quite stunning.
My room was comfortable, warm, quiet...pretty much everything you wish from a hotel room.
I had dinner that night which i thought was mediocre at best, the veal was overcooked as was the chocolate fondant. I also found the veal to be expensive for what it is, even if it wasn't overcooked. I didnt have a starter so am unable to comment.
My colleagues were split on their opinion 70/30, the 70% not been overly impressed.
Might have caught them on an off night. I would stay here again but would probably go into the city centre for a meal.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmk24076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at Dakota Edinburgh.

While I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel so much, I was also equally concerned at your experience in the Grill at Dakota. It is as frustrating as it is disappointing to learn of your experience 3 weeks later, as all I can offer is a retrospective apology. I would far rather that we were in a position to do rectify the situation there and then, and perhaps replace your dish with an alternative choice, which we would always be more than happy to do. Regardless of whether your dish was overcooked or not, the fact of the matter was that you were disappointed by it, which is one disappointed guest too many for our liking.

I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dakota in the near future and that you are able to have a far more positive Grill experience when you do.

Thanks again and kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,108
    540
    136
    49
    22
See reviews for
185
932
65
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

I arrived with a sense of dread to the Dakota following my early departure from a horror experience at the Marriot Dalmahoy. Tired, in desperate need of rest, a clean room, hot shower and a quiet place to sleep following tramping around the globe for a friend's wedding.
I walked into an ultra cool interior, friendly helpful unimposing staff, a cosy chair in the room to curl up with a book, a cup of tea and a biscuit. Shower and bathroom spacious and more than enough to take away the tiredness of dancing till the wee hours and long haul flights.
Bed comfortable and clean, pillows aplenty and the ambience of silence beckoned nothing but blissful sleep.
Breakfast lovely - chef did the Scottish eggs to perfection and a proper cup of tea!
Been recommending this hidden gem to all since my stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranjini050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Dakota Edinburgh, I was delighted to read so many positive comments about your Dakota experience.

I was also sorry to hear of your "horror experience" elsewhere, but equally delighted that you were able to relax when you arrived at Dakota after what sounds like a momentous journey - I hope your friend appreciated all your efforts!

Thanks again and I hope that we can welcome you back to Dakota at some point in the future.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

I pulled up to the glass tower rising out of a Tesco parking lot with a sinking feeling of dread. All doubts were erased as soon as I pushed open the lobby doors. I immediately though "oh, yes!"
The hotel is so fantastically stylish from the rooms, lighting, art and restaurant/bar. Dinner was delish. The worst part of my stay was having to check out out catch my early morning flight.!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting such a positive review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at Dakota Forth Bridge.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did, and in particular your post heading, which I don't think I could have written any better myself!

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dakota in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Thoroughly amazing place, excellent service, amazing food, fantastic ambience and excellent value for money.

The service really is second to none, looking really forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarretBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We recently stayed at Dakota for one night before flying out of Edinburgh Airport. Looks very ordinary from the outside but the inside is really excellent. Rooms very great and surprisingly quiet despite being close to the road. Service and the restaurant a real stand out. If you dont want the city centre and need easy access to Edinburgh Airport then the Dakota is perfect

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jstevenson1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for leaving such a positive review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at Dakota Forth Bridge.

I was delighted to read such all round glowing feedback on the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay so much.

I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dakota in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed over hogmanay 2010 and had a great stay. On arrival we were very impressed with how nice the hotel was, very well decorated and really 'homely' which is perfect when it is cold and snowy outside! The rooms were huge and really nicely decorated, very romantic! It was all very clean with everything you might need like ironing board, kettle etc with teabags, hot chocolate, biscuits etc. The staff were always very helpful and willing to go out of their way for you. Breakfast was amazing, such a huge selection! I would definitely recommend having this included with the room as it is lovely plus the hotel is a bit out of the way so not a lot of other options. The location wasn't ideal but we knew it wasn't close to the city before we went, but it is a great escape. The only problem we had was that on arrival we were told breakfast was included with the room so we had it everyday, however it turned out it was not and we were made to pay quite a large bill at the end despite our argument, however they did take one days breakfast off of the bill. Overall though I would definitely recommend it to a friend :)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebekahJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I stayed at the dakota for a week on a business trip. The welcome was very nice with a complimentry drink as you check in, cocktail of the day. The service from the staff was very professional and very nice. The room was a standard room but was very nice for what it was. Very clean which is important to where ever you stay. You could tell this hotel takes hygene very serious.
The resturant was lovley and the staff extremly nice, i hadnt reserved a table before hand but they were more then willing to get a table ready for me. The food was extremly good probably the best fish and chips i have had for a few years. If you want a change if your staying for a week or so you could always go to frankie and bennys which is 2 mins away. Only thing i could say is the menu at the hotel needs to change every once in a while. But saying that i think the fish and chips were so good you could eat that a few nights in a row.
Location of the hotel isnt great but if you stay at the dakota then your paying for the qaulity and cleanniess more then any thing else.
Hope you enjoyed reading this i will be writing more reviews for hotels in edinburgh over the next few months, look out for my name on the title to read more.

Jay

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay88811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for leaving such a positive review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at Dakota Forth Bridge.

I was delighted to read such glowing comments anyway, but the fact that you stayed with us for a week is even more pleasing. Consistency is something we strive for at Dakota, and is essential in being able to meet our guests ever increasing expectations, time after time.

Thanks again I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dakota in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,912 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing