We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent Resturaunt”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exellent Resturaunt”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Nice Modern Hotel, Very Dark Interior but nice, Rooms are functional but quite small and dark. Beds are very good. The quality of the food in the Dinning Room is 1st Class.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessDirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

We believe the restaurant to be the heart and soul of any good hotel, so your comments were particularly pleasing to read!

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,146
    565
    143
    51
    22
See reviews for
194
965
68
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Business Meeting. Great service in Restaurant. Rooms: functional, funky & clean. Great showers!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAManEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay with us at Dakota Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read that not only did you enjoy your stay again, but you also felt that we had improved upon your last stay with us. We always strive to deliver on our guests' ever increasing expectations, and to receive such feedback from your self is a genuine pleasure.

Thanks again and I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dakota in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Stayed at Dakota for second time in a month in May. The product you get here is very good. Modern, trendy very comfortable room. Nice toilletries in decent sized bottles that you want to take home and a good selection of TV channels plus free wi-fi (ask for free code when you check-in.). Food in restaurant is always excellent too.
Service has improved markedly recently - when hotel opened it was very stuffy and you felt like you were going to get in trouble as they were always fluffing up the cushions when you went to the toilet or got up from your seat.
I really can't fault this place! Great for business and my wife enjoyed when we came here for dinner and an overnight stay for her birthday.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShipsDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read such a comprehensively positive report on the hotel, but also in particular that you feel our standard of service is as high as ever. It's a genuine pleasure to receive such feedback from guests who have frequented Dakota on such numerous occasions as you have.

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dakota in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I stayed here for a week. It was for business but it felt like I was on holiday! Everything was perfect! Rooms were so modern and comfortable, amazing giant shower! Flat screen tv! The football was on that week and not only did we meet the Celtic manager and coach in the reception but we also had sky sports to watch them the following nite! Cocktails at the bar were excellent, and the food was the best I've had! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kflynn1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at Dakota Edinburgh.

I was especially delighted to read that although you were with us on business, you still felt as if you were on holiday. That was a fabulous compliment, so thank you very much indeed for that.

I hope that you do get your wish and we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dakota sooner rather than later!

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

My Husband and i had an excellent stay at the Dakota, very comfotable and excellent service, We had a meal in the restaurant in the evening which was memorable, excellent service and the food was 2nd to none, compliments to the chef, my husband realy enjoyed the buttered spinach. We will definately come back the next time we can escape from the children, thank you very much for a great evening. we loved the arm chair in room 217, and are now looking to purchase two of similar quality. can u please give us an indication where we are likely to purchase these.

Regards Mr and Mrs Rahaman.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2878cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at Dakota Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did, and that we were able to assist you in your quest to escape the children! Thank you also for the compliment on the armchair in your room, if you were able to send me an email with your contact details(ross@dakotahotels.co.uk) then I would be happy to put you in touch with our designers for further information.

I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dakota very soon indeed.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland. UK
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Our recent stay on 29th April was a christmas gift from our daughters who knew how much we had enjoyed our previous stay.
It is over a year since our last stay but the hotel has not changed at all. We received a lovely welcome from the staff plus a drink during check in, which was a lovely touch as it was the day of the Royal Wedding.
The room was excellant as before, subdued lighting and stylist decor contribute to a relaxed atmosphere. Toileteries provided are excellant as are the towels and bedding.
We had a very enjoyable 3 course meal in The Grill and an excellant breakfast.
The only negative remsrk we have is as previously noted by a traveller, the springs of the bed did seem to twang everytime we moved but it didnt spoil our stay at all as we forgot to mention it on checkout but it was room 511.
Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Good evening,

I just wanted to get in touch to thank you very much for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us Dakota Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read that you found our standards just as high as your previous visit, and that you enjoyed your experience in The Grill too.

I will make sure that your remarks regarding the bed are followed up thoroughly, nobody should be deprived of a comfortable night's sleep, especially when away from home!

Thanks again and I hope that you've already written your Christmas list for next year with Dakota firmly at the top of the page!

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This hotel has to be one of the best I’ve stayed in for a long time.

For what you pay, for what you get: Excellent!

Rooms are a good side, modern and nicely decorated. Restaurant and Bar, again nicely done, with good choice of food. If you don’t want their menu or have the kids along, there’s a Frankie and Bennies across the car park.

Internet was free, staff were helpful.

I stayed one night, had a couple of drinks and a 2 course evening meal, with the continental breakfast the next day, and I’ve certainly paid more for a far lesser room on far too many occasions.

Minor thing - no bath - shower only.

I know there is another Dakota near Glasgow, but these are the only two. I wish them every success and hope they continue to expand.

Will certainly use them again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PEM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Good evening,

Just a very brief note to thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay with us at Dakota Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read such a glowing report on the hotel and was even more pleased with your comments on value. From someone who obviously does travel frequently and fully utilises the Tripadvisor resource , it is very meaningful to receive such high praise on the value that Dakota offers.

Thanks again and I hope we can welome you back to Dakota in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,526 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#37 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,968 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing