We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in while on business”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2011

It is dark, but it adds to the edgy feel

This place would have 5's across the board, but I had a tear in my bed linen.

I will be staying again! The only point I would like to make is as an energy consultant they need to look at LED spots, as it must be a fortune to light the place!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TyCastel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read such a glowing report on the hotel, although I must make apology for the tear in the bed linen. I have passed your comments to the housekeeping team.

Thank you also for your comments regarding the hotel's energy consumption, which has sparked an already hot topic of conversation! We are currently in the process of switching over to LED lighting throughout the hotel, so it was pleasing to read that we are heading in the right direction.

Thanks again and we'll look forward to welcoming you back to the Dakota in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,733 - 1,739 of 1,979 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2011

Had a nice nights stay here. Nicely presented ,if a little dark, very modern and stylish. Well set out restaurant and food was lovely. That said a few small things did annoyed me during my stay:-
Despite arriving after the 2pm check-in time my room our room was not ready until 3.30pm.
Very limited space in the room to lay anything and only a very small space ledge beside your bed.
Inaccessible plug points--kettle for tea and coffee had to be placed on the floor to use and my wife had to get on her hands and knees to plug in her hair dryer which then wouldn't reach.
No advice about how to access the WiFi until we had to twice contact the reception for a code (each machine needs a different code)
Beds ok but could be more comfortable, Shower only --no bath --may not suit everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennethGHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Dakota Edinburgh.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed by our Grill.

I do hope that, despite the minor irritations you experienced, you might choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We stopped for duration of Royal Highland Show.

We were most impressed with the quality of the staff-friendly, pleasant, obliging, helpful and,above all, smart & professional.

Not the most comfortable beds in the world. Cleanliness good. Rooms are on the small side with little storeage room for clothing etc. "Bathroom" (no bath-only an impressive shower in enclosed cabinet) was pretty good.

Yes, the public areas of this hotel are unusually dark but this adds to the modern day charm.

It was refreshing to stop in a hotel that does not serve a large, greasy, over-cooked buffet breakfast. Instead, it's fresh and presented to you and it's very good with some superb fish options

Had dinner on the Saturday night and we were not disappointed. Well done Dakota.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johntheparticular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at Dakota Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read that you were particularly impressed with our staff at Dakota. While resources can always be depolyed in making a hotel look fantastic, we believe that it's the people that make a great hotel, so your feedback is very much appreciated on that front.

I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dakota again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ross

NB If you were planning on visiting for the Royal Highland Show 2012, my best advice would be to book with us as early as you can, we are selling out fast already!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Last minute booking for business trip, needing an overnight close to Edinburgh Airport prior to early flight. Only $20 more than the closest Premier Inn - all the other airport hotels being full.

Very modern room, rain shower and with the toiletries being in decent large sized bottles.

Long wait for diningroom table so went for bar meal. Great food and excelent value

Would certainly book again even if closer hotels are available.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussellERennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that we were able to accommodate you at the last minute, for your early morning flight. Its also very pleasing to hear directly from our guests how we compare to other hotels in area, especially when the feedback is as favourable as yours!

I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dakota in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Nice Modern Hotel, Very Dark Interior but nice, Rooms are functional but quite small and dark. Beds are very good. The quality of the food in the Dinning Room is 1st Class.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusinessDirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

We believe the restaurant to be the heart and soul of any good hotel, so your comments were particularly pleasing to read!

Kind regards,

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Business Meeting. Great service in Restaurant. Rooms: functional, funky & clean. Great showers!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAManEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay with us at Dakota Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read that not only did you enjoy your stay again, but you also felt that we had improved upon your last stay with us. We always strive to deliver on our guests' ever increasing expectations, and to receive such feedback from your self is a genuine pleasure.

Thanks again and I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dakota in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Stayed at Dakota for second time in a month in May. The product you get here is very good. Modern, trendy very comfortable room. Nice toilletries in decent sized bottles that you want to take home and a good selection of TV channels plus free wi-fi (ask for free code when you check-in.). Food in restaurant is always excellent too.
Service has improved markedly recently - when hotel opened it was very stuffy and you felt like you were going to get in trouble as they were always fluffing up the cushions when you went to the toilet or got up from your seat.
I really can't fault this place! Great for business and my wife enjoyed when we came here for dinner and an overnight stay for her birthday.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShipsDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read such a comprehensively positive report on the hotel, but also in particular that you feel our standard of service is as high as ever. It's a genuine pleasure to receive such feedback from guests who have frequented Dakota on such numerous occasions as you have.

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dakota in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,579 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#35 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range: £77 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing