We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Perfect hotel, great food, nice/helpful staff, clean an comfy

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no_idea_at_all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at Dakota Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to sum this up so succinctly and effectively!

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel at some point in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,134
    553
    140
    50
    22
See reviews for
191
953
65
359
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband. Got a really good Internet rate and the hotel was really lovely. Train 15 minutes into Edinburgh with a really regular service. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh who don't want to pay over the odds prices for dated rooms and want to be out of the hustle and bustle. You also have the benefit of going into South Queensferry too for some lovely views. Lovely rooms, good bar/restaurant and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted that your comments were so resoundingly positive and also that you were so pleased with the location of the hotel too. A pleasure to read!

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel at some point in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,333 reviews
299 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 688 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Really great hotel if you like modern, stylish hotels with exposed internal brickwork, moody lighting and great service. Great bar area with table service and good restaurant for both dinner and breakfast. Complimentary mineral water in room. Great TV and great bathroom with monsoon shower.

Staff were very good. If being a little picky it was not clear to me when checking in (as room not booked by me) that breakfast was not included, nor in fact when I went to breakfast as menu did not show a price. Also thought springs were a little evident in the bed.

Would love to stay more often as a business traveller in the area around 70 nights a year but sadly it's a bit too much for the company budget.

It is one of the best hotels I have stayed in within the UK.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post such positive comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read such an all round glowing report of the hotel and service that you enjoyed.

If you were keen to stay with us more often then we would be more than happy to discuss the possibility in more detail. If you were able to contact the hotel on 0131 319 3690 and ask for Rona Baird, she would be able to discuss room rates with you.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back to Dakota in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

It was a last minute decision to stay at a hotel by Edinburgh airport at the end of the week in Scotland, and luckily I found a good deal through TripAdvisor. I was nicely surprised and really enjoyed the modernness of the hotel after staying at various small B&Bs and a castle. The hotel exterior, when I first saw it, gave me an impression of a black box (the windows are very dark as well). It's fairly dark inside, and very nicely decorated. The room is modern looking and shiny (with lots of stainless steel in the bathroom and decoration on the wall). The words to describe the hotel would be something like, chic, blue, cool, steel, dark, and modern.

The hotel is roughly a 15-minute ride to/from the airport, and there is free airport shuttle service. The food at the restaurant is well presented and quite good. I had a light dinner at the restaurant, and had the continental breakfast the next morning, both are very good, though I think the price for the continental breakfast is a bit high. Service all around was courteous and professional, though I could sense a bit of the snobbish attitude as I wasn't dressed up or spending like the other guests (even my room price was more than 50% off due to the Internet special).

I would recommend this hotel to those who like the luxury and have a bit of money to spend, and for a frugal traveler, look for the specials from the Internet and don't be shy to ask for the service that you want and deserve. It is a chic hotel, and service is good.

Room Tip: Check the hotel's website for the special - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmazingScotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at Dakota.

I was delighted to read that you valued Dakota so much and that our proximity to Edinburgh Airport was convenient for you.

Regarding the point you make on an element of our service, please be assured that we go to great lengths to promote the art of service across the board, and we absolutely do not distinguish levels of service or attention to any particular group or guest.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to Dakota at some point in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Entering Dakota gives me an instant desire to relax. This is aided by the greeting you receive at reception which is always friendly without being casual, so perfectly pitched – a bit like our stay.

When we arrived our suite wasn’t ready. This was not an issue for us as we settled in reception and watched various people go by. Again I was struck by the receptionists (there were three on duty) as they moved around the area. All are beautifully presented in their black dresses which mix professional business and class.

We had booked a suite which I have to say was a really great room – the right mix of comfort and special without being vulgar or opulent, so again class is the word that comes to mind. I do have one small issue with the suite – the en suite is exactly the same as you get in a standard room. Perhaps a large bath would have made it as special as the rest of the suite. It’s a small grumble though as ultimately, I felt all rooms should be like this!

Relaxing in the bar with the fine choice of cocktails was a perfect way to spend the afternoon. The service we received was again perfectly pitched – friendly and efficient. It really is a wonderful area to relax in and enjoy your drink. I did however think that the use of the high tables and stools in the main part of the bar area was not a good choice, more relaxed, comfy seating would seem more appropriate I think.

Dinner was enjoyable, with the food well prepared. I did feel there had been little variation in the menu from our previous visit (sad to say that was a year ago, I made a mental note to visit more often), but that did not detract from the quality. However I found the puddings on offer to be somewhat uninspiring, but the sorbet I chose as compensation was tasty paradise.

The following day breakfast was its normal standard at Dakota – quality ingredients supplied with a friendly yet professional manner.

We finished our stay with a late checkout, such was the need to make the most of the wonderful suite we had and we were genuinely sorry to depart.

My review of Dakota on our previous stay a year ago did find me making issue with the room, the service and the food. This visit, while I may have made three negative points (en suite, menu choice and the seating arrangement in the bar), was nothing short of perfection. I know you can’t please everyone all the time (that includes me), but if you own/manage or work in the hotel industry then visit Dakota and see how it should be done.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randolphous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Whenever I receive any notification from Tripadvisor that we have had a recent guest review, I always get a little jolt of excitment in anticipation of what lies ahead. Once I had signed in and read your post title of "How a hotel should be.", I will be very honest with you and let you know that I was positively beaming! That made my day to read your comments - so thank you very much!

As I'm sure you can appreciate, there isn't one element of Dakota that hasn't been designed or considered in enhancing our guest experience, so to have comments such as yours bestowed on us was a fantastic compliment.

Thanks again and I hope we can go someway to improving your experience the next time you stay with us, however difficult that may prove to be!

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

felt like royalty,so calm and comfortable.pleasant place to unwindxbeen in other hotels near to it 5 star accomodation at dakota.dont even need a car to see the sites u can walkinto south queensferry.they even have a curtousy minibus.wold go again .going back in october.

Room Tip: shower head estays at one heightam only 5ft 2 and our room faced motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nightut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

Your comment that you "felt like royalty" was a fabulous compliment to the hotel and the team, I have therefore made sure that your comments have been shared amongst the whole team, as they all deserve recognition for such high praise. I was also delighted to read that you were able to use the Dakota as a base to explore Edinburgh, with the added advantage of getting away from the hustle and bustle once you had finished exploring!

Thanks again and I hope that we can roll out the red carpet for you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Great Hotel, we both loved it from the moment we arrived. The decor and the atmosphere it creates is very welcoming. The room was lovely and very comfortable and all the staff were very attentive and professional.

Great access to the city with a 10 min train journey, which we did on both days

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mijulieai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

Your comments were very much appreciated, as you obviously enjoyed your stay at Dakota. I think your comment title sums it up nicely!

I hope that we can welcome you back to Dakota in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,936 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#140 of 149 in Edinburgh
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,335 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#85 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing