We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel which was surprisingly good value for money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel which was surprisingly good value for money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Booked this hotel for my sister-in-law and her boyfriend for a present while we stayed across the road in the Premier Inn and wished we'd booked ourselves in as well. The room we booked at the Dakota hotel was only £35 more than the Premier Inn but the difference in quality was worth a lot more. If you didn't know the prices you would think it was 4 or 5 times more expensive. The hotel doesn't disappoint from the photos and there is an immediate wow factor as soon as you walk in the door. Reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful, it had everything you could possibly need and was very stylish. The bar had a great choice of amazing cocktails although drinks were expensive. We only found a few minor negatives. The bar wasn't very busy but the service offered didn't really live up to the rest of the hotels standards. It was quite hard getting service, they were grumpy and we had to ask for sugar twice and a bill three times. Not much of a view from the window, in fact the surrounding area is not particularly attractive. Finally what with the roads and traffic in Edinburgh it isn't very easy or quick to get in and out of the centre. However I would highly recommend this hotel and will defintely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djmcmorris21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you appreciated the difference in what we offer at Dakota in comparison to other hotel brands. We don't see any good reason for our guests having to compromise on standards based on price.

I must apologise for the standard of service that you received in the bar, as I know how frustrating it can be when something isn't quite in sync, for whatever reason. I have passed your comments to our Food & Beverage Manager to address the issues that you highlighted.

Thanks again for such a positive review and I hope that we can welcome you back to Dakota in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    523
    128
    45
    22
See reviews for
180
904
62
336
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed here for one night before flying off from Edinburgh airport, and booked through Late Rooms.

The Dakota is a very stylish way to stay close to an airport. It’s full of mood lighting and sumptuous fabrics, with deep-pile carpets and funky furniture. We stayed in a room on the corner of the building which was huge, I’m not sure if all are the same size but if they are, I’d be even more impressed. The bed was massive and very comfortable, and the shower room was gorgeous and gleaming with those all-important luxury toiletries. I’d also recommend the restaurant, the food is brilliant.

It is based off the dual carriageway so you will get a bit of noise but not enough to disturb. The Dakota could be even better if they include breakfast in the room price (do-able), and build a spa or leisure facility inside (perhaps a bit more difficult!). All in all, it’s only about £10 dearer than the other, bare-minimum budget hotels close to the airport so well worth it in my opinion. And if you make use of the Dakota’s complimentary shuttle service, it’ll work out just as cheap!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missussmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear guest,

Many thanks for takig the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that the hotel's proximity to Edinburgh Airport was beneficial to you, as sometimes taking your time to make a journey can make all the difference. Your comments on the grill food being "brilliant" were also a pleasure to read, as we are firm believers in the restaurant being the heart and soul of any great hotel.

I hope that we can welcome you back to Dakota in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed here for one night on Sunday 18th for my 40th & have to say we would Highly recommend to anyone who is looking for a high standard of accomdation and service which is second to none. No unpleasant unhelpful staff here, must say special thanks to Arlene, you are a credit to Dakota with that pleasant smile and personality. Food & service is of a high standard with nothing out of place.

The enviroment is soothin & relaxing especially the couches in front of the fire in the lobby, great idea!! Will certainly return in the future & hope the same standard is maintained or increased.

The rooms are of excellant standard withing everything you would need for a stay.

The only down point from a personal view is that we were unable to have dinner here as we were contacted the night before advising that the resturant was closing at 7pm due to essential works. With it being my 40th this was a disappointment, however can't fault them for the communication.

All in all a great quiet stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mac015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at Dakota Edinburgh.

I'm sorry that you were unable to dine with us on the Sunday night, but unfortunately there was never going to be an ideal time to carry out the maintenance. Thank you also for mentioning Arlene by name too, she's an integral part of the team at Dakota and its always a pleasure to read when somebody has clearly gone the extra mile for our guests.

I hope that you get to enjoy dinner with us the next time you stay at Dakota.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Modern quality establishment, quality food and facilities , brilliant attentive staff.
A modern futuristic building. Clean, with quality fixtures and fittings. The Dakota aeroplane theme is both suttle and pleasing. The food is excellent in both it's quality and presentation.The staff are both polite and attentive without being overpowering contributing to the relaxed atmosphere throughout the hotel.Whoever is responsible for staff training has got it just perfect. The dining, bar and lounge areas are large private areas, again modern with quality fixtures and fittings with cool lighting throught the hotel.Noise from the surrounding area and other guests can sometimes be an issue, not here, even the aircon was quiet. Whe never heard a thing.
Complementary bottled water, tea, coffee and biscuits are provided. How much better does water taste from a glass bottle , a nice touch, however the coffee in the rooms could be of a better quality and a very small fridge for condiments would help to add for the overall quality of the hotel and the service.

Room Tip: Lifts are available in the hotel with only a short walk to each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at Dakota Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read such an all round glowing report on the hotel, but it was particularly pleasing to read your comments on the Dakota team. We truly believe that any hotel can look good, but it's the people that really make it special.

I hope that we can welcome you back to Dakota in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I spend a lot of time going to Edinburgh for business and ALWAYS stay here... The food in the resturant really is something special and the rooms are such good value for money.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bentley137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at Dakota Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read that you are such a big fan of Dakota, its always a genuine pleasure to hear such enthusiasm for what we do.

I hope that you get the chance to stay again soon.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Having stayed at The Dakota last night for a business trip I can honestly say I cannot wait to return! My room was massive with all the facilities I would expect in a room. The attention to detail was beautiful and the service was outstanding. I ordered room service which was prompt and absolutely delicious as was breakfast which I enjoyed in the dining room. I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay here and would love to return soon and eat in the Dakota Grill.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dollyshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us Dakota Edinburgh.

We are great believers in the smallest things making the biggest difference, and your review was certainly testament to this! Attention to detail is something that we don't think you can afford to ignore.

I hope that we can welcome you back to Dakota in the near future and that you do get a chance to enjoy the grill.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We have just experienced a weekend stay at the Dakota, for a family wedding at Dundas Castle. The big black cube set alongside a Tesco store looked rather out of place, but when going through the door into reception one immediately felt as if you had been transported into an amazing place. The decor has to be seen and appreciated by being there, and is difficult to describe adequately. Very atmospheric and quite a lot of thought had gone into the mixture of old and new, with plenty of comfortable seating.

However the most important aspect was the friendly and helpful staff. The reception desk was helpful and made you feel right at home, as did every member of staff that we came into contact with during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble, and unlike many other hotels that I have stayed in, everyone had a few moments for a chat and asked how we were enjoying our visit. All the usual services like booking taxis etc. were provided with a smile, and you knew that your request would be dealt with efficiently.

Service in the bar and restaurant was at all times prompt, and again friendly. The quality of food in the highly rated restaurant was first class, and our dinner on the Friday evening was most enjoyable. We were seated in an enclosed area in the middle of the dining space that was in a lattice framework, that we dubbed the cage! This was amazing, as we felt as if we were in a private room, yet was fully aware of the restaurant surrounding us. Perfect dining experience complemented by very attentive staff. Richly deserved reputation for the quality of the food, if you excuse the pun, and could not be faulted in any way. Every member of our party of six enjoyed what they had ordered, and commented unanimously as one of the best dinners they had had in a hotel, ever.

The room decor was an extension of the black and beige that dominated the rest of the hotel. Very comfortable and with all the facilities you could need. All in all a great hotel worthy of anyone's consideration if they are going to a city that has one.

I do not know how much influence David Coulthard had on the design and operation of the hotels in the group, but if he did, it was a job well done.

Bruce Evans

Room Tip: Our wedding party booked many rooms, and they all seemed to be of the same high standard, with no di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highperformance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Brand Development Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I know from experience that often a hotel is a secondary thought when it comes to booking accommodation for a wedding, as festivties can often take centre stage. So, to read that you felt Dakota was a "revelation" was a fantastic compliment. I was also delighted to read that you enjoyed your evening in the grill too, sounds like you had a fabulous meal.

I hope that we can welcome you back to Dakota in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing