We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, menu lacking for vegetarians”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel, menu lacking for vegetarians”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel for a business conference. Beautiful hotel, excellent service, fantastic rooms. The only downside was the utter lack of vegetarian options at mealtimes. I understand that the hotel had been advised that there were a number of vegetarians within the party but we seemed to be an after thought. I was particuarly shocked at the lack of any 'veggie' options at breakfast, this is unusual for a 4* hotel catering to a mixed market - espeically as there was a rather large supermarket over the road where they could have picked something up to feed us.

Unfortunatly this one thing left me slightly disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CreelBoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    554
    140
    50
    22
See reviews for
191
955
65
360
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My second stay, again for one night on business. The Dakota is easy to find with plentiful free parking, being on the edge of a retail park. A great location for onward travel but perhaps not ideal for the Edinburgh tourist.

Check-in was simple and polite. The room is stylish and very comfortable; the acres of chromium and glass in the bathroom mean that it had to be clean to look good and it was - spotless and sparkling. There are just two downsides. One, the lighting in both the room and the bathroom is pretty subdued, meaning that it is less than ideal for work and for shaving. Two, there is very little space for clothes. This is fine for a one-nighter with little to unpack but could be problematical to longer-stayers.

The reataurant menu was surprisingly limited, but the food itself was very good, as was breakfast the next morning. They serve great decaf coffee in the restaurant.

Check-out again competent and polite.

For what it is - a contemporary hotel in an out of town location - it does the job well. I would have no problem in staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mighty-Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Nice hotel with easy access to the motorway with plenty parking.

Being picky 2 things I would suggest for room improvement would be a face flannel in the bathroom and also a vanity/shaving mirror with a light.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that our location was convenient to you, and appreciate your suggested enhancements for our bedrooms which we will take on board.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Dakota in the future.

Regards,

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

A group of friends and I met up at dakota grill , south queensferry last week for dinner and we were not disappointed.
We had a relaxing glass of champagne while we waited for everyone to arrive then were shown to our own private dining room.
We had a lovely meal in contemporary yet relaxed surroudings and the service was first class!
We're planning our next trip already!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments following your recent dining experience at Dakota.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Pretty good value hotel well placed from North South and West. Very friendly staff and room simple but effective. Worth a visit. Restaurant lacking a bit in choice but good sea food.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ButlerSommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a response on both our hotel and restaurant sites.

I know that our Food & Beverage Manager has offered a response on our menu offering, and I hope that this inspires some confidence to return to the Grill in the near future.

I am pleased that your room was comfortable and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Angus
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Lovely hotel with fantastic staff. Stayed for one night but will definatly return. Check in was pleasant and the lounge bar area was very warm and welcoming. Service from the bar was excellent; didn't had to look for someone to serve us once. Same can be said of service in the restaurant. We had booked for dinner and were glad we had as restaurant was fully booked. Great atmosphere and lovely food. All staff in the hotel were very attentive, personable and very smartly dressed. Room was, modern, spacious, very well equipped and very clean. Tea/coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board and hairdryer all very welcome. Had breakfast following morning and again service was excellent as was the food on offer for a very reasonable price. Although hotel is outside the city it only takes fifteen minutes on train from the station at Dalmeny into the centre of the city. Taxi to station was around £4.00 and return train ticket was £4.10 each. No taxis waiting on our return from Edinburgh but a quick call to reception at the hotel remedied that very quickly. You can also leave your car at station car park for free. All in all a very enjoyable stay and excellent service at a remarkable price!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebairds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay.

We go to great lengths to ensure that we deliver a hotel experience that is memorable for all the right reasons, and I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at Dakota.

It is also very pleasing to hear that you will be looking to return, and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We decided to go away for the night and loved this hotel..... The room was really nice and sooo clean....Staff so friendly and helpful and made it so welcoming..... Had a gorgeous meal and then sat in the lounge area in front of the open fire having cocktails... Perfect Day and night and got for amazing rate on late rooms.com... would definatley recommend to everyone................... the only thing that could have bettered this is if had a swimming pool and spa are to chill in also.......

Room Tip: go to late rooms.com to see if cheaper rate available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Se_Lou_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldavy, Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you were made to feel welcome by our staff. I know that the Food & Beverage team will take great pride that you had such an enjoyable experience in the restaurant and that the cocktails in particular were very well received.

I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dakota again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,938 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#140 of 149 in Edinburgh
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,339 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing