We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant and Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Elegant and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

A very comfortable, elegant and sophistocated hotel. Nice laid back atmosphere, amazing food and our suite was deluxe! Champagne, Chocolate suprised and luxury goodies on the tea tray. The shower is bliss, the bed is devine and the staff are curt. Our dinner was well exectued, well presented and tasted delicious. If you love your other half.... go on, treat them to a night in the suites and a wake up in comfort and enjoy a delicious breakfast. I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: The suite 508 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naomiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    516
    127
    45
    21
See reviews for
173
896
61
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

What a surprise! A wonderfully thought out hotel, beautifully maintained and exactly where one would not expect it!
Great food and clean rooms. However, spoilt slightly by the cold draught in the foyer.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpyoldkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

When we first approached the hotel I was not impressed. Couldn't really see a hotel of sorts, just a black cube which I thought was a warehouse. This is the only criticism I can make about this hotel. When you get inside, it really is lovely. From the moment you step through the doors your feet sink into thick plush carpet and there's a wonderful ambiance. Lots of huge squashy sofas in the reception / bar area with state of the art gas flame open fires in a wall you can see though. The staff were great amend very friendly. We were even more impressed with our room - flat screen TV, huge bed, lovely furnishings, coffee, tea and bottled water. And the bathroom was to die for - all black and White with a shower with so many jets that I felt invigorated - wow! My husband and I were staying in this hotel after attending a wedding in South Queensferry, so this was a perfect hotel in a good location (15 mins walk to water front). Didn't have breakfast as it was £25pp! But there is a Tesco and Frankie & Benny within walking distance, both of which do a great breakfast so save yourself some cash and go there instead

Room Tip: Try and get a bed and breakfast rate and not room only
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Great stay. Food from the restaurant is lovely as well. Comfortable lounge area to relax with a good atmosphere. Rooms are a little small other than that, fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasir J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We a had a 2 day stay, all first class, staff, rooms, bar area, Brekkie! (although my wife had a problem with the Porridge.......!!!) very handy for the airport, but not so handy for the City Centre.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogchapman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed at the Dakota as we needed a base near to the Rossyth base. The hotel was good. Food was good but expensive, breakfast was quite expensive at £12.00 for a very small mediocre cooked breakfast.

Wifi signal was good in the rooms we used, however it was a pain as you had to get a unique password per device per day......

The room was very uncomfortable. The bed was hard. The pillows were harder. The temp was uncomfortably warm. The air con didn't work effectively.

The staff are all however extremely courteous and pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessmjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurencekirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed for one night at the Dakota in Edinburgh for business a few months back and was delighted with the place. If you accept that the hotel is located right on the edge of the city then everything else is very good. Free parking is a bonus, if you have ever tried to park in Edinburgh then you will know that parking is a nightmare.
The hotel itself is modern, classy and stylish and the rooms are kitted out to compliment the overall theme. Rooms all have wi-fi, although it can be difficult to get it to work sometimes, but this is the same in most hotels I have stayed in. Rooms have showers and not baths, but a very good shower none the less. The bed was comfy and the noise levels are quiet so you can get a good night sleep.
I had dinner at the restaurant, the curry was fabulous and the atmosphere was inviting, staff were all polite and professional so can recommend it to anyone not wanting to venture to the city centre for a meal.

Overall a very good hotel for business trips to the city and very competitively priced...am thinking of having a trip back here with my wife to have a few days in Edinburgh shopping and if you have your own car, rather than relying on public transport then should have no problems at all.

Room Tip: Main road into Edinburgh is on the west side so stick to the east, although hotel is very good as ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing