We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

During July 2012 & August 2012 I spent almost 4 weeks at this hotel (2 x 2 week stints); the hotel is set wtihin a small Retail Park, together with a Tesco and Frankie & Bennys. The hotel is very dark inside - even on bright days - apparently this is to provide a relaxing atmosphere, but to be honest it does take a bit of getting used to. The rooms are very good, and themed along the "warehouse" style, with some of the walls showing the brickwork, and once again in the evening the lighting within the bedrooms is very subdued - fortunately the shower room has excellent lighting (for hair & makeup), and there is a bright lamp on the desk in the bedroom, if you need to study or complete any outstanding paperwork. I did enjoy my time spent at the hotel, however, none of the rooms have baths, and there is only limited leisure facilities - a very tiny gym. The breakfasts are first class, providing a cold buffet and cooked breakfast options; however I found the evening meals -although very good - too expensive, and as a result walked or drove to South Queensferry (where both the Forth Railway & Road Bridges are) in the evenings where numerous bistros/restaurants were available to cover every taste and budget. Although a few miles outside of Edinburgh, the Dalmeny Railway Station is only a 20 minute walk from the hotel, and trains to Edinburgh are very regular.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Retail Park and facing the Forth Railway Bridge are quieter than the rooms fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupertina50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,146
    565
    143
    51
    22
See reviews for
194
965
68
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the Dakota Hotel for two nights in the Executive Suite. The foyer and bar area was very welcoming and luxurious, the staff were friendly and very helpful. Our dinner and breakfast was first class. The hotel was classy and smart, the decor was modern and sophisticated. Complete luxury from the moment we arrived! We will most definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2012

After travelling from Manchester for a friends wedding...M6 closed after accident and diverting across country we eventually arrived at The Dacota South Queensferry.We were 10mins late after last orders for dinner,the reception staff were great and allowed us to order food and a much welcome drink to be served in our room. Not a lot to ask you may think but!!! Great service... With a smile,excellent food and a much welcome chilled bottle of wine.The room was fabulous and very clean and modern.
I give this hotel 100% for friendliness,service and great food.
Cannot comment on the Spa because we never had time to try.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, Scotland UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary after booking a dinner bed & breakfast package online. The location was not an issue as we had planned to arrive late afternoon and enjoy the hotel. the service and staff were excellent. The hotel decor is gorgeous, and our meal was excellent. It's a real shame none of the rooms have baths, which we found surprising. Also no bath robes,a small detail but thought it was unusual for a hotel of this standard. The reason we were left disappointed though was the package, as it turned out that dinner equaled £20 per person. Not only did it turn out to be no better value to book the package, but it's also very limited options if you want to stay within that limit for 2 courses never mind 3. We ended up spending more than double plus drinks. What we thought was a great deal turned out to be very expensive, and their website should make it clearer. Feel the hotel is maybe too business focused and doesn't offer good value for leisure/romantic breaks.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Friendy staff, great food, dinner and breakfast, rooms smart and good value. Conference facilities ideal too. Will certainly be back and would recommend to friends and colleagues. Location suited for business travellers, with airport and motorway links.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mc64travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Really good hotel with fantastic quality. Fair value for money in restaurant and bars. Great atmosphere however a little out from the main city centre. Local bars in south queens ferry very friendly...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madandy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Positives: Clean, modern hotel. Bar, and food really nice. Nice sized room with all mod cons.

Negatives: Hardly any at all this is just me being very very picky. No bath, gym is tiny and rooms are very hot (you can use air con which is a little noisy)

Would stay again for sure, only reason i put 4 star and not 5 was just because it didnt tick every single box. But this is a great hotel and shouldnt hesitate to book

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GormleySean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,526 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#37 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,967 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing