We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Fife
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed on Saturday night for a wee get away.

Overall the hotel was faultless from the friendly and very professional staff to the cleanliness of the room. We didnt eat at the hotel as had made reservations elsewhere but we had breakfast in the morning which was very relaxed and tasty.

On arrival the room was cold but we just turned off the air conditioning and it was perfect.

We had drinks in the bar on returning from our meal which had a nice selection with a lovely atmosphere.

We would definately go back and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuloufife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    530
    132
    49
    22
See reviews for
181
918
65
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Modern, new, and refreshing hotel. Having a shuttle from the airport was a plus. Our room was spacious, clean, and had all that we required. From the TV to the matress everything was A+. The bar is delightful and everyone was friendly and professional. We also ate in the restaurant and it too was very good, albeit a bit pricey. I'll be back in Scotland in 9 months and I intend to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJS171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stranded (yet again) at Edinburgh airport, this hotel in Queensferry is really nice - more suited for a male customer base, I suspect (i.e. toiletries are really basic), with a very nice buffet breakfast, nice spacious clean rooms, and staff really helpful. As it was not possible to get a taxi in the morning of our departure, they kindly put a hotel car at our disposal at no charge.
They have a nice bar, and it would be quite nice for a conference/workshop/ Would definitely use it again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank show_me_the_dosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here with another 2 couples for a birthday treat, we got the rooms at a great price and were seriously impressed with our stay, we didn't eat in the restaurant but had drinks in the reception area before and after our evening out in South Queensferry. The staff were really friendly and attentive, the rooms could not be faulted and the ambience and the atmosphere...for us...was just lush. We are already planning our next visit and will definitely be trying out the restaurant. Sometimes the best places are just on our doorstep and we overlook them for farther afield.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweet-kd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Expected top class accommodation and food - got neither. Room was cold, and did not have a bath, only a shower. No haning rail for longer garments, and no mirror with suitable lighting for doing make up. The bed was so lumpy, they had put a duvet under the bottom sheet to try and make it better. Service and food at dinner were mediocre, and over priced for what we got. Had it been first class, I wouldn't have grudged the price. To add to the overall impression, when we left, they tried to bill us for somebody elses dinner and drinks bill. If anyone is staying here, we would reccomend going into Queensferry as there are fabulous little places there to eat - with better food and service...

Room Tip: Eat out - better wuality, prices and service in South Queensferry
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I booked this for our 1st anniversary and had a fantastic stay. Receptionist could't do enough for us and service with a smile. Our room was beautiful, fresh clean and nice and cool with air con...Also had a lovey welcoming note on dressing table saying "Happy Anniversary and hope you enjoy you stay" nice personal touch.
Looking forward to saying here again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

During July 2012 & August 2012 I spent almost 4 weeks at this hotel (2 x 2 week stints); the hotel is set wtihin a small Retail Park, together with a Tesco and Frankie & Bennys. The hotel is very dark inside - even on bright days - apparently this is to provide a relaxing atmosphere, but to be honest it does take a bit of getting used to. The rooms are very good, and themed along the "warehouse" style, with some of the walls showing the brickwork, and once again in the evening the lighting within the bedrooms is very subdued - fortunately the shower room has excellent lighting (for hair & makeup), and there is a bright lamp on the desk in the bedroom, if you need to study or complete any outstanding paperwork. I did enjoy my time spent at the hotel, however, none of the rooms have baths, and there is only limited leisure facilities - a very tiny gym. The breakfasts are first class, providing a cold buffet and cooked breakfast options; however I found the evening meals -although very good - too expensive, and as a result walked or drove to South Queensferry (where both the Forth Railway & Road Bridges are) in the evenings where numerous bistros/restaurants were available to cover every taste and budget. Although a few miles outside of Edinburgh, the Dalmeny Railway Station is only a 20 minute walk from the hotel, and trains to Edinburgh are very regular.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Retail Park and facing the Forth Railway Bridge are quieter than the rooms fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupertina50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#11 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing