We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Rooms, Bizarre Location!”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Rooms, Bizarre Location!”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed at the Dakota for one night in a double room, approx £80, on a saturday night. The Dakota is on the outskirts of South Queensferry, as the hotel advertises good access to Edinburgh airport but asides from this the only thing you can walk to is Tesco! 15/20 mins to Edinburgh by car. The village of South Queensferry (which is lovely with beautiful views over the Forth) is 5 mins by car. The hotel worked for us as we had our car and were visiting family in Edinburgh and Fife.

The reception hall leading to bar and restaurant is a wonderful space and has a great, smart, even boutique (despite its size) ambiance to it. Other hotel brands could learn a thing or two from Dakota. Check in was very efficient. Our room was to a high standard, excellent style and not the usual bland modern hotel room, still had an edge. Overlooked the bypass but didn't expect any different. The only real major downfall to the room was the bed and the mattress was hard as a brick, actually kept waking up through the night because back was so sore, introduce toppers please!!

We dined in the restaurant and had a wonderful meal, I had the Panzanella salad to start, a great take on the classic mozzarella and tomatoes. My husband had the scallops which he said were good. I then had the Rigatoni which was lovely (these were the only two vegetarian options on the menu but fair enough it is the Dakota grill!) My husband had the Filet Mignon which was on the specials menu and said it was delicious. We then shared a satisfying Creme Brulee. Would definitely recommend dining in the restaurant one night if you are staying.

Breakfast was not included in our room rate but was fine for us as we had to leave very early in the morning. In all this is an excellent hotel and we would definitely consider staying again if around the area - if we could specify a softer bed!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKymani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    554
    140
    50
    22
See reviews for
191
955
65
360
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

we stayed at the Dakota for one night and found it very nice, spotlessly clean and tidy with all the added touches you would expect from a four star. staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisybhoy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed on Saturday night for a wee get away.

Overall the hotel was faultless from the friendly and very professional staff to the cleanliness of the room. We didnt eat at the hotel as had made reservations elsewhere but we had breakfast in the morning which was very relaxed and tasty.

On arrival the room was cold but we just turned off the air conditioning and it was perfect.

We had drinks in the bar on returning from our meal which had a nice selection with a lovely atmosphere.

We would definately go back and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuloufife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Modern, new, and refreshing hotel. Having a shuttle from the airport was a plus. Our room was spacious, clean, and had all that we required. From the TV to the matress everything was A+. The bar is delightful and everyone was friendly and professional. We also ate in the restaurant and it too was very good, albeit a bit pricey. I'll be back in Scotland in 9 months and I intend to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJS171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stranded (yet again) at Edinburgh airport, this hotel in Queensferry is really nice - more suited for a male customer base, I suspect (i.e. toiletries are really basic), with a very nice buffet breakfast, nice spacious clean rooms, and staff really helpful. As it was not possible to get a taxi in the morning of our departure, they kindly put a hotel car at our disposal at no charge.
They have a nice bar, and it would be quite nice for a conference/workshop/ Would definitely use it again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank show_me_the_dosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here with another 2 couples for a birthday treat, we got the rooms at a great price and were seriously impressed with our stay, we didn't eat in the restaurant but had drinks in the reception area before and after our evening out in South Queensferry. The staff were really friendly and attentive, the rooms could not be faulted and the ambience and the atmosphere...for us...was just lush. We are already planning our next visit and will definitely be trying out the restaurant. Sometimes the best places are just on our doorstep and we overlook them for farther afield.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweet-kd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Expected top class accommodation and food - got neither. Room was cold, and did not have a bath, only a shower. No haning rail for longer garments, and no mirror with suitable lighting for doing make up. The bed was so lumpy, they had put a duvet under the bottom sheet to try and make it better. Service and food at dinner were mediocre, and over priced for what we got. Had it been first class, I wouldn't have grudged the price. To add to the overall impression, when we left, they tried to bill us for somebody elses dinner and drinks bill. If anyone is staying here, we would reccomend going into Queensferry as there are fabulous little places there to eat - with better food and service...

Room Tip: Eat out - better wuality, prices and service in South Queensferry
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,938 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#140 of 149 in Edinburgh
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,337 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing