We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

My wife and myself choose the Dakota after it was recommended to us by friends and we where not disappointed. Outstanding restaurant and rooms, really friendly staff and ideal location just next to the Forth road Bridge. :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gblk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,134
    553
    139
    49
    22
See reviews for
191
952
65
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This is a Quirky Hotel,standing in a Tecso carpark, dressed in a façade of industrial chic. The interiors are dark but dapper, evoking ideas of New York loft accommodation of the early 00’s. My partner and I enjoyed our night’s stay. The rooms are well appointed though bordering on the small side. Dinner in the restaurant, is hard sold ( as are many thing ) at the reception desk on check-in, do not be forced into it. Thought the food is good, it is not exceptional and there are many excellent places to eat in South Queensferry that may prove better.
The Hotel’s staff were all very friendly, professional and present to deal with at all times, adding to the overall experience. If this hotel was to be located in the city centre it would be three times the price thus making it good value for money.
Also if possible on check-in, request a room on the Western side (the rail bridge side) of the hotel this is due to noise from the adjoining motorway, which can be very disruptive at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Very lovely hotel with great amenities. A few reviews have complained about the rooms being dark but I quite like the decor of it all. The only complaint I would say is the cheap mattress that they use. I could actually feel the springs every time I moved, so didn't manage to get a good nights sleep.

Breakfast was lovely, you could order hot breakfast on request, they also served continental breakfast buffet.

Had a great stay here and the staff were great, couldn't fault their service at all!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffylam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skye, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Spotless, elegant, ulta-relaxing room, loads of space and very comfy bed. Breakfast is the best I've ever had in a hotel, and the young local serving staff were the best combination of professional and friendly. On checking in, they bent over backwards to accommodate us. The price is a bargain for all of this I'd say... The location is great for the beauties of South Queensferry, but also for its closeness to the motorways.

Room Tip: I've stayed a few times and every room has been first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caileag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Nice hotel. Dinner was excellent. Service was second to none. Decor was a bit dark for my taste but my partner loved it. TV was a 42" and had the usual freeview channels plus Sky Atlantic and 4 sports channels. If they had a few film channels that would have made it complete. Breakfast was good but we may have met the chef on a bad day as the porridge was truly horrible. However the cooked breakfast was very good and the continental was as expected for that class of hotel. Being next door to a restaurant and Tesco's also opened up options instead of using the hotel for meals. Although we had our car the train station is only a 15 minute walk away and at £4.40 return good value into Edinburgh

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joppie230261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed at the Dakota in South Queensferry for one night. Had a great stay. Turned up without a booking and we were charged the same rate as we would have got from the internet. We booked for dinner and breakfast and the food was excellent. I asked for a steak which was not on the menu and they were able to accommodate. The fillet steak was the best I have had in years, cooked to perfection and extremely tasty. My husband also had a steak and he was extrememly impressed with his also. I was also impressed by the breakfast, I had he scrambled eggs and smoked salmon and again was extremely tasty along with all the other items on offer.

The room was clean and large and I had asked for a large bed which was provided. Slept well and no road noise which given the close proximity to the road was a bonus. Nice fluffy towels and a great shower.

We didn't use, but had a quick look at the gym which is a room on one of the floors. It was ok, there was enough equipment to allow a decent workout and had a weights cable machine.

The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much. I filled in a comments card in the room and received a very nice reply back. I must admit that this doe not happen too often so was nice to hear that comments had been read.

Thanks Dakota, will deffinately use again for both food and a bed.

If you are looking for somewhere to eat on a trip North, then you will not be disapointed if you stop here.

Room Tip: If you want a larger bed make sure you ask as they have doubles and zipped together twins which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This hotel is a very different experience, arriving at night the whole building is virtually invisible apart from some very creative lighting, it is all black glass, and there begins the theme. As you go inside you go through a curtain to prevent the outside light spoiling the illusion of deep gloom inside. The bright halogen lights hurt your eyes against a uniform background of Matt black and dark brown fittings and furnishings. The reception is friendly and helpful, and the restaurant is very good, with good food, albeit again in a deeply gloomy place. The bedrooms are very well appointed and very comfortable, but gloomy, and the bathroom is the only bright place... here it lets you down by only having a shower ( no bath) and even that is rather weak, with one of those huge shower heads directly overhead, and between you and the controls... so there is no way of turning it on without getting soaked with still-cold water. A second shower-head at low level is an option, but since it really is only low-level it is not much use. ( a second fitting for this at head-height would be a really cheap way to make this much better.) Excellent toiletries.

So all in all, a good 4* standard which is spoilt, and therefore significantly cheaper than it probably could be given it's location and overall quality, by the awfully dark and gloomy interiors.

Room Tip: They are all gloomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,937 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#139 of 149 in Edinburgh
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,334 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing