We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel, great value”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I stay away for work at least once a week on average and I have the pleasure of staying at Dakota at least once every four weeks. It is quite simply a brilliant hotel. The facilities are first rate, the feel is very smart and polished, the staff are professional and polite, and the food is outstanding (I'd particularly recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast - delicious!)

If you need to stay anywhere in the Rosyth/Dunfermline/South Queensferry area - look no further.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,523 - 1,529 of 2,016 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

Stayed here for business last week. Great location by the bridge and handy for where I was working.

Everything very mood lighting, dark corners, no natural light,

Staff mostly female, obviously selected for style but Friendly and helpful.

I wasn't very comfortable here as a lone female business traveller. There was nothing cosy about the place and the restaurant seating was horrid. Lone diners sat in a sad row. Food was great though - do have the lobster if you can. Cooked breakfast pricey - porridge counts as cooked so go for the full works..

On the whole I won't be coming here next time. Too much sleekness and not enough comfort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhossiligg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

My wife and myself choose the Dakota after it was recommended to us by friends and we where not disappointed. Outstanding restaurant and rooms, really friendly staff and ideal location just next to the Forth road Bridge. :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gblk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This is a Quirky Hotel,standing in a Tecso carpark, dressed in a façade of industrial chic. The interiors are dark but dapper, evoking ideas of New York loft accommodation of the early 00’s. My partner and I enjoyed our night’s stay. The rooms are well appointed though bordering on the small side. Dinner in the restaurant, is hard sold ( as are many thing ) at the reception desk on check-in, do not be forced into it. Thought the food is good, it is not exceptional and there are many excellent places to eat in South Queensferry that may prove better.
The Hotel’s staff were all very friendly, professional and present to deal with at all times, adding to the overall experience. If this hotel was to be located in the city centre it would be three times the price thus making it good value for money.
Also if possible on check-in, request a room on the Western side (the rail bridge side) of the hotel this is due to noise from the adjoining motorway, which can be very disruptive at night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Very lovely hotel with great amenities. A few reviews have complained about the rooms being dark but I quite like the decor of it all. The only complaint I would say is the cheap mattress that they use. I could actually feel the springs every time I moved, so didn't manage to get a good nights sleep.

Breakfast was lovely, you could order hot breakfast on request, they also served continental breakfast buffet.

Had a great stay here and the staff were great, couldn't fault their service at all!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffylam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Spotless, elegant, ulta-relaxing room, loads of space and very comfy bed. Breakfast is the best I've ever had in a hotel, and the young local serving staff were the best combination of professional and friendly. On checking in, they bent over backwards to accommodate us. The price is a bargain for all of this I'd say... The location is great for the beauties of South Queensferry, but also for its closeness to the motorways.

Room Tip: I've stayed a few times and every room has been first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caileag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Nice hotel. Dinner was excellent. Service was second to none. Decor was a bit dark for my taste but my partner loved it. TV was a 42" and had the usual freeview channels plus Sky Atlantic and 4 sports channels. If they had a few film channels that would have made it complete. Breakfast was good but we may have met the chef on a bad day as the porridge was truly horrible. However the cooked breakfast was very good and the continental was as expected for that class of hotel. Being next door to a restaurant and Tesco's also opened up options instead of using the hotel for meals. Although we had our car the train station is only a 15 minute walk away and at £4.40 return good value into Edinburgh

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joppie230261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Leith
Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Hotel
#94 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#36 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range: £75 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing