We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel.!!”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel.!!”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Myself and my husband stayed at the Dakota Edinburgh for 2 nights in February '13....We loved our stay and will be back ....Great Hotel...Lovely room...bed comfortable ...breakfast delicious with lots of choice ....staff professional and helpful .....highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maws77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    538
    136
    49
    22
See reviews for
184
930
65
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We arrived there yesterday, the hotel was fantastic, very clean and the service was great!. The room was spacious and really nicely decorated. My Mrs and I really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenG0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

Been to dakota a few times as a special treat with hubby
It's lovely the rooms are so luxurious the restraunt is outstanding and the whole feel is so romantic
Couldn't fault it and can't wait till August to go back

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloeaidenalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Went to the Dakota hotel on Saturday 10th February for one night. Having been there before , we knew that the bedrooms would be comfortableand we were not disappointed. However when we went down for dinner and looked at the menu, we were unpleasantly surprised. Okay if you like fish for starters and mains and steak as second choice. As I headed this review "No choice" for me. The seating arrangements for couples wanting an intimate environment is nil. You could hear everything couples were saying to each other. Although we are a mature couple, we were looking for the experience to be romantic. At breakfast we were left a very long time before they took our order, which was poached eggs on toast. The most tasteless eggs we have ever tasted. As we run our own one bedroom guesthouse, we know what a good breakfast should taste like. Quality is a must.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DakotahotelEdinburgh, General Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Guest,

I was delighted that you enjoyed your overnight stay at Dakota, but was disappointed that you felt there was no choice in our food offering. We aim to deliver seasonal dishes and will never compromise on quality. Our vibrant and atmospheric Brasserie is well-known for our fish and shellfish and we also offer a selection of fabulous cuts of steak. Whilst seafood and steak dishes are consistently our most popular, other dishes such as pork belly, lamb curry and gnocchi are hot on their heels!

I am sorry that you felt that the breakfast was not of the same quality that you deliver in your one bedroom guesthouse. I share your view that quality is a must and whilst we have gained an excellent reputation for our product and service, your feedback will be used to highlight the importance of maintaining total consistency.

Andrew Ovenstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed overnight with my two young children after a visit to the nearby deep sea world. Requested a cot and separate bed for my children. This was provided in a larger disabled room which meant there was plenty of room. Really friendly staff and a lovely hotel at a reasonable cost. Will definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ncs1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel for a Friday evening at very short notice.
When we arrived at reception, there was one girl working, who left us and a gentleman in front of us waiting while she answered the phone. Indeed, she was part way through checking the gentleman in, and stopped to answer this call from another customer. I was quite shocked that customer service could be so poor.
However, we were extremely impressed with the standard of room, given the £66 price we had paid, as well as the fact that the hotel was only 3*.
The room was very nicely decorated, with a large flat screen television on the wall, a leather bound desk, muted lighting, bathroom toiletries, etc.
However, at 9am on the Saturday morning, we were both awoken to a very loud consistent banging. After over half an hour of this, we telephoned reception and were informed it was the sound of the gym below us, probably the running machine. I was extremely disappointed, as we had checked into the hotel for a relaxing evening and morning, not to be awoken by a banging which continued for well over 40 minutes, by which point we had decided to get up and get ready.
We went downstairs to check out, and saw it was the same girl on reception... There were two people in front of us in the queue, both waiting to check in. The girl answered three phone calls before and during dealing with the customers in front of her.
I am aware that she was the only member of staff on the reception desk, but in my opinion, the phone should have been ignored until customers had been dealt with.
Lovely rooms (and a nice restaurant - we have eaten here on another occasion), but our stay was let down by other factors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room nowhere near the gym!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newcastle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DakotahotelEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Newcastle 82,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Dakota. It is disappointing and concerning to read your comments regarding your check in experience. We are very proud of the reputation we have earned for excellent service and we were extremely disappointed that this was not evident when you arrived.

We strive to provide personal and professional service. Rest assured we take this matter very seriously and will take steps to ensure that the handling of telephone enquiries does not come at the cost of guest service. I appreciate that any action taken retrospectively will come as little consolation but I hope that should you return to Dakota in the future you will experience the excellent level of service that recent Tripadvisor reviews have complimented.

If you are going to be in the area again please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will see to it personally that you experience the level of service which has brought us such positive acclaim.

Yours sincerely,

James Archer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We booked the Dakota to stay overnight after attending a wedding at the nearby Orocco Pier. As we were attending the wedding we requested an early check-in, which wasn't a problem and when we came to check in it went without hitch and the girl on the desk (I think the duty Manager) couldn't have been friendlier.
The hotel is stunningly sumptious with oversized sofas, a great central fire going and it makes you relax from the moment you walk in.
Once we got up to our room we were no less impressed really well decorated and were very comfortable, so much so we arranged a 2pm late check out for the following day so we could chill out.
Due to being at the wedding we never ate in Dakota other than breakfast which was great and no complaints.

All in all a great stay, if anything let it down slightly it was the male reception member that was at the desk when checking out. It took a little while for him to do whatever he was staring at on the screen whilst checking us out and made no attempt to chat or engage with us. I felt this was a bit of a let down and I just stood there while waiting for the computer to catch up or whatever the hold up was. This however was no where near enough to put me off booking the Dakota again in the future, just a point that I hope the hotel take on-board. Finishing the guests stay as well as when they enter the hotel leaves just as much of a lasting impression.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,908 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing