We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome "hame" with a touch of class !”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcome "hame" with a touch of class !”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

On holiday from Australia....my first trip "home" in some 37 years I was absolutely delighted with my short but sweet stay at the Dakota in South Queensferry. A warm and cheery welcome from young Gillian on reception set the tone for a wonderfully relaxing stay. My room, overlooking the
Forth Bridges was very spacious, scrupulously clean and furnished to a very high international standard. A delightful menu and wide variety of wines ensured a pleasant respite after a long day of travel. Every staff member encounter was friendly and positive. I have travelled all over the world and stayed in a variety of accommodation over the years. The Dakota holds it own in the international hospitality arena and I highly recommend a stay here to anyone like myself seeking to recharge their "Scottish heritage" batteries, relax and indulge in the ambience of this hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel was recommended to me by a local business woman....never underestimate the power of "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,146
    565
    143
    51
    22
See reviews for
194
965
68
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Lovely hotel and lovely staff..very good with children. Excellent location to all attractions as there is a bus and train service. Would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone. Food was also delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellystuart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

what can i say about this hotel?.fantastc, we had the champagne dinner bed and breakfast deal, the room was on the 5th floor overlooking the forth road bridge.room spotless, warm, have been in hotels all round europe and this one tops them all.dinner was cooked beautifully, service first class, the staff are a credit to the dakota company. cant wait to go back

Room Tip: worth the suite money, best ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reid519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed here on the 27th April 2013 for the first time, reception looked fab, room was excellent, dining was a very pleasant experience, food was brilliant and the staff are second to none, bst experience I have had in a long time.

Room Tip: The whole place is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horsie019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I don't often write reviews but this stylish hotel deserves a mention.

I booked into the Dakota for a one night stay with my 2 youngs girls (age 6,8) and we had a ball! The interior is designed to cacoon you from the moment you walk into reception and it works. As we checked in, we noticed several guests had settled into the dimly lit, inviting lounge areas. Although most of the guests must have been business travellers, they were very few suits in sight. This place felt like a well kept secret for people in the know.

We ventured up to our room. The girls were enthralled by the screens in the elevators with moving clouds - nice touch. Our room was beautifully designed, very clean, spacious and luxurious.

We later decided to have dinner at the Bar & Grill. One of my girls ordered langoustines, the other squid and I ordered pasta incase we needed a backup plan. I needn't have worried, the seafood was delicious and service was superb. The girls were made to feel welcome and particularly taken by the waiter who arranged for Creme Brulee to be sent up to their room.

If you are intrigued by the outside, I would recommend that you step inside.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBarron_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

First impressions of the Dakota were not great as the free shuttle service was not very slick on our arrival at the airport - the driver told us he was waiting for another flight in 20 minutes time so we could either wait or he would book us a complimentary taxi. Obviously, we went for the taxi but this took forever so we were hanging around the airport for a good 30 minutes longer than we needed to be. However, is is still worth availing of the free airport shuttle if you are there mid-week as it was an £18 taxi-ride back to the airport on a Sunday. As a general point, taxis seem to be on the expensive side - a trip into the centre was £23.

The hotel is in an odd location but very convenient for a wedding in nearby Dundas castle. Considering the location by busy roads and a car-park, our room on the third floor was surprisingly quiet and there was no traffic noise. From the outside, the hotel does not look promising but inside, the lobby/restaurant is very stylish and rooms are nicely decorated. Staff were all very friendly and efficient.

A few negatives:

Terrible lighting in the bathroom - especially if you are female and trying to put make-up on!

The bed was not comfortable (which is quite a rarity in modern hotels these days).

The wooden blinds on the bedroom windows may look stylish but are not very practical since they let some light in and bang against the windows when the a/c is on.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetsansjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DakotahotelEdinburgh, General Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Jetsetsansjet,

Thank you for your review.

I was disappointed to read that you had difficulties with our pre-booked airport transfer service and it is regrettable that you had to wait for an excessive amount of time for a taxi. Taxi replacements for our airport transfer service are rare and would only be a last resort when we are dealing with multiple arrivals with delayed flights, which unfortunately was the case last Friday evening.

We appreciate you informing us of the issues you faced with the lighting, bed and blinds in your allocated room and are sorry that you did not feel these were suitable. We welcome all feedback and I have passed on your comments to the relevant departments. Our goal at Dakota is to ensure that each of our guests are personally looked after and I am delighted that you enjoyed our decor and valued our efficient and friendly staff.

I hope that your experience has not deterred you from staying with us in future. If you are returning to Edinburgh please feel free to contact myself directly and I will be happy to personally assist with the necessary arrangements.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Ovenstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The Hotel was in line with the other Dakotas as far as reception was concerned. The rooms were not in good condition. the en suite door handel was hanging off in my room and there were dye stains on the carpet. The breakfast buffet was poor and very stingly, the cooked breakfast was OK, but they could not manage to cook an omlette when requested. In all I would say the standards are slipping at this Hotel and not up to other Dakotas.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,526 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#37 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,968 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing