We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,265)
Filter reviews
2,265 results
Traveller rating
1,355
654
162
63
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,355
654
162
63
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack boxforth road bridgeretail parkstylish hotelclose to the airportexecutive roomfantastic hotelreception staffone night stayreception areaan overnight staygreat showercooked breakfastcomfy bedfantastic staycity centrequeensferry
Filter
Updating list...
1,614 - 1,619 of 2,265 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Amazing stay at this hotel!!
Loved the bathroom - Rain like shower was fab.
Rooms were a good size with a modern touch.
The only downside is the location!!
Didnt dine out out in the restuarant we preferred the fast food from burger king after one to many drinks in the bar ;)
Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Travelling on business these days is rarely pleasurable, largely because even the biggest companies refuse to pay top dollar. This has led to the plethora of low priced/no frills brands like Premier Inn, Holiday Inn Express and Jury's. However, I was very pleasantly surprised when I arrived at the Dakota. From the outside the hotel, located off a busy main road, looks like yet another budget brand, resembling a glass office block on an industrial estate, but as soon as you enter you get a very pleasant surprise. The closest comparison would be the Malmaison chain. This is a high quality beautifully kitted out boutique hotel, with all the facilities you'd expect, plus thevcustomer service of a five star luxury hotel - all at a price no boss would query on your expense sheet! So how have they done it? Simple - firstly the hotel is located a little out of town (approx 20 minutes drive), so saving a fortune on rent and rates overheads. Secondly, the building itself is economically designed so no expense wasted in order to allow no expense spared on the inside and level of staffing/customer service.

With ample parking and location 15 minutes from Edinburgh Airport, this hotel is a winner and one where I shall definitely return for a weekend with the wife.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank MrChipsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Had a meal here on way home after The Queens Garden Party. The is our second visit, the first about 2 years ago, we had forgotten how dark the restaurant is. I was not too concerned, but my wife didn't like the experience. We chose mussels and squid for starters followed by sea trout and fish and chips. The squid was very good but the portion size maybe a little on the small side, the mussels were fresh and tasty though perhaps the ginger and chilli sauce was a little overpowering. The sea trout was first class, but the side order of cauliflower was cold and had to be sent back, this was taken away and returned 5 minutes later piping hot with lots of apologies, plus the cost was taken off the final bill (this is how a complaint should be dealt with, no fuss and an apology from both the waiter and the chef, and the cost deducted). The fish and chips was very good but the fish batter was a little soggy. Total bill £60 including a 375ml carafe of house wine. A good experience, food very good, staff first class, still too dark though!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank stevemee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We spent a long weekend in Edinburgh and stayed at the Dakota Hotel for various reasons. Firstly the function we were attending was in Queens Ferry North and also it is 10 mins to the airport. They provide a courtesy shuttle to and from the airport which saved on taxi fares and they were waiting for us when we arrived and dropped us back again at exactly the right time for check in. The entrance to the hotel is warm and inviting, with big heavy curtains beyond the sliding doors to ensure that the reception / lobby area is pleasant and cosy. The rooms were lovely, medium sized and the beds were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and you couldn't hear any noise whatsoever from the corrider as deep pile carpets were the order of the day. The breakfast was lovely with the usual continental fare including cheeses, cold meats, pastries, fruit, yogurts etc. but for the savages that are myself and my husband we had the cooked breakfast which was very tasty yet modest. The black pudding was the nicest I've ever tasted! We spent all day out and about, also including a trip into Edinburgh which is a beautiful city, albeit the 20 hen parties and 25 stags going on. But most of the quiet pubs don't allow them access so you could go in and enjoy a bottle of Scottish Ale in peace and quiet and have yarn with the locals. We had a snack in the hotel bar on one of the nights and again the food was lovely. I had a sandwich consisting of grilled vegetables with goats cheese and I was too busy enjoying that to see what my husband had ordered but his plate was clean so I'm guessing it was nice! The atmosphere in the bar is very relaxing and as we were out each day it was like coming home in the evenings. The bar had a good gang in on the Saturday night but it wasn't noisy at all. Candles adorned the small tables and they had an imitation gas fire which looked out into the reception area. Cosy couches etc. Lovely and relaxing after a busy day being a tourist and Gareth, one of the bar staff, who seemed to be on all weekend was really nice and greeted us by name when we came into the bar in the evenings (probably not a good sign!!!). But all the staff were very polite, courteous and extremely professional, both in reception, dining room and bar. If you don't want to be right in the heart of Edinburgh (hens, stags etc.) then this is ideal as it's only a 20 minute taxi ride into the centre of the city, ten minutes to the airport and five minutes to Queens ferry which is a little village with some very quaint bars and restaurants, and a very imposing and rather amazing looking railway bridge that crosses the water way. In a nutshell, when we go back to Edinburgh, which we will, we will definitely stay at the Dakota again again. No complaints whatsoever and the prices were reasonable.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and there was no noise to be heard - felt like we were the only people there.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taratrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed 2 nights with our border collie. Everyone, from booking through to reception and waiting staff were friendly, warm and helpful. All our queries were dealt with politely and efficiently by upbeat and switched on staff. Excellent room with plenty of space and most importantly a large, comfortable bed. Had an evening meal in the restaurant which was extremely good, if a little pricey. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CDandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews