We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We are still very enthusiastic about the hotel itself,and the location is ideal to drive to and from the airport.The rooms are extremely comfortable and the quality/price ratio is excellent.

However,we found the Brasserie food more boring and slightly disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burgundian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,378 - 1,384 of 2,033 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

The Dakota Hotel certainly lived up to its reputation and provided a very comfortable place for an overnight stay prior to departing to Edinburgh Airport for our flight to Mauritius. Both front of house and restaurant staff were very well trained and provided high quality service. The room was quite small but very comfortable. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suskhatru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We dined in the restaurant. The service from begging to end was impeccable, the food was delicious as so the wine, the menu had extensive range of dishes and wines. Beautiful furniture, very clean establishment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sea98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We spent several days here. This hotel is beautiful and classy with its modern design. The staff is so friendly and knowledgeable and the food in the lovely restaurant is delicious. And did I mention they have great cocktails? Well they do. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here for a weekend to attend a friends wedding. Wasn't expecting too much, but the hotel turned out to be a real gem. The whole place feels very well thought out, and is a master class on interior design. It's probably the first hotel I've stayed at, where the bedroom feels like a bedroom you could have at home, but you would never have the creative skill to get it looking this good.
Aside from the interior, the staff were very helpful on advice with the shuttle bus and getting a local train in to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 489Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I took my girlfriend there for a meal n stay as i was proposing to her.
The staff couldnt have been any better, as they helped with all my imjury needs n setting up the proposal too.

Wld def recommend staying there...as everything from start to finish was perfect. Thankyou

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannyh1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

As hotels go this is a gem, it is so atmospheric and from the rather factory like exterior you will be amazed at the cool and relaxing interior.

The rooms are spacious and well presented, but above all else this hotel is so quiet it's the perfect way to get a good night sleep.

The restaurant food is nice, apart from a mix up with the cooking of a steak but they quickly brought us a fresh one. Breakfast is cooked to order and fresh.

The service throughout the hotel is friendly and pleasant without being overly intrusive which is great.

Would definitely go back if needed to stay near Edinburgh, much better than an over prices city centre hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#113 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range: £74 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing