We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dakota Edinburgh
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orocco Pier(South Queensferry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Staghead Hotel(South Queensferry)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tally-Ho Hotel(Broxburn)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,113)
Filter reviews
2,113 results
Traveller rating
1,255
615
158
57
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,255
615
158
57
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack boxforth road bridgeretail parkstylish hotelclose to the airportexecutive roomreception stafffantastic hotelone night stayan overnight stayreception areacooked breakfastcomfy bedfantastic staycity centrequeensferrytesco
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,452 - 1,457 of 2,113 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

nice hotel, i managed to get a good price on the room, its very similar in appearance to a malmaison, and similarly priced, i found the food well priced and good value, the beer potentially over priced at nearly over £6 a pint. its difficult to find fault with the hotel, it was spotlessly clean, friendly staff and good food, comfy bedding, and a large room, not souless like many hotels of this type, but kind of standard, if there was a button for ambivalent, i would tick it, a nice normal hotel, close to the airport and potentially better than some others. a question tho, in this day and age of needing to charge a fruit based phone every night and use it for an alarm why do so many hotels not have plugs next to the beds???

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dishmonkeysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Weary and tired after a weekend walking round Muirfield at the open this was the perfect remedy for sore legs and hungry men.
Great room power shower blitzed away the grime and regenerated energy into me.
Downstairs for supper of langoustines and smoked salmon followed by a 20oz sirloin on the bone with goose fats and peppercorn sauce.
Had to have the choccy fondant for pud as my adjacent diner proclaimed its texture.
All in all great hotel just off the main road looking like a big obelisk off 2001 space odyssey.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dplanetzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Wife brought me here for my 40th, rooms were ok, but that's all, food was lovely but service lets the whole place down , I had to ask for a fork as wasn't there as they brought meal to me, breakfast I had to ask for toast , which eventually arrived after finished !!, there are so many better hotels I have stayed in, which will receive my money again , unlike Dakota

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitor3252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DakotahotelEdinburgh, General Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor.

I was very disappointed to hear that your experience at Dakota in October last year was not of the standards which you have come to expect of the other salubrious establishments which you have reviewed. I am sure you will appreciate that it is difficult to comment upon the service shortfalls you have described given the length of time which has lapsed since you stayed with us. I am delighted to say, however, that the feedback which we have received relating to service over the past few months has been excellent. I am confident that if you were to return to Dakota, the level of service which continues to bring us considerable plaudits would be evident.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Ovenstone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We are still very enthusiastic about the hotel itself,and the location is ideal to drive to and from the airport.The rooms are extremely comfortable and the quality/price ratio is excellent.

However,we found the Brasserie food more boring and slightly disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burgundian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The Dakota Hotel certainly lived up to its reputation and provided a very comfortable place for an overnight stay prior to departing to Edinburgh Airport for our flight to Mauritius. Both front of house and restaurant staff were very well trained and provided high quality service. The room was quite small but very comfortable. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suskhatru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews