We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, lovely staff and quite convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great hotel, lovely staff and quite convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel's office block appearance belies the lovely interior and the great helpful staff. Our room was clean and tidy with tea and coffee making facilities, nice bathroom and a hairdryer next to a mirror and plug which doesn't happen all the time. The bed was big and comfy, breakfast was superb, I couldn't fault the hotel. We travelled by train which was 20 walk ( no taxi rank) and was fine. The hotel do have a pick up service available for airport travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChezandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    523
    128
    45
    22
See reviews for
180
904
62
336
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

stayed here for 2 nights room 214 view of bridges ! very nice room great bed to sleep in
food very nice ,we had a wine tasting event planned through work very good wines.
would recommend hotel
£25 taxi from waverley station mind,if in city centre prices would be higher

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1boroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

No complaints whatseover about this hotel. OK it's out of Edinburgh but only about a 20 min walk to train station and then 20 min train ride. It's really trendy and welcoming and staff are very helpful and accommodating. Cannot fault this one, please go!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GringoUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

From the outside the Dakota Edinburgh looks like a modern office block so we were very pleasantly surprised by the interior decor and ambience. It is comfortable, relaxed and friendly with a homely feel. The public areas are full of comfy sofas, armchairs and candles with an open fire and pleasant background music. The food was of a high standard and the restaurant is a pleasant environment in which to enjoy it with friendly but not obtrusive service. Our bedroom and bathroom were spacious and thoughtfully laid out. Our room overlooked the road but we did not experience any traffic noise. We observed high standards of cleanliness, maintenance and customer service throughout our stay and would certainly recommend the Dakota as a base for anyone visiting Edinburgh or Fife.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Situated close to the airport and Forth bridges. Next to Tescos I should point out that this is a restaurant review we did not stay here. We paid our second visit in honour of our birthdays for lunch. The restaurant has a separate entrance to the hotel proper, but once inside it is all joined up. Plenty of car parking on the doorstep. You walk in through auto doors and full length curtains. The space beyond is the bar/grill area. Modern, quality decor and fittings.Beyond that lies the restaurant proper. Warm welcome, comfortable seating, accessible toilets, nicely lit and protected from glared by venetian blinds.
This sort of eating place tends to suffer from being part of a hotel. NOT here! We had smoked haddock croquettes as a starter, very tasty. We followed with Chateaubriand for two which we had advised in advanced, though you do not need to. The meat is 28day sourced locally from Campbell meats. Ours was done medium and was red but not bloody. The meat was excellent and the veg was cooked perfectly. We had cauliflower gratinee, wilted spinach and wild mushrooms.plus roasted potatoes. There was cafe de Paris butter, mustard and another sauce. The food and plates were hot and plentiful. We had a half bottle carafe of Cote Du Rhone which was first rate
To follow, my wife had a pavlova and I a sorbet selection followed by coffee. The service was attentive, but not intrusive and we were not pestered about drinks, merely offered more coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAHAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had an excellent 2 night stay here Thursday and Friday night. The room was really clean, the bed was super kingsize HUGE and the view from the 5th floor was great. We ate here on the Friday night, and was surprised that the menu was not overly expensive with a good range of Scottish produce. Only complaint is that you order a main course and have to pay for the side dishes as well.
There are plenty of places to eat in South Queensferry so you're not stuck for alternatives if you don't want to do breakfast or dinner in the hotel.
Worth a wander to Dalmeny train station (10 minute walk) and taking a trip over the rail bridge, Kirkcaldy has a newly renovated museum and art gallery just 30 mins up the track and you get a great view of the coast. On the way back get off at North Queensferry and walk into the village for a scone and a coffee or head straight up to the road bridge and have a brisk 20 minute walk back to the hotel.
Our internet didn't work and the mobile coverage can be patchy but we managed absolutely fine. Tesco, Burger King and Frankie and Benny right next door.
We'll be back to visit again at some point.

Room Tip: We were on 5th floor facing the bridges with an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phlipg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel modern funky clean space big bed and big tv
Staff very good fit everything you need definitely be back highly recommend love it .breakfast lovely cooked breakfast plus buffet
It was a great romantic stay . This hotel feels like 5 star .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCANDREWannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing