We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable for business travelers”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Suitable for business travelers”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed here in April 2010 on a business trip. I had a nice well-equipped single room with a 'partial' view of the old Forth Bridge.

The Dalmeny railway station is 20 minutes' walk from hotel, providing easy connectivity to Edinburgh city center, though I preferred the buses that stop at the Tesco next door.

My overall experience was good by business travel standards. Only that, one day on requesting housekeeping service past 6.00pm, I was politely informed that the staff had already left for the day! The hotel restaurant, well-known for its seafood specialty, unfortunately offers little for people with vegetarian/vegan food requirements.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overplanningkills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,146
    565
    143
    51
    22
See reviews for
194
965
68
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick Upon Tweed
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Had our Christmas lunch at the Dakota with the family. It was my first time in the hotel, I had only ever seen it from the outside.
It really is stunning inside.
We were greeted on arrival by the staff who were all really friendly.
The meal was brilliant, perfectly prepared and the service was excellent.
Will definitely go again as it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pga1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight in a suite at the Dakota Edinburgh, we only stay 30 miles away but decided to have a night away. From the minute we walked in the door the staff were first class from reception to the bar and restraunt. Our room was a delight and spotlessly clean, we had a light lunch in the lounge area followed by an evening meal in the restruant and a wonderful breakfast the next morning all of which were fantastic. All of which were served to us by the wonderful attentive staff who are a credit to the hotel.We have stayed in most of the boutique hotels in Edinburgh and the Dakota and its staff come top of our list for sure. Cant wait to stay again which we will indeed be doing sometime soon.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a suite high level with nice views over the forth
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel after a day of Christmas shopping in Edinburgh. We parked the car at Dalmeny train station, which is 10 minutes by car from hotel,and took the train to Edinburgh. Twenty minutes later we were on Princes St. Just over £4 each for a return ticket - no parking charges - no stress. We found the hotel to be stylish and comfortable. The staff were well presented, friendly but respectful, courteous and attentive. Our Friday night stay included a free cocktail, £40 towards our meal and breakfast Our room number was 515 and had views of the bridge. Both the room and bathroom was spotless and chic. The restaurant had a relaxed inviting atmosphere and again the staff made the experience a pleasure. The food was simply delicious! We had a two course meal with a soft drink for £53 but only had to pay £13 as we were entitled to £40 deduction. Would like to see more choice on the menu for those of us who are not a fan of seafood. At breakfast we were seated and they took our order for Full Scottish breakfast. They brought tea/coffee and toast along with cooked breakfast which we found very good. There were also the usual cereals, fruit and pastries available so breakfast was more than adequate. We can honestly say that the Dakota holds it own up against the best top end hotels and we look forward to our next stay. If you are fed up with city centre hotels with their lack of parking or parking charges AND their inflated prices then give Dakota a try - we are glad we did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of bridge before your stay - they will oblige if is one available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 75anastacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed at the Dakota for a Christmas weekend with our daughters.
The hotel is spotless, has a great atmosphere and the rooms are well appointed and very comfortable.
Having arrived early evening on the Friday night, we booked a table and dined in the Bar Grill. They presented a great choice from the menu and the food was very well presented and very tasty indeed.
Above all, what stood out most was the excellent service and care exhibited by each and every staff member. Our particular waitress was Lisa, who was knowledgeable about the food we ate, made some great suggestions and her service was personal and very we'll timed. We felt special as a result of Lisa's "Can Do" attitude.
We'll done Dakota, and we will certainly return soon, and Very We'll done and thank you Lisa, you are a credit to the hotel.
Peter, June, Katherine and Katy.

Room Tip: No pool so terrible should not detract from the hotel. Any room is suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank petecsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I dont 'remember' many one night business hotel stayovers, and would never usually bother to go the the effort of writing a review, but I thought this one warranted it. The outside will fool you into thinking you've arrived at some modern electronics company with a blue neon sign in the middle of a car park. The entrance is like some inconspicuous nightclub entry and you are greeted with a dimmed classy lounge, an uber-modern 'floating flame fire display' and a reception with croc-skin effect worktop. The receptionists were ultra classy and slick with the registration. The room was great and the decor ultra modern with a big flatscreen telly and swish toiletries. The general design vibe throughout the hotel is dark brown wood, slatted blinds and spotlights which appealed to my tastes. You wont need to 'go out' to dinner as the restaurant is classy enough and the food yummy enough to entertain the fussiest of business guests, and has a 'restaurant' rather than a 'hotel-restaurant' feeling to it. The a la carte full breakfast was freshly prepared and the orange juice freshly squeezed and chilled. and our corporate rate was just £85. Not sure how they did that. Couldnt fault it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed for two nights in December 13 and had a lovely time. Hotel was gorgeous and staff on the most part were excellent.

One flaw is how far outside the city it is but price more then makes up for that. 4* hotel in December for under £100 per night. Very good, would definitely return

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bails14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,526 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#37 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,968 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing