We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A holiday in itself”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Almere, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A holiday in itself”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

From the pick up at the airport until leaving it was a wonderful experience. Everything was as expected in a excellent hotel. The staff are excellent as is the restaurant. Nothing was to difficult for the staff.

Room Tip: hire a car as the public transport is not grat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,147
    566
    143
    51
    22
See reviews for
194
967
68
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We arrived later in the evening, dinner set for 8:15pm. Arrived in our room which was very clean and tidy, quick change and down for dinner. Menu consisted mainly of seafood dishes as myself and partner dislike seafood out choice was very limited. We didn't get our cocktail that was part of the Friday package and on returning to our room I went for a shower then discovered our toilet wasn't functioning correctly. In the morning we advised the reception about the fault in our room, no discount was offered or any means of an apology. As a guest of the Glasgow Dakota and always happy with my stay there I was quite disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitkat0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Anyone who has experienced the Dakota brand knows that it is all about style over substance. Employ cheerful, outgoing and 'attractive' staff and turn the lighting down to 'Chilean mine shaft' level to hide the blemishes and you can just about get away with it.

I used this hotel for a lunchtime business meeting, so ordered sandwiches and coffee. Ham and mustard. Brown bread for my colleague and white for me (sorry, but I am Scottish). When mine arrived I had a mix of brown and white. The brown bread was fresh but the white was stale. Stiff as a board. As it was Monday perhaps the Mothers Pride delivery hadn't arrived and I was being fobbed off with the remainders of Friday's batch. Anyway, as I say, style over substance.

The staff, however, are excellent. Perhaps that's why they get away with it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

If you are looking for a touch of class and some real ambience then Dakota is the place. The Friday offer is excellent value value for money but on the down side I had to request our cocktails and was overcharged for our food bill. In fairness these issues were quickly resolved when raised. There is a real sense of luxury in Dakota and everything about it screams comfort and quality. The staff working in the bar and grill were very attentive andTammy in particular was a star and did all she could to make our stay enjoyable. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twowheels2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Our stay was fine, good food great service and very well decorated its the small touches that make the difference and free Wi-Fi went down well as well as the continental cooked breakfast in the morning.. No complaints for a cheap way to stay near Edinburgh this is the way to do it a fast train into the city is quick and efficient and means its never a chore to get to the capital.

Room Tip: No Gym or spa here but for a comfortable reasonably priced stay look no further!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Dakota in Edinburgh the night before flying out to Barbados on honeymoon. The staff were very friendly and helpful. As their restaurant was closed for refurbishments, they organised us a complimentary shuttle to a local restaurant and they picked us up afterwards. Kenny (the concierge) even looked after some of our bags while we were away on honeymoon. We also left our car in their car park (at our own risk). When we returned, we were pleased to find the car untouched and all our left luggage well looked after.

The rooms are comfortable and cosy.

Taxis to Edinburgh airport from the hotel are approximately £20 each way at the time of writing.

Thanks to the Dakota team for a wonderful stay. We would highly recommend them!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Warwickshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed for two nights at the end of December as we wanted a base for visiting Edinburgh before visiting relatives for New Year’s Eve, and paid around half price with a deal through Late Rooms.

The room was okay but we would have been very disappointed if we had paid £199 a night, which was the full price listed. The room size was just on the small size, with only one armchair and some of the little details were lacking, for example, my coffee-loving wife was very unimpressed with the poor quality coffee in the room. Although the bed was a reasonable size the pillows were rather ‘thin’ and uncomfortable. We assume that we were given one of the lesser quality rooms as we had booked on a deal.

The ground floor area, however, was very pleasant, with several attractive seating areas around the reception and bar areas. We ate in the bar area on our first night and the food (Omelette Arnold Bennett and Eggs Smoked Haddock) were excellent. Both meals were cooked to perfection and tasted wonderful.

If you’re visiting Edinburgh for the day, would recommend getting a taxi to the nearby Dalmeny train station (order from reception) and it’s about 15 minutes to Edinburgh Station, exiting near Princes Street.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuzzardFlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,526 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#37 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,968 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing