We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I can be hard to please, but I couldn't pick a single fault with this hotel.
Warm welcome, great common areas - love the feature fireplace in the reception area. The room was lovely, modern decor, comfy bed and the bathroom had both a monsoon and regular shower. There were handmade truffles and a fruit basket in our room which was a real treat.
Free Sky Sports in the room which pleased the other half, good selection of other channels. Good quality tea/coffee in the room and nice complimentary toiletries.
We had to leave early evening to go to the theatre but the staff were very accomodating and we were able to eat from the restaurant menu an hour before the restaurant opened. We both had 3 courses, each dish was beautifully presented and really tasty. Can highly recommend the brown shrip croquettes with hollandaise!
Breakfast was great, we opted for continental only as the choice was great and it was more than enough.
Staff were very attentive and immaculately dressed, which you don't see very often!
We will definately be back, this place is a real treat!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linseyjx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    516
    127
    45
    21
See reviews for
173
896
61
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Chose The Dakota for my birthday based on recommendation from friends and was not disappointed! From the moment we walked in we felt like we were truly relaxing... lovely décor and very pleasant reception staff (we were offered a taster of the current cocktail as we checked in). The room was lovely and I was pleasantly surprised to see a 'happy birthday' message as a welcome note. We booked the 'Friday Night' package which included a cocktail each (amazing! and not restricted as I thought they would be!) the room, £20 each allocation towards dinner (which we did not initially receive as we paid cash and did not notice but was quickly rectified) and breakfast - which was one of the best I have ever had. Overall a great experience cant believe has not been before and will look for an excuse to book again!

Room Tip: Our room did not have a bath - not sure if this is same for all - but did have an excellent shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliG317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have stayed a few times, food is excellent, atmosphere and décor are very cool. Staff are amazing, very polite and accommodating

Rooms are very comfortable and on trend.

Parking is excellent. I would describe the hotel as Edinburgh;s version of the Hoxton.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Excellent value for money, tasty food and a nice touch with the complimentary cocktail while waiting on the free cocktail that was part of the Friday night deal.... great staff and service - very friendly without going OTT ! This is a very stylish hotel, very different from all other "chains" and we will visit again !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinMack59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Dakota is the place to stay if you want a relaxing,stress free break. The staff are friendly and efficient and add to the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel. The public areas are stylish and and just make you want to soak up the ambiance. Rooms are comfortable and the shower bliss! What is there not to like about this piece of paradise, including the lunch and dinner menus. Been before and got to hurry back. A little bit of paradise in the heart of Scotland! !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lapanterarosa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

First time to stay in this hotel as we were visiting South Queensferry for a family event. Unusual decor and lighting with great effect, having a lunch felt like an evening out. The rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean, excellent toiletries and a shower that helps wake you up. At breakfast the staff were very attentive but not overly so, well turned out in smart clothing something quite often missing. This hotel provides accommodation and service at a much higher level than the price would suggest. Worth a visit and free transport from the airport, a good way to start your break.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

My husband and I have just spent another night in this wonderful hotel. Customer service and attention to detail are first class. Beautifully designed rooms with gorgeous decor. Cannot speak highly enough about the food served in the restaurant, first class, with exceptional service from the staff. This hotel is great value for money, and look out for special deals. This was our 5th stay here
really cannot recommend it enough. Look out for the big dark blue cube, its not an office block its the Dakota. Love it

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank didi1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing