We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel- great good and service ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel- great good and service ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I've actually now stayed at this hotel 3 times. The first time was the night before my hen night with my best friends( a couple of years ago), once with my Husband and once with a group of friends last year for an Anniversary celebration.
I cannot recommend Dakota highly enough for food and service. Every time I have eaten there, the food has been extremely delicious. The wine list is my only slight disappointment. I think a hotel of Dakota's calibre should really have a better choice of wine. It is a bit limited.
The last time we stayed, I was pregnant and Arlene( I think who is the Operations manager?!) was so accommodating bringing me extra pillows and making sure I was very comfortable. Also, as we were there with a group of friends for a special occasion, Arlene really went out of her way to make everything perfect!
In fact , all the staff were very friendly too!
Will be going back at the earliest opportunity. Excellent, friendly, cosy and comfortable hotel with great service.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissiemitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    516
    127
    45
    21
See reviews for
173
896
61
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Spent an fantastic weekend at this hotel for my Wedding anniversary. Beautiful atmosphere, welcoming staff and AMAZING food. I was very fortunate to dine at Tom Kitchin's 'The Castle' and the Dakota in the same weekend and the food at the Dakota was every bit as wonderful! The rooms were immaculate and very relaxing. Oh and don't forget to try the cocktails - French martini is my fave!! Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

First came here on business then came back with my wife because I loved the service, design and atmosphere so much.

Dakota is a fantastic hotel and they provide Cafetiere in the room. Great touch for coffee lovers :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank reputedly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We arrived on a Saturday lunchtime for a night's stay in the Dakota which had been recommended to me by a friend. Arlene, the manager, started talking to us as we checked in and couldn't have been more helpful. The shop she recommended in South Quensferry was perfect for the gifts we were looking to buy. The room was immaculate and very stylish.

We had cocktails before heading into dinner, not something I would normally consider but the service was excellent and the bar was full of people doing the same. Do not stay at this hotel without sampling the food. It's amazing! Again, the service was incredible and the staff were really knowledgable and friendly. I cannot do justice to the steak we were served or the risotto. It was possibly the best meal I have had. The manager recognised us and came over to check on how we were enjoying the meal. A nice touch. The we had the desserts....WOW!

All in all a lovely night, great food, a beautiful room and lovely, realxed breakfast, which was cooked to order.

If you are looking for a night of luxury, with superb service and incredible food I would recommend you treat yourself to a stay at the Dakota... We have already booked another night for next month.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronaboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n. Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The two nights that my wife and I stayed at this hotel was sadly two days too short! Having stayed at many hotels throughout Europe we both felt that this hotel exceeded our expectations. Right from the moment we checked in we were both stuck by the attentiveness shown to us and the quality we received. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The food was served with a very high degree of customer service and the quality was exquisite. The waiter was extremely attentive and on one occasion the Head Chief came out to see if everything was to our satisfaction. We were both very impressed by this hotel and we will without doubt be back to this very relaxing, quality hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenya055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I booked at this hotel for business meetings in the morning. Upon arrival was informed that they do not have Internet at the moment and hope to have it restored in the near future. When I booked it showed free wifi throughout! False advertising!!!! I prepaid...or I would check out and find a new hotel!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank twistof8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Really enjoyed my over night stay at this hotel. The rooms were excellent in every way. Great value for money.
The restaurant was very modern with excellent food all be it very expensive for what you got. Just under £10 for two drinks did not encourage me to drink much that's for sure.
I must say the staff were really friendly and very professional , a credit to the hotel.
One thing I would improve is the wifi , very poor for a hotel of this standard !

Room Tip: Lower level , less wind !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wysie588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing