We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I have had a pleasure to stay in the Dakota Edinburgh hotel on a few occasions and I have never been disappointed.The hotel is well situated.The rooms are very nice with a quite unique decor. Always very clean. Beds are very comfy.
The Grill restaurant has a great menu and there is something for everyone.
The staff at the Dakota hotel are very polite and friendly.Nothing is too much for them. I have had great experience right from the start when I arrive to the last minute when I check out.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OssettTravelmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    531
    132
    49
    22
See reviews for
181
919
65
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Dakota for a 3 night break. When we first arrived at the hotel, we were surprised at the land surrounding the hotel; you would expect that for what has been said about the hotel, it would be nicely landscaped, instead it looked as though the hotel had been dropped in the middle of a building site area, unfinished and with bare surroundings.

We were happy with the initial feeling as we entered the hotel, and the reception of the lady who checked us in. A male attendant offered to help us with our bags. What we were disappointed with was what followed.

On arrival at our room we found we had very limited space in the room in general, very little wardrobe space, no bath (very surprising given the £96 per night price tag), and very poor lighting.

On the first night, in the early hours, around 6-7am, we were startled by a thumping/clanking sound of our room door, a noise which seemed as though someone was entering the room with force. This happened every 10 minutes for around 1-2 hours. At one point the noise came from the window area. We were both very startled and the noise made us jump out of our skin. My husband had to check outside to see if anyone was there, and then rang down to reception to inform them of the problem. We had no follow up call to this complaint. Only when we came to reception that evening did they inform us about what they had found when they went to scout the area. They said nothing seemed out of the ordinary but did try to offer us a new room (unfortunately, all rooms were unavailable that night).

Before our arrival, my husband requested a DVD player for our room. We had no reply to this request, and so never took any DVD's. On our arrival, the host told us they would be bringing a DVD player to our room. What might be useful is that the hotel actually reply to requests so that guests know whether their requests will be met when they arrive.

We chose to have breakfast at the Dakota on Day 2 of our stay. I thought that for such an overly priced hotel, a measly breakfast of two half pieces of toast with jam and butter and a yoghurt, and scrambled eggs and toast with orange juice for my husband may be included in the £96 per night. But No! Our breakfast was charged to us at an extortionate price of £23.80! The menu consisted of very little choice, and the buffet was embarrassing. Grapes that you had to pick off the vine yourself (I'm thinking no attention to hygiene), basic cereals and bare plates of a few other somewhat boring fruits. The waitresses serving in the restaurant seemed as though they were being forced to work, with not one smile (especially a young lady with a brown bun). The only person who was friendly was the male waiter near the bar area. My husband was served scrambled eggs that were underdone for his liking, and asked if he could have them redone; the waitress took the plate disdainfully and then returned with a plate that looked exactly the same. If your guests ask for something, then usually it is the case that the staff try to deal with the request, especially when it is made so politely?!

The toilet seemed to continue sending out water for a while after it had been flushed on more than one occasion.

Staying at this hotel, to be honest, spoilt a lot of my experience of Edinburgh. Where you stay is your base and where you feel 'at home' during your time away. I never felt at all at home, and rather more uncomfortable. I most definitely will not be staying here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tashukadva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

From the time you see the hotel from a distance, when you enter the hotel, when you check in to your room, when you dine at the restaurant..... The wow factor follows you! Will definitely be going back. Cozy hotel, modern interiors and good food!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Allen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Part of a large group. The hotel is situated within sight of the Forth Bridge and popular with those using airport. The hotel was filled and therefore very busy.

Our room was excellent as were the public areas. However, the food did not match - it was not up to standard expected of such an establishment. We had to return more than one plate as unsatisfactory and the service was glacial. One member had not even been served whilst the rest of us had finished! Portions small and no bread offered. The staff apologised re delay and we were given a bottle of wine (we had to ask for it) as compensation. However, would not return.

Room Tip: Room appear to be universally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife & i spent another wonderfull night in this lovely friendly hotel. Our room & meal were first class & the stafff are very friendly & efficient. We have stayed here before & the staff here continue to keep the standards high. It was a lovely day so we parked the car at the hotel & spent the afternoon down in the Ferry itself before checking in around 4pm where a bottle of champagne awaited us in our room. Any couples looking for a night away from the kids should consider this great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvent198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel isn't the usual run-of-the-mill Holiday Inn, Marriott, Hilton and really does make an effort to make all guests welcome and to be distinct from all that corporate stuff. I've stayed a few times and there is an interesting mix of guests including business people and couples/families - often it seems staying for a special celebration of one kind or another.

The rather cubic shape _is_ odd, especially under the blue night-time illumination. The rooms are large with good sized beds and bathrooms but to date I've only every had a shower in my rooms, not a bath. But the showers are really good and the shampoo provided by the hotel should last at least a month after each visit.

The bar is warm and welcoming as is the restaurant. It's reasonably-priced because the menu is interesting and the food is very good but this is not the place for a low-cost meal. There is a very handy large Tesco opposite if you are on a tight budget.

The staff are very professional but friendly and have the best looking outfits that I've ever seen for hotel staff.

There is ample free parking and a shuttle to/from the airport though this should be pre-booked.

Other hotels could learn a lot from the way this hotel is managed.

I still don't get the giant ampersand (& sign) on the walls in the rooms.

If the hotel had grounds or a swimming pool or was in a better location then it would easily justify a Tripadvisor excellent rating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Meon_Meerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

20 min and 20 pounds away from the airport ( get free hotel transport ). Near the famous Fourth bridge and in walkng distance to train station to the city ( Edinburg centre is far away )

There is supermarket beside the hotel and few fast food restaurants. Its nice walk down to the village to get some decent food. Otherwise there is nothing around at all. Just highway.

Hotel is relaying on stylish decor which is nice cozy but nothing breath taking.
Rooms are spacious with tea/cofee, iron, water, but with not much storage space, not many hangers, no safe and difficult wi-fi. Very few toiletries in the bathroom, but excelent shower.
I have to mention the beds...the mattrace was the most uncomfortable I slept on in recent years.

Breakfast has a limited selection but good enoug with made to order items.
There is a small gym as well.

The reception and breakfast staff should be more cheerful and helpfull.
If you going to visit Edinburg city this isnt good choice ...otherwise ... why not.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinmatousek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing