We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My boyfriend brought me here for my birthday and upon arrival I was wowed by the building exterior. It looked like the sort of building you see in Dubai - so contemporary and smart. The whole hotel was lovely everything was so clean and the room was really cool. I even had a cute little note off of the PR team wishing me a happy birthday which was a nice little touch. Staff are willing to go the extra mile to please you!

My only advice would be if you want to book a dinner reservation - book it before you go to avoid disappointment. Failing that there is a Frankies & Bennys across the road which is lovely also!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larad1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,090 - 1,096 of 2,016 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our whole stay from start to finish was just fantastic! Couldn't have asked for better service...when on arrival and walking in, it really did have the wow factor. The food was first class. The rooms were very clean and also finished off to a high standard. Will definitely be back!! :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuluB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was the fourth time i stayed at the Dakota, Edinburgh. My stays have got worse since the first in 2012. One person was in front of us at check in and from arrival it still took 25 minutes. No car park spaces available as Audi, Mercedes and Vredestein were doing tyre tests and had rented the car park. This was one of the busiest weeks of the year, Royal Highland Show week, and they rent our parking spaces!? Meal was lovely, staff really attentive. As i was showing livestock at the show i needed a good nights sleep, the bed was like rock the springs were knackered and the pillows hard. Myself and my girlfriend got bad backs and asked for new pillows that were softer to try and help, it didnt. We asked for some form of room change or improvement of the mattress, the hotel simply put a duvet on the mattress and recovered it with a sheet. This made no improvement. So 3 nights at £180 a night and crap sleep. The hotel offered no discount on check out even when confronted with the problems. Bad service. Try the Novotel, we'll go back there next time!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardESWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very nice hotel at perfect location not far from the airport.
The food is great.
If you are a frequent visitor you might find that the menu should change more often.
Reception always gives you a warm welcome and the "view" is very nice.
Lobby with a big open gasfire giving a cosy home feeling.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are rather noisy when there is a lot of wind facing the windows. For some reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here when my husband did the City to Summit Ironman and it could not have been more convenient - only 2 minutes down to the start line at the Forth Bridge.
Check in was quick and easy and the room was lovely. Very modern and had everything we needed, including an iron and board. The whole feel of the hotel is rather dark and moody, all ambient lighting etc. It was all very clean, smart and modern, the only thing we didn't like was having to walk through nearly pulled curtains to get in the main door.
We had to go to bed very early due to our 5am start but the hotel was fairly quiet, and the blinds in the room did a good job on a very sunny day!
I would definitely recommend this hotel for location and quality. The rooms were very comfortable and stylish and the hotel provides very good service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the dakota for the weekend. After our early flight we went straight to the hotel by their taxi service which was very good. Didn't think we would be able to check in as so early but was pleasantly surprised when told our room was ready. Room was lovely and spacious, had all we needed in there. We only used the restaurant for our breakfast which was average bit disappointed on the 2nd day as the cooked breakfast was halved bearing In mind I only had sausage and bacon it wasn't much. The walk to the station was about 15/20 mins quite a tricky place to find but short ride into the centre. Lovely hotel just a bit further from the city than I had thought. Very nice staff and were helpful in any questions we had.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pippip7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights recently. Our first night was room only and the 2nd was a lazy Sunday special offer which is really good value. The reception and bar area is nice but note that prices are what you would expect in a 4* hotel - £3.95 for an Americano and approx £6 for a pint of beer. We ate in the restaurant where the food and service was top notch, if the monkfish curry is available you must try this! The breakfast was also very good with all hot options cooked to order. The only negative aspect of our stay was a slight confusion with the booking and bill but the professional way that was handled at reception really impressed me.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,614 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Leith
Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Hotel
#94 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#36 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range: £75 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing