We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I come to this hotel regularly on business and its my favourite hotel and always my first choice in Scotland. Rooms are clean, large and welcoming.the staff are always polite and
friendly. If staying I highly recommend the food - the steaks are amazing!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayed21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    516
    127
    45
    21
See reviews for
173
896
61
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is the second visit to this hotel, love it . Great food and atmosphere. Lovely decor, friendly staff. Good price for what you get compared to the other hotels in the city centre. nothing we didn't like. Just great !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lipstick55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel based on the reviews for dinner and an overnight treat for my partners birthday! I can honestly say the staff were amazing nothing was too much hassle they made us feel at ease and after dinner the waiter took us through to the lobby to sit and relax with our cocktails that were topped up all night, the room was lovely. The only downside is there is no fridge in the room so we made use of a few ice buckets that were sent up to our room within minutes after requesting them. I will definetly be booking up again! We also bumped into Gerard Butler during our stay which made it that little more special !!!! What a birthday treat- thanks again to all the staff at Dakota!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanneLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanquhar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst visiting Edinburgh zoo as I could not find a nice hotel in the city centre for a reasonable price. I'm glad I chose the Dakota. Rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean. Restaurant food was delicious, some of the best I've had in a hotel. Staff we're very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pauldavi02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our wedding night & it was a disappointing experience. The corridors are dark. The room has a dull decor and was cold. I had a terrible nights sleep as I couldn't find the control for the air conditioning. There was no hotel instruction sheet so you were left to work things out for yourself. We were only given one set of towels. I won't be staying there again as it definitely does not give value for money. The only bright note was the breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My boyfriend brought me here for my birthday and upon arrival I was wowed by the building exterior. It looked like the sort of building you see in Dubai - so contemporary and smart. The whole hotel was lovely everything was so clean and the room was really cool. I even had a cute little note off of the PR team wishing me a happy birthday which was a nice little touch. Staff are willing to go the extra mile to please you!

My only advice would be if you want to book a dinner reservation - book it before you go to avoid disappointment. Failing that there is a Frankies & Bennys across the road which is lovely also!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larad1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our whole stay from start to finish was just fantastic! Couldn't have asked for better service...when on arrival and walking in, it really did have the wow factor. The food was first class. The rooms were very clean and also finished off to a high standard. Will definitely be back!! :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuluB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Property: Dakota Edinburgh
Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing