We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week's stay”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I would concur with all previous reviews. Great staff, fabulous restaurant and well cooked breakfast. Very poor internet service which I complained about for the last three nights of my stay with no joy. Try and venture down to Sth Queensferry itself now that IS a gem

Stayed: July 2014
Thank AndypipUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,979 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is like Darth Vader's house from the outside, and given it is situated in the middle of nowhere- a £17 pound cab from the airport, a 40 minute bus from the centre of Edinburgh, 2km from the centre of Queensbury by the river and with a view of a Tesco carpark, there is some reason to wonder why people would stay here. Inside though its very nice, with a modern hipster style meeting traditional scottish comfort and it is a common choice for wedding parties. With a great breakfast and comfortable interior, it is a nice hotel but given the downside of its location, it falls short on some of the details which would really make it a good stay.

For example, the internet is intermittent and dreadfully unreliable, and the staff member's only response was to blame my device which works perfectly. I spoke to three other guests who were also frustrated by this so called 'premium internet service'. Secondly, the hotel offers a free airport transfer service but only on Monday to Friday (which is not much use to those weekend guests) and when it was working (for our Thursday arrival) it was terribly coordinated and the worst airport pick up I have ever had. Instead of waiting for us with a sign or at a pre arranged place, the hotel expected us to call the driver on arrival to find out where he was which proved very difficult as my international phone didnt automatically pick up roaming and I had to change money and then find a pay phone and the whole process took more than 30 minutes to find the driver.

So, the hotel is nice enough but its service missed the details needed to make the hotel the quality place it prices itself to be.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank TravellingJ80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Such a shame our stay was so short - my car broke down on the journey to Edinburgh and so we arrived many hours later than planned, Fortunately when we contact the hotel to let them know we would be very late arriving they were extremely helpful to ensure that although the main kitchen would be shut we could have some food when we arrived from a limited menu. We were so exhausted we ended up only having chips but good grief they were arguably the best chips I had ever tasted !!! Very nice room, my only criticism is that staying on one of the sunniest and longest days of the year the blinds were not quite black out blinds and I was awake very early the next morning !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cariadwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had a really lovely meal with the girls. Good tasted great. Would recommend the steak frittes.
Staff were helpful, friendly and polite.
Great selection of cocktails and drinks,
Lovely environment.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

What an amazing hotel! The décor and interior design is both tasteful and interesting and the food is of a very high standard but what makes this hotel stand head and shoulders above all others is without a doubt it's totally brilliant staff. They are pleasant, helpful and courteous and never cross the fine line of over familiarity. All of which conspire to make a stay at the Dakota(South Queensferry) a thoroughly magical experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Dined as a table of 11 which we booked the previous week.

Cannot fault the food and the service from the one and occasionally two waiters who were charming and efficient.

However, 3hrs 15 mins for three courses on a relatively steady Tuesday evening seemed a very long time. It was compounded by the lobby staff wandering around and not listening to what I had asked, both in drink and food order requests. In addition the 'Manager' appeared to be drifting about a considerable amount and not once did he check in how his one/two waiters were coping. We never saw him, he was chatting with the bar staff every time I saw him.

Couple this with the fact that there appeared to be a female member of staff in black whose total contribution to the evening was to carry one small cone of fries one at a time from a distance to the table. If the manager had been there he could have perhaps improved service delivery.

The food could not be faulted - it was excellent - well done Chefs. I feel that the front of house taking longer than a flight from Edinburgh to Malaga, to serve a meal is somewhat surprising and disappointing.

Waiters 10/10, Chefs 10/10 Leadership/Management 2/10

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank BAManEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel is lovely, the room was lovely ( a junior suite ). We had our two dogs with us and when we got into our room there were doggy dishes with a little bag tied with a ribbon with treats for them and a bottle of water for them and beds. I thought that was a lovely little extra touch and there was a message on the dressing table welcoming us it was so nice to see that from such a large hotel. The breakfast was also very good plenty to choose from with homemade granola which was gorgeous fruits cereals ect, and your breakfast was cooked to order which nowadays is not the norm it's usually a buffet which usually isn't very good so what a treat to have a cooked to order breakfast and have eggs just the way you want them a real treat!! Will stay again and take my dogs they were made so welcome thankyou !!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,577 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#35 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range: £77 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing