We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fur coat and no knickers”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel looks good!! If a little intimidating !! But the beds are very uncomfortable and the cleaning is very poor. We stayed 3 nights and during this time we did not get our beds changed or receive new soap and shower products! The rooms are very warm with hidden air conditioning panels as they do not match the deco!! Our room was next to the gym which was very noisy when in use!! Would not stay again !!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teesider01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,065 - 1,071 of 2,016 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

When my wife and I walked through the front doors of the Dakota Hotel on Monday, July 14th we were impressed with the design of the lobby area and the restaurant. Equally “wowing” was the courteousness and helpfulness of the reception staff.

By the time we left on Tuesday morning (room 223), we were left saying that with the above two exceptions, your hotel room is wholly inadequate.

Our conclusion was that the developer of the hotel gave an opportunity to a young “interior designer / architect” who had little or no experience in designing a hotel room. To wit:



· The bed mattress was very uncomfortable and flimsy

· The pillows were “thin” and even though there were two of them offered less support than one really good pillow

· It took us several trips to the lobby and new passwords to finally achieve a level of acceptable internet use

· You had to be a contortionist to plug in your computer at the receptacle under the desk

· The beautiful shower knob came off in my hand as I tried to turn off the shower

· There was very little sink surface space- why not put a shelf to the left where the mirror is located?

· The design of the shower allowed water to spill on to the floor while adjusting the temperature- it must be very time consuming for the staff to clean a bathroom

· There was slight mold at the bottom of the shower

We just spent eighteen days in Scotland and Ireland in fine hotels, guest houses and bed and breakfasts. Experienced travelers don’t just want “Wow”, they want a good night’s sleep and an appropriately designed and comfortable room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valhalla121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a modern hotel located near to Edinburgh Airport. It has an eclectic design which you will either love or hate. I loved it. Other reviewers have commented on its design and location however the highlight of my stay in Scotland was the extremely friendly and efficient staff. From the moment I was collected from the airport by the hotels complimentary shuttle the staff were welcoming, friendly and very efficient. I stay in many hotels throughout the world but I can honestly say the girls and boys at The Dakota were the best I have experienced in the last 10 years. Smiles make so much of a difference. Keep up the good work. I will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our second stay here, both due to it being very close to where friends live, so for us it's a good location. I guess it has good connections to the motorway network and is 10-15 mins drive to the airport but this modern trendy hotel doesn't seem to fit on this half-completed retail/business park which is quite away from the city.
The hotel is deliberately very dimly lit throughout, from when you walk into the attractive lobby area through curtains to inside the bedrooms.
We had a standard room and there was a feeling that the furnishings were starting to wear (one of the wardrobe hanging rods was missing so there was no long-hanging space). The bed was comfortable enough and the room was furnished with desk, chair and armchair. There is in-room wi-fi with individual routers but the one in our room didn't work so we were reliant on the 'premium service' provided free of charge on this occasion but in-room quality was patchy.
The bathroom had a shower but not bath and we did have a drama with the shower on our first morning when it would not drain and overflowed across most of the bathroom floor. Obviously unblocking the shower drain is not top of the cleaning list of priorities and we had to call the Duty Manager to clear the blockage!
The bar and restaurant areas have a good buzz to them and although we did not dine there, the drinks options and service werr fine. We did have breakfast there one morning, however, which had a good range of cold buffet with hot dishes made to order.
Staff were friendly and willing to help, though twice there was a problem with ordering taxis for us. On check-out however we were pleasantly surprised to find that there is a complimentary shuttle service to the airport.
Overall a decent hotel and we would probably stay there again the next time we visit our friends. It is probably more suitable to business rather than leisure unless you are specifically visiting the South Queensferry area or want to watch the building of the new Forth crossing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddison65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed for one night prior to leaving for Paris the next day. Very modern but dark interiors. Staff very professional and polite. Room ultra modern. Superb bathroom. Very convenient for a walk into Queensferry to see the bridges and have a drink.
Would stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 289rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Located in a shopping mall on the outskirts of Edinburgh, the Dakota is a decent place to stay. It is certainly a step up from many run of the mill properties and the price is right (I paid 89 GDP). The problem with this property is that it tries to be too hip for its own good. The lighting is dim throughout and the decor looks like it is straight out of the Restoration Hardware catalogue. This is not a bad thing per se, but it does seem a bit mismatched to the location. I typically expect to find hotels like this in downtown areas or at resorts

As for the stay, I found the service in the bar area to be a bit slow. The wi-fi was a hard to get going right away (but I eventually got it to work) and the staff was a bit pretentious (but not overly so).

If you are looking for a different kind of hotel experience, this could be the place for you. Just keep in mind that the location is not ideal. It is far from downtown. The airport too is a short ride away (about 15 minutes). A shuttle is provided, but I did not need this service. A Tesco, Burger King and chain restaurant are adjacent to the property.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Dakota for 2 nights and have to say this is one of the best hotels for your money you will find. No complaints what so ever staff very friendly and helpful rooms clean sky tv in each room aircon bathrooms spotless. Would recommend to everyone.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Rossm9014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,614 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Leith
Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Hotel
#94 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#36 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range: £75 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing