We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No mini bar...but actual bar is well stocked!”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Comfortable rooms. A bit pricey, but impressive non-the-less. Friendly staff. Train station a short walk/drive away. Well situated for travel into Edinburgh, and handy for The Forth Road Bridge for omward travel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlondeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,042 - 1,048 of 2,015 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife yesterday (24/08/14) for a birthday weekend away.

The room we were in was very nice. Very clean, and the staff were exceptionally helpful. On the whole I couldn't fault the hotel or the entire experience. The nearby town of south queensferry was great to walk around and the views of the forth road and rail bridges was impressive.

The only tiny niggle which prevented my giving the full 5 stars was that in the rooms there is somewhat a shortage of power sockets. There are only 2 free power sockets in the room, both situated in the centre under the tv. I would have preferred st least one near the bedside table so I could charge my mobile without lying it on the floor. This also meant the supplied hairdryer did not reach the dressing table mirror which was slightly awkward for my wife to do her hair.

It's not a massive problem, and did not detract from out excellent weekend away, but I felt it warranted a mention for the purposes of possible improvement. Even a short extension would suffice.

I would definately stay here again, as I honestly think we would struggle to find facilities as clean and fresh for the money.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed at the Dakota on Wednesday night and it was up to its usual excellent standard .Despite the festival being on the room rate was quite reasonable compared to lesser hotels closer to the city centre. I am already looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inspector777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We dinned on our return from holiday, after landing at Edinburgh airport. We dropped in by chance again and the 3 of us were accommodated in a professional manner, without any fuss, despite it being very busy. Service was first class (again!) and food was very good. My "dressed crab" starter was best and the 3 of us all had rib-eye steaks which were all cooked exactly as ordered. If I was being hyper-critical, I felt the steaks contained much more fatty bits than we are used to, particularly compared with previous visits here. We won't let this put us off returning again sometime soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayDeeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this ultra modern hotel in Edinburgh. The dark decor make this unique hotel special. The room was new and just felt like something out of a Tom Clancy Novel. Great service, great care great drinks. Delivery to the airport topped off a great stay. I will stay there each time at the Dakota at the olde Edinburgh town. Thanks so much.
Fleet Daddy


I

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank FleetDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Chic, modern, cozy, comfortable dark surroundings, candlelit day and night. Comfortable room, great bathroom well lit (for makeup application!). Only minor niggle is took ages to find plug near mirror to use hairdryer - found next day! Staff were friendly and polite. Breakfast delicious, good choice, something for everyone. Would recommend and definately stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jockette67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

booked 2 rooms for family wedding for 2 nights - had arranged for courtesy vehicle to meet us at the airport. Long story but this resulted in us having to wait an hour and a half in a cold car park. we arrive at the hotel, no apology, instead we are told that the whole stay has to be paid for on arrival! This is a first to me.
As far as the hotel building is concerned, felt a bit like landing in a tardis in the middle of an industrial estate, open the door and you are greeted by two heavy curtains obscuring the reception area - wierd. rooms comfortable enough and quiet. Lovely breakfast served by friendly, helpful staff. suited our purpose vis-a-vis location but wouldn't stay there again. short walk to village of south queensferry which is cute.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank annette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Leith
Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Hotel
#94 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#36 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range: £75 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing