We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry
Certificate of Excellence
Kelty Fife
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“restaurant”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

was at the restaurant a week ago with my whole family for a birthday celebration .the service was great the atmosphere in the place great and most of all the food was great and very reasonable for price,go and have yourself a great meal book a room and have a great time with fantastic views of the bridges.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    97
    45
    29
    11
See reviews for
72
142
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

As always plenty of spacious tables to choose from, especially by their numerous windows giving great views of "the bridge" and the Forth. Service here is very easy both in terms of drinks and food, very good menu choice (a la carte, fixed menu and daily specials), no delays for food, waiting staff very attentive without being overbearing, food excellent and good portions. All in all a very pleasant experience and very relaxed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here in 2008, and were very impressed by the friendly and helpful staff. We were please to find the Inn was so close to the train station, as we had one day to explore Edinburgh. It took almost no time to get to Waverley Station, allowing us plenty of time to walk the Royal Mile, shop,visit Edinburgh Castle, go to the haunting Mary King's Close, visit the (free) Writers Museum, and finish off with Cullen Skink, Haggis, Tatties, and Neeps in a local pub.
After returning to Hawes, we fell asleep and slept well, as we found our room(Breck)to be cozy and quiet, in spite of the bridges and traffic overhead. They actually added to the ambiance of this lovely place.
We would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We believe RLS may have stayed in our room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I ordered lamb meat balls lassagne and it seemed that it had been left in the oven all day as it was inedible. Sweet was cold rhubarb with a sugar glaze and was a tiny portion. The staff in this place are abrupt and surly to the point of being rude. The motto appears to be " service with a scoul" After a long drive from Aberdeen I was expecting a decent meal but I was very dissapointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olga4446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I was recommended this place by friends who stayed last year during the festival. We had high expectations of good food and service and so after a day sightseeing in Edinburgh thought we would end our day with some good food.

Well on the way in, it was busy enough, and we asked at the bar if we could still eat as it was almost 9pm. Not a problem apparently, we were told to go on round to another section were someone would see to us.

Err no. We walked round and tried to catch the eye of 3 members of staff who just glanced our way and walked on. So we stood in the middle of a restaurant area as someone dismissively waved to sit on any table. So what to do? Is it like other places were you order at the bar etc or wait for table service? No numbers on the table so we assumed it was table service. Well who knows as the staff just kept running about clearing tables and getting bills paid. So we asked three times could we order drinks.....eventually a girl came and took our order. Wine came, Guinness came all was well, we ordered our food.

When it came we were sorely disappointed. My spiced calamari with pineapple salsa was battered with no more spice that a sprinkle of salt and no salsa but a small pot of garlic mayo. My reckoning was it was the batter that they use for the battered mushrooms....my partner got gloried chicken nuggets and mayo....again it was supposed to be a much more elaborate dish. Awful.

Main course, I ordered a steak and red wine pie, with seasoned chips and garden peas. I have had better in an airport. In fact that is an insult to airport food. My partner had fish cakes. Again, not at all pleasant.

No one came to check if we were happy, I fact they avoided us like the plague after I asked for the salsa that was to accompany my starter....

On and the wine came, unopened, in an ice bucket, the girl didn't even open the bottle!!

I guess we should have been happy we got glasses.

We were not offered dessert or coffee, but we stayed to drink our wine, much to their annoyance.

I would not go back here again and I'm so glad we didn't get booked in to stay. Drive on by, lots of nice little places along the cobble streets.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumatronatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I have stayed here before. As always the staff are very friendly and welcoming. Great location and lots of character inside. Rooms could do with a little update, but are clean and cozy. Would be nice to be shown to the room....I had number four which was outside around the back. My only disappointment was the food. I had salad, which really was pitiful and rump steak which was tiny and tough. Friend had mushrooms.........five lonely mushrooms on a huge lettuce leaf that looked just sad and lonely. I would definitely stay here again but would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippo3422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We chose the Hawes as the base for our wedding party accommodation, as we were to be married at the local registry office. We arrived on our first afternoon to find that all of our party who had booked in July 2012 via the Internet had only been booked in for two nights. Initially it was said that this was OUR MISTAKE, even though this supposed mistake had been made by 4 separate parties on 4 different dates. As the bride this took the shine off what should have been a great few days with friends and family. Whilst the management eventually accepted a computer error and arranged alternative accommodate at the premier inn, this broke up our wedding party and the last day was not as we would have planned it. We will be following this up with a complaint.
However, the staff and food were very good and did make us feel welcome and tried to smooth things over. We may visit again, but would now only ever use the telephone to book in and ensure our booking was correct.
The rooms were ok, despite the double beds (and the rooms could have accommodate a king size bed). If you are a light sleeper you need to be aware of the frequent trains which travel over the bridge, which is right above the hotel.
The views are stunning and if you like walking, the trip to Dalmeny station is suggested, if only to test your stamina for the 121 steps to the station!
It is unfortunate that despite their error they did not really seem to care for our feelings on such an important occasion.

Room Tip: Book on the phone, any of the forth bridge rooms will give you spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
0.8 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Staghead Hotel
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Queensferry Hotel
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry
Address: 7 Newhalls Road, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels in and around Edinburgh can match this lodge for its views or place in literary history. Many of its 14 cosy rooms look out over the iconic Forth Road Bridge and the Firth of the Forth estuary, and it's said that legendary author Robert Louis Stevenson wrote part of his famous novel Kidnapped here - there's even a mention of The Hawes Inn in the book. Just 10 miles from the city centre, the South Queensferry lodge is an ideal base for visiting Scotland's historic capital, where you can explore Edinburgh Castle, the shops of the Royal Mile or the city's many museums and restaurants.Also perfect for golfers, it's within striking distance of Carnoustie and St Andrew's and close to the birthplace of golf at the East Neuk of Fife. The Tudor Gothic Dalmeny House and Georgian Hopetoun House are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawes Inn Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge South Queensferry Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing