We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here. Spectacular views, food delicious, waitresses lovely and friendly . You have to pay on arrival which was strange and we stayed in room 14 which was clean but could really do with being updated very old fashioned . The noise however from the trains above were dreadful , they stopped one night at 12.18 am and then started again at 4.56 am. A shame as everything else was super but would not stay again because of noise. Also i think it was a bit overpriced for a self service breakfast, cooked breakfast should definately be included in price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

Very poor - clearly understaffed - kitchen was not coping with the volume of food heading out.
Servers were expected to do too much in the restaurant - they were run off their feet! BUT the serving staff were doing what they could and were doing their best - they were very good.

As for the food - really not great. Two medium steaks clearly well done - obvious before even cutting into it! Two well done steaks - well I am sure you can guess - dry as a bone!

The only reason we did not send them back was the very long wait to get them in the first place and the 30 minutes it took a neighboring table to get a replacement salad when they sent it back!

So overall -
Service - were trying very hard in a clearly difficult situation - our server was very good.
Food - very poor, long wait, mixed up order in kitchen, poor standard of presentation - no kitchen should be sending out an obviously overcooked steak

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dek-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Myself, partner and 2 year old boy went for lunch yesterday to the hawes inn after being recommended by a few people for its food, unfortunately it did not live up to the hype at all! My partner ordered the calamari with mango salsa, it came after a long wait, with a mayo that looked like it had been sat there for 3 days, and was very chewy and over cooked, my prawn cocktail was average, for main I had the buffalo and chorizo burger, which I could hardly bite into, was burnt on the outside and very over cooked, the coleslaw served with it was disgusting!! My partner had the steak pie, which consisted off a mound of pastry a few bits of meat and an over the top wine tasting gravy. I ordered my son BBQ chicken from the kids menu, which was ok, he liked it, but he is 2, although you would think it being a children's plate, it wouldn't come out absolutely burning! A bit of common sense wouldn't go a miss! Overall, I would not recommend anyone to go there, and is definitely well over prices for below average food.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Cuthbert88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Booked this place for my partner's birthday as I had heard good things.

On arrival I was ignored by 3 staff who saw me waiting and simply walked away. I eventually mentioned to the fourth that I had booked a table and before I had finished she barked at me to sit anywhere. I had booked a table so I then walked up to the bar. There was no one else there apart from the 3 staff who had ignored me. I asked a guy for help and he said that it was his first day and he didn't know what to do. I then found the lady who had shouted to sit to me and told her I had a table booked and that 4 people now had ignored me / walked away. She changed her tone slightly and told me to go in to the restaurant before running away again. Errrrm restaurant? Was I not in it?

Eventually found my table myself and sat down. Again ignored by the the two staff in the "restaurant" . eventually one brought menus. basically throughout the meal we were never served unless we asked specifically for help and then on leaving I had to wait for ages at a desk before anyone could be bothered to take payment. Even then, the staff member who eventually appeared couldn't use the machine.

the food?.. Same as every other vintage inn. my chicken pie was boiling in the middle and cool round the edges. Of course no one was available to check how my meal was.

The staff here clearly don't give two hoots about their customers and I am gutted that I wasted my money here. I will not be back . Sad that the famous hawes inn has come to this.

Ate at a vintage inn up in Broughty Ferry. what a difference. 3 staff smililing on arrival and couldn't do enough to help. Meals checked up on and they even tried. Bit of banter and smiled. All on a busy Friday night. maybe the grim staff at the Hawes Inn should go on a study trip..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Edin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Another great long weekend at the Hawes Inn. Food is good pub grub, nothing fancy, but it's a pub! The staff were friendly and efficient, even changing our room for us - nothing wrong with the original one, but having stayed before there's one we particularly like. Leigh our breakfast waitress was great as usual, cheery and nothing's a bother. Be back soon.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Parnas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I really like this hotel. The location is spectacular, under the Forth Rail Bridge, the best looking bridge I have seen and with a view of the Forth Road Bridge, in my opinion, better than the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco. I stayed in the Robert Louis Stevenson room and had two double beds and loads of room, not to mention the view. Food in the hotel is very good although service in the evening was a bit hit and miss. Breakfast is freshly cooked for you. Free car parking is a big plus. I tend to stay here when visiting Edinburgh and am always pleased I did!

Room Tip: A room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

was at the restaurant a week ago with my whole family for a birthday celebration .the service was great the atmosphere in the place great and most of all the food was great and very reasonable for price,go and have yourself a great meal book a room and have a great time with fantastic views of the bridges.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
0.8 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,979 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
676 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh -...
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Staghead Hotel
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
25 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry

Address: 7 Newhalls Road, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Queensferry
Price Range: £61 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels in and around Edinburgh can match this lodge for its views or place in literary history. Many of its 14 cosy rooms look out over the iconic Forth Road Bridge and the Firth of the Forth estuary, and it's said that legendary author Robert Louis Stevenson wrote part of his famous novel Kidnapped here - there's even a mention of The Hawes Inn in the book. Just 10 miles from the city centre, the South Queensferry lodge is an ideal base for visiting Scotland's historic capital, where you can explore Edinburgh Castle, the shops of the Royal Mile or the city's many museums and restaurants.Also perfect for golfers, it's within striking distance of Carnoustie and St Andrew's and close to the birthplace of golf at the East Neuk of Fife. The Tudor Gothic Dalmeny House and Georgian Hopetoun House are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawes Inn Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge South Queensferry Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing