We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry
Certificate of Excellence
Diggle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Overnight”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were on the way to Aberdeen for the weekend and broke our journey to see the Inn which is alleged to be the inspiration for the Inn in Kidnapped we had a large room with a separate sitting room and good bathroom although the Forth Rail Bridge is above the in the trains did not spoil our stay they don't run in the night the complimentary Continental breakfast was good all in all a worthwhile break PS the Hawes Inn food is OK but average

Room Tip: Room 14 overlooks the rear car park but the view is not unpleasant and the room is large and ticked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Hawes Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    97
    47
    29
    11
See reviews for
75
145
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

To be honest after reading reviews, my family and i had great rservations about staying here. This was shattered by a fabulous stay with a room to be complemented by the money we paid, and the food yet again to be really really good and the service we had from both keith in the evening and lee at breakfast was 2nd to none... There was nothing to complain about, their hospitality was fantastic

Room Tip: rooms 1 and 2 were great. maybe the bathrooms will need tlc before long but that is the only reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Hawes Inn a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

First impressions from outside.....nice, in a good location just along the road from the old village, directly under the railway bridge.
Check in was fine, I was allocated room 2
Room 2, back out of the bar front door and turn left, a separate door further down the building is used for accessing rooms 1 and 2.
Once inside the room it was not a bad size with a great view out of the window, one table lamp had a broken shade,a few minor paint scuffs on the walls and ceiling, I would say you could tell it was a "lived in" hotel room.
The bed was comfortable though and the flat screen TV was not a bad size.
Not impressed with the bathroom, I do not like to see white grouting which is brown in places and black lower down, a bit bleach would sort it, the shower was hot enough though, also the sink could do with resealing to the tiles behind it, lots of gaps which are a breeding ground for germs,
The restaurant bar....first night went to the bar got served straight away and sat at a table, within a coupe of minutes the waiter came over and asked if I wanted to order which I did(only a main course and another drink though) he took my order and my food appeared about 10 minutes later which was a pie in a small dish which had been severly overcooked which left the crust virtually impossible to get through with a knife when the waiter came back to enquire if everything was OK I complained and the food was taken back to the kitchen and a new plate of food arrived after another few minutes this was cooked better but the pie filling was not to my liking after all this so most of it was left.
The second night took at least five minutes to get served at the bar as there was only 1 staff member behind the bar, I got a drink and sat at the same table as the previous evening but I must have had my "invisibility cloak" on as the waiter who was working this evening just kept walking past my table, after about 20 minutes I caught his attention and asked if I could order some food, his reply "yeah you order at the bar"????
Off I trouped to the bar to order my food.....food arrived, poor meal again.
In summary, would I stay here again, No

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel (?)(which appears to have retained it's legacy as The Hawes Inn) is situated almost squarely beneath the Forth Rail Bridge. So, as you'd expect, the sound of passing trains can be heard from bedrooms. Thankfully, the trains aren't too frequent neither do they run into "the wee sma' hours). Unless you like trailing luggage around, you'll find the journey between the car park and Reception a bit convoluted and we hoped that we didn't have go all the way back to access a room at the rear after check-in. As it happened we (2) had room 12, a large family room with which we were very happy. Reception/Bar staff were helpful and friendly on what was admittedly very quiet Monday evening. The continental breakfast included was adequate, although you can upgrade at a cost if you wish.

Room Tip: Whilst a train journey to eg Edinburgh from the nearest railway station (Dalmeny) is an attractive p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crichtocol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing our Innkeepers Lodge. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at The Hawes Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had a fantastic experince in the Innkeeper's Lodge. We stayed two nights and the views were amazing, as others have noted.

We were a bit wary though, after reading some less favourable reviews, and as we arrived we were slightly apprehensive, which was a mistake. The check-in was smooth and courteous, the welcome was warm. The room was stunning, beautifully laid out with amazing views. Our evening meal was excellent, served efficiently by a very cheerful waitress. Breakfast? Well the food was very good, and the breakfast host, Leigh, is a treasure.

We were in the room closest to the railway, and I am a very light sleeper, but the trains were no problem. The presence of the bridge adds to, rather than detracting from, the whole experience - and, no, we aren't trainspotters.

Can't fault the place at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Multicoloursocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Hawes Inn, South Queensferry on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.
Best regards
Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We visited on the recent Ferry Fair weekend. Admittedly the place was busy but I think we got the smallest and dirtiest room in a very old and run down establishment.
Arriving at 8.30pm we had to fight our way through the busy bar to the "check-in" at the end of the bar - and pay on arrival. With hindsight I suspect this is so that you can't dispute the charge on departure!!!
We were allocated room 9 which was very small - not at all like the photos on the website. The carpet looked like it hadn't been hoovered and the maid obviously doesn't have a duster (or doesn't know how to use it). The shade on the bedside lamp was an absolute disgrace - dusty, stained and (almost) held together with sellotape!
The view from the window WAS beautiful but spoiled by dead flies on the window ledge.
The hotels states that all rooms have en-suite bathrooms - not this room it only had a walk-in shower.
Breakfast was another disappointment - we paid for a full cooked breakfast which included poor quality streaky bacon - not what you would expect in Scotland for the price charged!
There was only one person serving at breakfast and she complained both mornings about being stressed because they were so busy - made us feel that we had come down for breakfast at an inconvenient time for her!
This was an expensive weekend away at £255.80 for 2 nights and certainly not value for money.
In my opinion stunning views over the Forth DON'T compensate for poor quality accommodation!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The woman in charge of the breakfast was a delightful woman who provided a great spread of food and was friendly and professional. The location and overall charm and beauty of the place was wonderful.
When I checked into our room I soon looked out the blankets as it was quite a cold day. As I opened the blanket I was disturbed to see the single thin poor quality blanket was covered with grey hairs (not mine) and much to my disgust had a large amount of dried bodily fluid on it. I went downstairs and brought it to the attention of the woman in charge who told me she had no extra blankets. I politely expressed my displeasure and she eventually did bring us more blankets.
The only table lamp in the room was like something pulled out of a bin and mended with tape.
The mirror and picture frames in the room were brushed metal of some sort and totally unsuited to what should have been "vintage" decorating.
When I settled in to use the free wifi I was informed that in order to access the advertised free wifi I would have to provide a UK phone number. As travellers from out of country I could not do that, as I would assume is an issue for many people who are staying at an inn. So....no wifi.
In general this was somewhere with great potential but showing obvious signs of a lack of attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.
Thank you.
Innkeeper’s Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
0.8 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,853 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
616 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Queensferry Hotel
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
0.5 mi away
The Staghead Hotel
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
23 reviews
4.0 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry
Address: 7 Newhalls Road, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels in and around Edinburgh can match this lodge for its views or place in literary history. Many of its 14 cosy rooms look out over the iconic Forth Road Bridge and the Firth of the Forth estuary, and it's said that legendary author Robert Louis Stevenson wrote part of his famous novel Kidnapped here - there's even a mention of The Hawes Inn in the book. Just 10 miles from the city centre, the South Queensferry lodge is an ideal base for visiting Scotland's historic capital, where you can explore Edinburgh Castle, the shops of the Royal Mile or the city's many museums and restaurants.Also perfect for golfers, it's within striking distance of Carnoustie and St Andrew's and close to the birthplace of golf at the East Neuk of Fife. The Tudor Gothic Dalmeny House and Georgian Hopetoun House are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawes Inn Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge South Queensferry Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing