We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

As a rambler I have stopped at the Haws Inn on many occasions for a drink with friends at the end of a walk and decided to make a booking and I was not disappointed . The room was big and very comfortable with a river view (room 6 ) lovely little town people very friendly . Booked to go back for another weekend break. Service and food was great in the hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Hawes Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Nothing to shout home about but unlike some, my expectations of a budget hotel do not extend to unicorn steaks served on a golden platter. Thus I was pleasantly surprised. We chose this hotel because my husband likes bridges and it is handy for Edinburgh, the focus of our trip. Free parking at Dalmeny station (3 mins by car) for Edinburgh (15-20 mins). The village itself is nice - will look better without the backdrop of pouring rain, I daresay. Plenty of friendly bars and rather deserted restaurants.
The room was large and the bed was comfortable. The shower was hot and powerful. The staff were helpful and friendly, although the last night's dinner waiting on was a bit shambolic. We had the full breakfast - far too much for me, a cardiac episode waiting to happen. May I suggest that the toast is served separately on a side plate? We dined there twice, both times the food was perfectly fine, if not particularly remarkable. Exception: I hate cabbage but inadvertently served myself some. It was delicious, a word I never thought I'd use about cabbage, especially with Scotland not being exactly the vegetable capital of the world. Also the coffee at breakfast - excellent.
You can certainly hear the trains going over the Forth Rail Bridge but I found it rather soothing!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry. We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here before. Perfect for visiting outskirts of Edinburgh. Great hotel, comfortable rooms, olde worlde bar area and cosy restaurant. Interesting menu, something for everybody. South Queensferry is hidden between 2 iconic bridges (Rail & Road) and features cobbled streets, great choice of bars and restaurants. Will definately visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDPachus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Hawes Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Lovely hotel with great views of the Firth of Forth , paid extra for the breakfast :but
well worth it! Large room with very comfy bed . Did not have dinner :but plenty of restaurants
a short walk away . Nothing wrong with Hotel dinner :just fancied a stroll along the river side!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Hawes Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge, South Queensferry a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed for three nights as a base to explore Edinburgh and surrounding areas. We had stayed before and was not disappointed again, room had recently been decorated and new carpets. The staff were friendly and helpful, we ate in the inn and the food was good, feel the waitress service seems disorganised and improvement needed. The Scottish breakfast was well worth the extra cost. Will be returning!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gaynor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Hawes Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh . Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

There was nothing wrong with our room just a little bit tired. This was an old inn with lots of character but has now been transformed into a chain type of restaurant which is a pity as it has lost all of its charm. The restaurant area is showing signs of wear. Breakfast lacks choice of meat/cheese which I would expect for a continental breakfast. Pleasant staff particularly the breakfast waitress.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool!! Sorry can't remove my review of it
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chace5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for reviewing our Innkeepers Lodge. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at The Hawes Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We chose this hotel as our base during an overnight trip to see friends in South Queensferry, having been attracted by the low price of the winter package advertised on the website. We weren't sure what to expect due to the mixed reviews but our overall experience was very positive - check-in was smooth, our room was spotless and we had a fantastic view of the bridges. We didn't dine here at night, however the cooked breakfast was fine (though only one server and the girl was clearly rushed off her feet). Throughout our stay, though, we found the staff both friendly and accommodating. Overall, very happy for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scrawfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Hawes Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
0.8 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,958 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
664 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh -...
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Staghead Hotel
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
24 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
4.5 mi away
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry

Address: 7 Newhalls Road, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Queensferry
Price Range: £60 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels in and around Edinburgh can match this lodge for its views or place in literary history. Many of its 14 cosy rooms look out over the iconic Forth Road Bridge and the Firth of the Forth estuary, and it's said that legendary author Robert Louis Stevenson wrote part of his famous novel Kidnapped here - there's even a mention of The Hawes Inn in the book. Just 10 miles from the city centre, the South Queensferry lodge is an ideal base for visiting Scotland's historic capital, where you can explore Edinburgh Castle, the shops of the Royal Mile or the city's many museums and restaurants.Also perfect for golfers, it's within striking distance of Carnoustie and St Andrew's and close to the birthplace of golf at the East Neuk of Fife. The Tudor Gothic Dalmeny House and Georgian Hopetoun House are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawes Inn Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge South Queensferry Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing