We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helped us out when in a tight spot!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Queensferry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Priory Lodge Guest House
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Thanks to the Priory Lodge for providing us with a place to stay on Saturday night! We were stranded at the Edinburgh airport after our flight was canceled and we could not fly home until Sunday morning. Let on our own by the airline we frantically tried to find a place close enough to the airport that was still available as the marathon runners had all the rooms booked around the airport and Edinburgh. Our host kindly confirmed our taxi for a 4:30 am departure and provided us with a packed breakfast the night before. Our host also provided a brief layout of the town and where we could find a hot meal. The Priory Lodge is within walking distance of a TESCO-less than a mile and the walk is pretty and there is a smaller grocery a SCOTMID I think just across the road. Thanks again for helping us in our jam!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMartin202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is the second time we stayed here. Everything about the place is top class and the owners are a delightful couple running an excellent business. The breakfast menu has to be seen to be believed with eight main dishes to choose from plus all the other bits. The bedroom and bathroom have simply everything a person could possibly need to spend one or more very comfortable nights. There is free wi-fi and a guest lounge with a laptop. It is also very near several good bars/restaurants - just a few minutes away on foot.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed there in April and its really goof value for money. The couple is very nice and always smiling. The breakfast is great and served in a cosy dining hall. Loved the room and there is nothing you will miss - ear buds to good coffee. The only downside is that being on the road can get a bit noisy sometimes. the lodge has great interiors and some nice spaces to lounge around.

Room Tip: take a room towards inside and not on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at the Priory Lodge simply because I wanted to be near the airport for an early flight. It is very convenient to the airport.
Our room was quite large, with one double and one twin bed.
The owner was very friendly upon greeting me and made me feel quite comfortable immediately. We knew that we would be leaving prior to breakfast, and she was so kind as to make up a bag with yogurt/muffins/ drinks for us to have, and she left it right outside our door the night before our departure.
The room came with just about everything one would need....plus some. There was a refrigerator, hot water pot with coffee/tea, etc, iron, ironing board, terry robes, umbrellas. The bathroom had a hair dryer in it.
Great shower...hot and powerful.
The room was cozy. There was a large breakfast room that looked quite pleasant, but we departed prior to breakfast so I cannot report on that.
Parking was private just outside the entrance to the rooms. We were in a building in the back of the property.
We were able to walk into town for dinner.
Really...this place is great.
I feel compelled to mention that the owner was showing the hotel to potential buyers while we were there. I do not know the particulars, but it is worth mentioning that the hotel may be under new ownership in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This was the second time we have stayed here.This stay was a good as the first time.The room was faultless as was everything else about this place.There is everything you need in your room and a nice comfy sitting room with the added bonus of wifi. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Sometimes not getting what you want is an incredible stroke of luck, a favourite saying of mine. And in this case was very true. We had looked at going to stay at the Hawes Inn nearby but it was fully booked (review of there to follow, as we went there to try the food etc).....

However a friend recommended this lodge to me and I was happy to book.

On arrival I rang the bell and had to wait a little, but don't forget this is a family run set up....a friendly gent called Gordon welcomed me and gave me a hand up to our room (my other half was arriving later) and was very helpful with info for what was what.

We had a beautiful room, four poster bed, good bathroom, what you expect from a first class B&B. some may think it is abit dated but for me it adds to the charm.

My other half arrived and we went out, two great local places within walking distance, The Boat House for food and The Ferry Tap for straight forward pints of Guinness :)

We stayed two nights and would have stayed so much longer. Breakfast was first class, cooked to order from menu choice the night before. You give a time you want it and its there, perfect.

The owners are full of local knowledge, full of kindness and will try to accommodate any request you may have. We had taxis ordered, special breakfast requests and all was done with no trouble at all.

Just book it :)

We will definitely be back.
Many thanks :)

Room Tip: My partner seen from pics a lovely four poster bed bedroom all very romantic...just send a wee email...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mumatronatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Back again to this fantastic guest house. it's like staying with family. Everything you could possible need or want, comfortable beds great sleep and breakfast at its best. Will most certainly be back. Camlyn and Gordon are great hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanded55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
0.6 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,979 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
676 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh -...
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Staghead Hotel
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
25 reviews
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel
4.0 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Lodge Guest House

Address: 8 The Loan, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9NS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Queensferry
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing