We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quality place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Priory Lodge Guest House
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent 2 days at the Priory. Our room was large and comfortable, the hosts generous and obliging, and the location excellent. It was lovely to be able to walk around this historic area where there is a lovely park nearby, plus the waterfront view of the bridges and a good array of restaurants/bars give the place a good feel. In addition the bus stop right outside the door gave us easy access to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I stayed in Priory Lodge on 20th July and really enjoyed our stay. We can see why this is no 1 in South Queensferry. We stayed jn the annex which was obciously seperate from the main b & b but no less charming. The b & b is centrally located, just a short walk from the main street.

The place is spotless, welcoming and has everything you need away from home. Little touches like robes, handcream, fridge, nail cippers etc really help make your stay extremely comfortable. Slept really well which is unusual for me!

I have never seen such a variety of breakfast dishes! Amazing and delicious.

Would definitely recommend this b & b and expect that we will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnJamieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

no need to reiterate all the good comments. just a confirmation.
we were bumped out of another place, just passed by the Priory Lodge, asked and they made it possible to give us a nice room on the spot.

besides, South queensferry is a wonderful spot for a relaxing weekend without the strenuous travel to distant far out places.

Room Tip: all is quiet there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and myself stayed here last weekend, and I must say, it's the highest quality B & B we've ever been to. The rooms were spotless, had everything you'd ever need for your stay (except maybe a fan - it was an extremely hot weekend!), and the attention to detail and all the extra touches, not to mention the superb breakfast, made for a very enjoyable stay. I'd have no hesitation in recommending Priory Lodge, and we'll no doubt be back some time in the future ourselves.
We were so impressed, I even left a special bottle of limited edition beer for Gordon, the owner, as a surprise "thank-you" gift for all his and his wife Calmyn's hospitality during our stay. Our Hearts were gladdened with their kindness, and the high standards and pride they obviously take in their business.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

the absolute best b&b i've encountered!
as this was the first night of our holiday , we spent the rest of that week comparing the lacks of other b&b's next to the Priory lodge Guest house.
in fact , as we was touring all tru scotland on our motorbikes , we change the route to spend another night there.
next trip we make will start and end at the Priory lodge ,just to make sure it;s a holiday well spent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delange73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have stayed here at least twice a year for the last 20 years and I never get tired of it. The service, rooms and food are a lot better than I get in 4 star hotels. Gordon and Calmyn can not do enough for you and the breakfast always keeps me going til lunch time.
With the railway station only a 10-15 min walk away it is so easy to leave your car and take the train into Edinburgh and all for only £4 approx.
This has to be the best B & B in Scotland.

Room Tip: You have to have the full cooked Breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 668John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Me and my partner went here as a very last minute get away after some bad news. It was completely what we needed! The couple who owned the lodge were both very friendly and welcoming, both with good old scots humour! The rooms were really cosey and comfortable, nod were cleaned daily and supplied with fresh towels. There were lovely Scottish touches in the room such as real Scottish shortbread ( topped up daily) and your own Scottish sheep teddy to let the staff know if you want your room cleaning. The breakfast was brilliant, with a wide selection for everyone, I did enjoy the salted porridge with baileys though myself, but the haggis was a close second! Brilliant location, very accessible to Edinburgh by car or bus, and south queensferry Is a very beautiful, quiet town, with lovely places to eat, more for the over 50's though. Brilliant stay and would definitely recommend and return. Thanks again :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Queensferry hotels
0 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry
Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, Sou...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
305 reviews
2.7 mi away
Parkhead House
Parkhead House
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ravenous Beastie
Ravenous Beastie
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,033 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Lodge Guest House

Address: 8 The Loan, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9NS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Queensferry
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing