We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best B+B I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Priory Lodge Guest House
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A beautiful old house right in the middle of South Queensferry and right between the two amazing Bridges over the Firth of fourth. The owners were delightful, very friendly and conjured up a delicious breakfast in the morning.

I cannot fault this place and will definitely return.

Thank you for our lovely stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jubilee room with a four poster bed... Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunray7580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Located in the centre of the historic village of South Queensferry, this terrific B&B is also within 30 minutes of the centre of Edinburgh, either by bus from directly outside the front door or by train from the nearby Dalmeny station. There are number of top class restaurants in the village itself, many with fine seafront views directly overlooking the two bridges. The owners looked after us really well, the rooms were well equipped and the breakfasts were delish. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Achiltibuie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

For a guest house there are lots of nice touches here, like bathrobes, cotton buds, manicure sets. The owners give you free access to use the kitchen. Loads of parking, pleasant sitting out areas. Rooms are well planned, clean and cosy. Would definitely recoomend to others or stay again myself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradfordLadyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Everything about this b&b is great. The owners are very helpful and have provided lots of little extras in the rooms as well as an information book that answers questions about local transport, attractions and the local area. Everything is in the right place as well. A lot of thought has been put into the comfort and needs of the guests. Breakfast has a very good selection of foods and portions were very generous. The rooms were a good size with comfortable beds, a fridge, iron, ironing board, drying rack, clock radio, cd, tv,good lighting, desk with chair, internet that is fast, heaters, extra bathroom vanity products and a good shower. There is a supermarket across the rd and many good restaurants a very short walk away. We caught the bus to Edinburgh from just outside and it was an enjoyable short trip to the city. Only problem is that we are only staying 2 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We decided to visit the Fringe but wanted to stay slightly out of Edinburgh, the Priory is a excellent B n B with the hosts doing the right thing.

Well equipped and comfortable bedrooms, full and varied breakfast, helpful and generous hosts, the property is perfectly positioned for the bus journey into Edinburgh bus stop just outside the front door.

Queensferry is a lovely village with a good selection of restaurants and a supermarket just across the road if needed.

Would I recommend that you stay YES undoubtedly!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Blobs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here the last two nights on a visit to Scotland, and found the place by chance, as we were kind of lost! Beautiful house and really nice rooms. Excellent breakfast. The Calmyn and Gordon were excellent hosts with good sense of humor and good tips about where to go and what to see. The only minus was that the bed was on the hard side, but that was how all the beds had been on our trip to Scotland...There was a direct bus to Edinburgh right outside the door and a train station just a short walk away. Nice restaurants just down the road, with beautiful views and great food!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent 2 days at the Priory. Our room was large and comfortable, the hosts generous and obliging, and the location excellent. It was lovely to be able to walk around this historic area where there is a lovely park nearby, plus the waterfront view of the bridges and a good array of restaurants/bars give the place a good feel. In addition the bus stop right outside the door gave us easy access to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Queensferry hotels
0 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,015 reviews
0.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry
Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, Sou...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Parkhead House
Parkhead House
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
84 reviews
0 mi away
Ravenous Beastie
Ravenous Beastie
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Lodge Guest House

Address: 8 The Loan, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9NS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Queensferry
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing