We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Queensferry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Priory Lodge Guest House
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We really enjoyed 4 night our stay at Priory Lodge Guest House. Our room was very comfortable, clean, good bed, lovely onsuite shower. All our needs were more than met buy the host couple. Breakfast was exceptional, wide variety and always very fresh.
Calmyn and Gordon were also very informative as to how to get to the venues. Their location was perfect for bus transportation into Edinburgh. We would stay there again without hesitation and will definitely recommend this guest house to our friends and relatives! Many thanks to our hosts for a lovely few days and the weather was great too!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

As you approach the front house at the rush hour you would never believe the rooms are so quiet but the guest house in the back is nicely secluded and no noise from the adjacent road bothers at any moment. If windows are open you may hear a light traffic noise from the giant bridge over the Firth of Forth, however, this sound is omnipresent in South Queensferry and quite constant so it's really hardly noticeable. Much more present are unfortunately the sounds from the room above you if you're on the ground floor. However this is the only disadvantage of this B&B I can really think of.

All the rest is just great: location, perfect food, facilities in the room, cleanliness and the scent of the big fresh white lillies in the hallway.

That's all in just 12 minutes from the Edinburgh Waverly when going by train. Well, 15-20 minutes walk to the Dalmeny station must be also considered but if to go along the High Street and then to climb a footpath at the magnificent railway bridge, the beauty of the views are worth it. The bus stop is virtually right at the doorstep but the bus trip to the city centre takes 40 minutes if I'm not wrong.

Another grain of salt: location is not ideal for night life in the Edinburgh city: trains and busses are finishing early here. To me it wasn't a problem. Otherwise taxi may be required. Taxis aren't expensive in Edinburgh but South Queensferry seems to be one of the most distant desitnations from the city center on this side of the Firth.

Overall top quality at the great price even during the Edinburgh Festival.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danieladrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

If you are prone to forgetting stuff or just travel light , this is the perfect stop off. The immaculately clean B&B has comfy beds,Wifi,TV's and DVDs, irons, ironing boards you name it; as well as everything you could want for the bathroom, except a toothbrush.

The breakfasts are out of this world, the mushrooms are magic ( no not that kind of magic mushrooms). Calmyn and Gordon and really kind and friendly.
Great plcace for local history walking and some good restaurants nearby.

One tiny drawback you might struggle to get a mobile phone signal on some networks( can't blame them for that).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattznfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Priory Lodge is well located, a comfortable distance from the city. Easy access by car and bus, quiet and well appointed facilities and grounds. The village is full of interesting historical events. Calmyn and Gordon are an excellent duo - no request is too much trouble. The breakfast is superb and they are both very warm and willing to share 'local knowledge'. Every extra is already in your room and rooms and beautifully prepared and serviced. (Even fresh flowers and chocolates!)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

nice and very professional hosts. The guesthouse offers also a shelter for bikes and not only a car park. It is seldom , but really necessary in Scottland

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 654,654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Priory Lodge provided everything we needed and wanted for our last night in Scotland. We chose it because it's close to Edinburgh Airport (three miles) but it delivered much more. Our hosts, the Lambs, had masterfully anticipated the needs of their guests and provided everything we needed. Our room was spacious and extremely clean. The wireless internet (worked best in the lounge but also worked in our room) allowed us to check in online for our flight. The room had everything from bathrobes to a hairdryer to a mini-fridge. We needed an early (6:15 a.m.) breakfast. A filling continental breakfast tray was delivered to our room--cereal, milk, croissants, bananas, yogurt, coffee, tea, and juice. Even though it was our last night in Scotland, we were able to enjoy ourselves to the very end, strolling a short distance from the B&B through the charming town of Queensferry where we saw the marvelous Forth Bridge and had dinner at the historic Hawes Tavern, where R.L. Stevenson wrote part of his novel Kidnapped. We plan to stay at Priory Lodge each time we fly into or out of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2CountryWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I stay inthe Priory Lodge for one night and it was wonderful.The room was nice and clean.Breakfast delicious.Calmyn was very friendly.The location in South Queensferry is perfect.A nice little Village with good Pubs and Restaurants.The view to the Forth Bridges is amazing.Edinburgh Airport is only ten minutes away.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johann-45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
0.6 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,974 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
675 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh -...
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Staghead Hotel
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
25 reviews
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel
4.0 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Lodge Guest House

Address: 8 The Loan, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9NS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Queensferry
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing