We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our host and hostess (owners) were very friendly and helpful, our rooms were exceptional clean, the food was plentiful.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Queensferry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Priory Lodge Guest House
Northville, New York
1 review
“Our host and hostess (owners) were very friendly and helpful, our rooms were exceptional clean, the food was plentiful.”
Reviewed 19 September 2010

If ever in Scotland you must stay at the Priory Lodge in South Queensferry. It is only a short bus trip to Edinburgh and you can catch the bus just outside the guest house. It is a clean and quiet place to get away from the city and relax. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They were able to ansewer all our questions and gave us advise on how to travel around Scotland. South Queensferry where the Priory Lodge is located is a quaint village. We ate at the Boat House three different nights and was always satisfied with our dinner. The view of the village and Moray Firth with the rail bridge and road bridge was just breath taking.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sewpretty4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    20
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
103
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Calmyn and Gordon Lamb have thought of absolutely everything as hosts of this comfortable B&B in South Queensferry, Scotland. The room was spotless, and the breakfast menu was extensive. Fridge/tea service/hair dryer/DVD & CD player provided in the room. Comfortable TV room just down the hall. Bus, train, or taxi into Edinburgh. South Queensferry is small but very quaint. This is one of the nicest B&Bs I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QRooBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Fantastic B&B with very friendly service, the rooms are very very clean and tidy with great facilities. Location was perfect for quick and and easy access to Quensferry and the local eateries and pubs. Top value for money. I'll definitely be going back!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbarkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle england
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We really enjoyed 4 night our stay at Priory Lodge Guest House. Our room was very comfortable, clean, good bed, lovely onsuite shower. All our needs were more than met buy the host couple. Breakfast was exceptional, wide variety and always very fresh.
Calmyn and Gordon were also very informative as to how to get to the venues. Their location was perfect for bus transportation into Edinburgh. We would stay there again without hesitation and will definitely recommend this guest house to our friends and relatives! Many thanks to our hosts for a lovely few days and the weather was great too!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

As you approach the front house at the rush hour you would never believe the rooms are so quiet but the guest house in the back is nicely secluded and no noise from the adjacent road bothers at any moment. If windows are open you may hear a light traffic noise from the giant bridge over the Firth of Forth, however, this sound is omnipresent in South Queensferry and quite constant so it's really hardly noticeable. Much more present are unfortunately the sounds from the room above you if you're on the ground floor. However this is the only disadvantage of this B&B I can really think of.

All the rest is just great: location, perfect food, facilities in the room, cleanliness and the scent of the big fresh white lillies in the hallway.

That's all in just 12 minutes from the Edinburgh Waverly when going by train. Well, 15-20 minutes walk to the Dalmeny station must be also considered but if to go along the High Street and then to climb a footpath at the magnificent railway bridge, the beauty of the views are worth it. The bus stop is virtually right at the doorstep but the bus trip to the city centre takes 40 minutes if I'm not wrong.

Another grain of salt: location is not ideal for night life in the Edinburgh city: trains and busses are finishing early here. To me it wasn't a problem. Otherwise taxi may be required. Taxis aren't expensive in Edinburgh but South Queensferry seems to be one of the most distant desitnations from the city center on this side of the Firth.

Overall top quality at the great price even during the Edinburgh Festival.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danieladrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

If you are prone to forgetting stuff or just travel light , this is the perfect stop off. The immaculately clean B&B has comfy beds,Wifi,TV's and DVDs, irons, ironing boards you name it; as well as everything you could want for the bathroom, except a toothbrush.

The breakfasts are out of this world, the mushrooms are magic ( no not that kind of magic mushrooms). Calmyn and Gordon and really kind and friendly.
Great plcace for local history walking and some good restaurants nearby.

One tiny drawback you might struggle to get a mobile phone signal on some networks( can't blame them for that).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattznfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Priory Lodge is well located, a comfortable distance from the city. Easy access by car and bus, quiet and well appointed facilities and grounds. The village is full of interesting historical events. Calmyn and Gordon are an excellent duo - no request is too much trouble. The breakfast is superb and they are both very warm and willing to share 'local knowledge'. Every extra is already in your room and rooms and beautifully prepared and serviced. (Even fresh flowers and chocolates!)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,897 reviews
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
629 reviews
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
23 reviews
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Lodge Guest House

Property: Priory Lodge Guest House
Address: 8 The Loan, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9NS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Queensferry
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing