We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay.”
Review of Wildwood Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zwolle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wildwood Resort
Denham Springs, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay.”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We rented cabins 14 and 15 for our group of four couples and two children and it was perfect. The grounds were very well kept and the staff was very accomodating. I was worried upon reading recent reviews of this place, but they were very wrong. If you are looking for luxury, go stay at a hotel. Our family was looking for a good time and we definitely got it here. We enjoyed sitting on the porch which was supplied with rocking chairs and picnic tables, fishing in the ponds, walking on the pier and swimming at the pool. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ahm3332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We were recently at Wildwood for a relatives wedding and it was terrible! I know this is a hotel review site, but I felt that this place needed to be reviewed as an event rental. First, the planks on the deck have very wide gaps and screws not sunk in properly, catching the brides dress on several occasions. There was absolutely no decoration provided in this 'all inclusive' package, the ceremony contained two dead hanging plant baskets and that is it. The tables had no table clothes and the chairs no wraps (as was stated in the invoice). The catered food was terrible and barely eatable and plastic utensils were used. All the outsourced products, from the food to the flowers was grossly overpriced and of poor quality. If this is how the hotel treats a wedding customer I don't even want to stay here on vacation!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sktmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

My family has stayed MANY place on Toledo Bend over the years. We were 6 adluts, a 3 year old, a 15 month old, and two small dogs. I was a little hesitant at first because this was the most expensive place we have ever stayed. We had expectations that didn't take long to be brought to rock bottom. Although the lodge we rented (#19) had a pleasant appearence when we got there, after my grandson spent 15 minutes crawling around and playing, it was evident how dirty the place really was. His knees and socks became black with dirt in no time. The lodge was VERY short of the items you needed. The kitchen has the bare minimal in cooking utinsils. Towels for 8 people were in short supply. I don't mind paying top dollar ($365 per night!!!) for a lodge, but I also expect the lodge to be TOP DOLLAR! The worse part of the weekend came when it was time to leave. While picking up and packing, my wife got down on the floor to check under a few things for the baby's toys. What she found was paper plates full of RAT POISON in various places around the lodge!!!!! You can understand how upset she was with our 15 month old grandson and two small dogs running around everywhere. Needless to say, it scared her to death! She picked up all of it that she could find and brought it over to the office at checkout. The lady was very apologetic to my wife, but then made comments that the poison was not the kind that they used. Almost implying that we had put it there!!! This is one family that WILL NEVER stay at Wildwood again!! And we will make sure everyone we know stays away too! There are MANY places on Toledo Bend that give so much more for half the price!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bigjohn6o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

The resort was easy to find and well-marked from the highway with consistent "Wildwood" signs at every turn. The staff was helpful and prompt through all of my correspondence before we came to stay, helping with items we should bring, the location of a local grocery store, and so on. The cabins were spacious, wonderful, clean, and convenient. When we arrived there was staff on hand waiting (since the office was closed) to personally give us directions to our cabin and offered to lead us down there with the golf cart.

BEST of all (because we had three toddlers amongst our two families) cabin 13 was absolutely perfect for young kids! Shirley had recommended 13 because of the open area in the living room, and her recommendation was spot-on. Other aspects of the cabin that we found perfect for little guys: the fact that there were no handles on the cabinets in the kitchen and no glass on the front of the TV stand. The pictures were hung high on the wall. There was literally nothing to break! We did not have to baby-proof at all really! Cabin 13 has two full baths (one with a shower/bath combo and one with a shower) and a sink in the hallway, maximizing the amount of multi-tasking you can do with two families. Additionally, there is enough floor room to move one of the single mattresses down to sleep a toddler closer to the floor in the bedroom. Or, alternatively (as we did) fit a pack and play in one of the rooms.

We enjoyed feeding the ducks, peacock, and geese and roaming around the grounds. Most of all, may I offer a truly hearty THANK YOU for the exceptional customer service that Shirley offered while we were staying at Wildwood. We had had a miscommunication at some point regarding when your pools would open (one of the primary reasons we had booked at your resort). Apparently they traditionally open Memorial Day Weekend. While they were not open while we were there, Shirley called the pool guy who advised that while it was a little dirty with leaves it was safe to swim and we were permitted to splash around in the kiddy pool for a short period of time. I believe he had even noted that he would come out, however he was attending a wedding. This truly meant a lot to our families, and it was greatly appreciated. 10/10 for customer service. The child pool was perfect at only about 1 foot deep at it's deepest point. It's in the sun, so the water was warm, but there were shaded areas and benches for the children. Additionally there were many (I saw at least four) swing and slide sets placed strategically around the grounds. AND, surprisingly the pier is slatted such that it is fairly safe for small children (I say fairly safe, but there are still areas that a dedicated child could work through). I still say pretty surprising considering!

We shall definitely be back as soon as we can find the time, and we shall be bringing more friends next time!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumberton, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

My wife and I spent 2 days at WIldwood and it was awesome. We stayed in #33 Lodge. It was 1500 sq.ft and well equipped with everything you need, including a romantic jacuzzi and fireplace. We paid $460.00 total for both nights and it was well worth the money. The 6 stocked ponds were fabulous as well as the covered and lighted fishing pier. We sat on the front porch in the rocking chairs and swing in the mornings and afternoon and just relaxed The ONLY bad thing was the swimming pools were only 3 feet deep. Other than that, everything was fine. It was so calm and peaceful. There is a grocery store in Zwolle that is about 10 min away and the restaurant there is Bill & Sissy's. Its decor is redneckish but the food it is greatand real reasonable. We are making plans for our next trip there now.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cajuntexan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, LA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2006

Wildwood Resort is a place that both families and couples would enjoy. It is on Toledo Bend Lake about 45 minutes west of Many. It offers 30 cabins and lodges on 40 hilly wooded acres (with 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedrooms). They have four swimming pools (two are for little kids), six stocked ponds, petting zoo, boat rentals and guided fishing charters. The kids truly enjoyed the swimming pools, the petting zoo (deer and donkeys), the rolling hills and the pier on the lake. They also loved going out on the paddleboat that was provided for free.

A few negatives about the facility: although Wildwood Resort promotes its lodging as "luxurious," our cabin was merely OK. In fact, it seemed to be a converted mobile home. The outdoor light did not work and the front door was quite difficult to shut. The one bathroom was tiny and dark. There was no telephone. Also, one of the pools was dirty and some of the cabins were very close together.

However, our cabin was comfortable and a reasonable cost for the weekend: $105/night. There are other "lovebug" cabins for couples that provide much more upscale features like a jacuzzi tub and fireplace (about $150/night). Our cabin did have plush new beds and a huge flat-screen TV, so it looks like the owners are making an effort. I just think they need to drop the "luxury" adjective for the more common type of cabin that we rented.

Summing up, it's a beautiful place with lots to do. If you don't fish, there are trails to hike and a gorgeous recreational area (San Miguel Recreational Area) right next door. Grocery stores and restaurants are within a reasonable distance. Check it out!
Web address is (--).

Helpful?
6 Thank WkgMomofTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zwolle
9.4 mi away
Cypress Bend Resort, BW Premier Collection
13.3 mi away
American Inn Motel
American Inn Motel
#5 of 5 in Many
28 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tranquility Bay Resort
Tranquility Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Zwolle
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Resort

Property: Wildwood Resort
Address: 129 Wildwood Rd, Zwolle, LA 71486-3648
Region: United States > Louisiana > Zwolle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Zwolle
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Zwolle
Wildwood Resort Louisiana/Zwolle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing