We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bailey Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Log Cabin: An Island Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Secluded home away from home”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Driving out to the Inn is an experience unto itself as you leave the traffic and crowds behind. Bailey Island is located on the end of one of he many fingers jutting out from the Maine coast toward the Atlantic Ocean. The staff are mostly family and friends and they make you feel as though you are part of the family. The rooms are varied (we needed to change to another room on the second night because we wanted to stay two nights) and both were clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and while the dinner menu is limited, the food was wonderful. If you are lokking for a little isolation this is the spot for you. We traveled all up and down the Maine coastline and this was my wife's favorite location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coachhtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
62
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The Log Cabin Inn was everything and more one could have imagined thanks to management that obviously was all about pleasing the guest. The suites were lovely (I was shown several) with updated comfortable furnishings plus accents of Maine in the decor. The grounds were landscaped beautifully. The breakfast was different each morning and even thought the menu is "fixed" it was always delicious. The outdoor pool was heated, clean and inviting. The staff was very accommodating but more than anything: THE VIEW! THE SUNSETS! THE LOBSTER BOATS ON THEIR MORNING RUN. The decks on the front of each suite faced a surround view that was just incredible. I tried to read a bit while I was there but...I didn't want to take your eyes off that gorgeous view. Ample parking. Quiet. I can not find one thing that wasn't top-notch about the Log Cabin Inn. Simply the best place we stayed while touring Maine.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepperell, MA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Although we've been to Bailey Island many times, this was our first stay at the Log Cabin. We needed a room that was mostly handicapped accessible and the Westview was it. Except for a small step up into the room, it was perfect. Our room had a lovely view and many amenities to make it comfortable. We even had the perfect spot to see the local fireworks. My only regret is that we could only stay one night. The breakfast was served in a formal way and was quite good. The eggs were slightly overbaked but not enough to be inedible. I am looking forward to returning on my next visit to Bailey Island.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buttonwoodbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The Log Cabin Inn was the perfect start to our Maine vacation. We stayed in the Harpswell Suite which was more than large enough for us. We actually didn't find too much of a need to leave the second floor other than to get to the hottub.

It really shows that Sue, Neal and the rest of the staff take pride in the Inn. It is kept so clean and all of the little things in the rooms show that they really know what their guests need.

The included breakfast was very good and having the full kitchen allowed us to bring back leftovers from Cooks and have them for lunch the next day.

Relaxing in the hottub at sunset was awesome. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Harpswell seems to be the most private of suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTDQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here for our 20th anniversary, based on reviews and the fact there was a room with a private hot tub on the deck. We couldn't have been happier. It was clean, quiet and roomy. The staff were friendly and helpful. We suggest you have at least one dinner in the dining room. The food was delicious! My husband called ahead to say I was gluten free, and they made accomodations for me. Breakfasts are included and filling. We've already sent friends and can't wait to go back ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luna2-20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P'burgh, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We were in Maine for my son's wedding and stayed over memorial day weekend. We had a total of four rooms for our family. All of the rooms were very nice, quite comfortable and all with great views. The staff was outstanding, accommodating every request but never intrusive. The included breakfasts were wonderful and a great way to start the day. If we are ever back in the area I have no doubt that we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nearlycanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsham, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2010

If you are looking for a quiet getaway for you and your spouse this is the place. The staff is super friendly and very accomodating. The views are amazing, overlooking the ocean and watching the sunset. We loved that our room had a huge whirlpool bathtub. Breakfast was an amazing 3 courses, we were so full, and it is included with your stay. My husband and I loved swimming in the very clean and warm pool. A

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papergirl207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bailey Island
9.9 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
19.2 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
17.1 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chebeague Island Inn
Chebeague Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Chebeague Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Log Cabin: An Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Log Cabin: An Island Inn

Property: Log Cabin: An Island Inn
Address: Route 24, PO Box 410, Bailey Island, ME 04003
Region: United States > Maine > Bailey Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bailey Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bailey Island, Maine it offers rooms with waterside decks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Log Cabin: An Island Hotel Bailey Island
Log Cabin: An Island Inn Maine/Bailey Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing