We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great escape!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bailey Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Log Cabin: An Island Inn
Certificate of Excellence
N.H.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great escape!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have stayed here the past two Septembers as we needed to decompress from the busy summer...the inn is a tranquil place on a peaceful island. Rooms are spacious and homey, and the breakfasts are homemade masterpieces!! The staff makes you feel right at home and is very helpful...we made our reservation for next year before we left for home!! Spectacular views from every room or relax on a lounge on the grass overlooking the bay....be sure to catch the sunsets!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
61
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gonzales, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband an I were planning an 11 day Northeastern excursion. He is originally from Boston so wanted to share some of his best experiences, Martha's Vineyard, Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine to have fresh Maine lobster. In my search for places to stay in Maine, I came across The Log Cabin Inn and loved the idea of it being located at the tip of Bailey Island. This was a great find for us to unwind, relax and enjoy some of nature's beauty at it's best. The landscaping and the view of the bay with lobster pots was absolutely amazing. We enjoyed a bottle of wine on the deck at sunset. The room was quite cozy and breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The staff was very friendly and also eager to provide information on local events and places of interests. We enjoyed the view at the end of Bailey's Island (Land's End) and also Cook's Lobster House was amazing. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsville, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband, sister, brother-in-law, and parents all stayed here in July. The rooms are large, clean and decorated tastefully. You can't beat the view! They have nice landscaping and gardens and the breakfasts were delicious. Too much for me to eat! We also had a very nice dinner there as well. It is a very quiet location! Some nice hiking trails are on the islands. Would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the West View room. It was very nice, but it is on the bottom, so you can hear if someo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

The Log Cabin Inn is a wonderful place to spend some time off the beaten track. A beautifully scenic location over looking the water; cozy well-kept rooms; lovingly landscaped and manicured flower beds-- perfect for getting away from the hub-bub of daily living. It's far enough away from the touristy-ness of Route 1 if you want just peace and quiet but close enough to major Maine attractions (30 minutes to Wiscasset, 1hr to Portland, etc). The full hot breakfasts (included) are homemade, absolutely delicious, and served by a delightfully friendly staff. The owners and staff do everything possible to make you comfortable and feel welcomed. I would not hesitate for a minute to return here. You will need to book early to reserve a room at this gem. :-D

Room Tip: Lower rooms can hear foot traffic in the room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

The Log Cabin Inn is a wonderful inn in a beautiful location. My husband and I spent a weekend here in October, and it was exactly what we were looking for. Remote, great views and nice rustic (but not too rustic) rooms that were very comfortable, clean and cozy.

The staff were very nice and accomodating, and it's very obvious the level of care they take to maintain the inn and keeps guests happy. Many of the other guests seemed to be returning guests, and I would certainly return as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We arrived at the Log Cabin after a long day of driving through horribly crowded and touristy places along route 1 from Boston. This was our first trip in the area and we were desperate to find the Maine we had read about in books. Bailey Island is a bit off the way but it was really worth the extra drive: what a fantastic location, finally we had arrived in Maine, as we had imagined!

We booked the Wiseman room, which has a direct view on the inlet. By "direct view", I do not only mean a gorgeous view from the private terrace. I mean "direct view" as in "wake up in the morning and open your eyes to the view of the fishermen boats returning from sea, right from your bed. Does it get any better from this?

The room itself was large and comfortable, with lots of windows (did I mention the view?). The bathroom is nothing fancy or spectacular but just fine. The room had airco, but although we were there in August, we did not need it as the cool sea breeze kept the temperature to a perfect level.

After arrival, we first took a dip in the swimming pool before enjoying a delicous snack and a beer on our terrace. We then headed for fresh lobster in a nearby restaurant to make our first Maine evening perfect.

After a delicious breakfast, we stayed as long as we could before heading back north but we were sad to leave!

We did find it a pity that rates explode during the summer but we found out that this is the case everywhere in the area, summer seasons means peak rates. However we enjoyed it so much we felt it was money well spent!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

PLEASE NOTE: I held off writing this review until I had made my 2013 reservation. I wasn't taking any chances.

My husband and I travel to Maine every year in the fall and spend anywhere from 14 to 28 days. This year we scheduled three weeks in Maine and included Bailey Island in our itinerary. In 2011 we rented a house in Bailey Island for a week and fell in love with the area. This year we wanted a place that would cater to us.

The Log Cabin has everything we need. We chose the York Room which is on the second level. Our room was very comfortable and we had a fantastic view. Every room includes a kitchenette with a coffee pot, small refrigerator, microwave, dishes and glasses, utensils, mugs and wine glasses. We also had a table where we could eat breakfast and dinner if we wanted room service. We chose to eat breakfast (fantastic!) in the lovely dining room each morning, but had our dinner delivered one of the nights. The food and service were wonderful.

The location is great as there is a lot to do in the Harpswell area and several good restaurants are close by for lunch or a change of pace for dinner. The Log Cabin staff is friendly and extremely accommodating. I know when we return next year we will feel like we’ve returned home.

Room Tip: For the best view select a second floor room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Corkyhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bailey Island
9.9 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
19.2 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
11.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
17.1 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chebeague Island Inn
Chebeague Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Chebeague Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Log Cabin: An Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Log Cabin: An Island Inn

Property: Log Cabin: An Island Inn
Address: Route 24, PO Box 410, Bailey Island, ME 04003
Region: United States > Maine > Bailey Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bailey Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bailey Island, Maine it offers rooms with waterside decks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Log Cabin: An Island Hotel Bailey Island
Log Cabin: An Island Inn Maine/Bailey Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing