We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets better every year”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bailey Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Log Cabin: An Island Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Elmwood, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gets better every year”
Reviewed 30 October 2010

I've vacationed at the Log Cabin a number of times, usually in the fall. Each time I do, the inn has gotten better. Rooms are very comfortable, and the hotel's special touches always make me feel welcome. The kitchen also keeps improving - the menu is limited, but the food is very good and creatively presented.

But more than anything, I keep returning because of the Log Cabin's hospitality. The entire staff genuinely cares about its guests. You can't easily fake that. I'd recommend the Log Cabin to anyone who wants a taste of Maine at its finest.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltyrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
62
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yamhill, OR
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Overall we enjoyed our three-night stay at the Log Cabin Inn. It is probably the nicest affordable lodging on Bailey Island, which is a GREAT place, but without luxury accomadations. The bed was a little too firm. The view, while nice, was not as spectacular from our first floor room as the upper-level rooms would have been. One of the breakfasts was great--a lobster quiche! The others were just good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Everjoyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raynham, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

We just returned from a two-night stay, and we would rate the Log Cabin Inn as an
outstanding place to stay. The Inn's attention to detail was amazing. Whoever
decorated thought of everything to make a stay in the West View Room as
comfortable as possible. The decor was charming. They do not scrimp at all
with the full course breakfast that is included. The staff was always friendly and helpful.
It's just a terrific place to stay, relax and watch the sunsets.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We spent 3 nights in the Harpswell Suite. This is one of the nicest suites we have ever stayed in. We loved the decor - beachy and casual yet nice. The white-washed wood paneled wall upstairs and on the trim was a nice touch. There was a nice full klitchen with granite counters and stainless appliances. Two gas fireplaces, one up and one down. Very comfortable king bed. The upstairs bathroom was great - shower for two, large vanity and even a single jacuzzi. And of course one of the best parts was the hot tub on the lower deck overlooking the water. The suite had plenty of windows to take in the view. I agree with what an earlier reviewer said - this is the perfect place for a romantic getaway but probably not a great family destination. While we were there, an elderly couple was there and it was so great seeing how in love they were.

The food is really outstanding - we had dinner there our first night and my husband's steak was flawless. We had three really wonderful breakfasts. The staff is sweet and goes out of their way to make you comfortable. The first morning we asked for iced tea and we noticed the remainder of the mornings they greeted us with large glasses of iced tea. For more info and pictures, check out our (non-commercial) review: http://www.weloveourlife.com/inns/baileyisland.html. You can't go wrong with this place!

  • Liked — Upscale yet comfortable, lots of space
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank WeLoveOurLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holden, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2008

We just returned from 5 amazing nights at the Log Cabin. What a beautiful place! We stayed in the Harpswell room, which was two floors with a hot tub on the first floor and a deck with a view to die for on the second floor. In the mornings we sat out on the deck with coffee and watched the lobster boats cruising by. The staff here was phenomenal, so friendly and helpful. It was so peaceful and quiet here, I would probably not recommend it for folks with younger children, but if you are looking for a romantic getaway with your significant other, amazing views, beautiful rooms and a delightful staff, definitely check this place out! We most definitely will be returning!!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank djk6162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2008

My wife and I spent one night at the Log Cabin this past weekend, and loved everything about it. Set at the "end of the line" at the last island south of Brunswick, ME, Bailey Island is very quiet, and that's the charm. The bay directly in front of the Inn was placid and restful and we could relax to our heart's content...just what we wanted.

There is an on-site restaurant with bar in a log-cabin like setting. Animals mounted on the walls, picture windows overlooking the water, and a delicious meal cooked just for us. That's one unusual feature of the restaurant, you have to order your meal ahead of time from the menu (we did ours a week in advance!) as the cook can better plan the meals to be timely. There are three sittings ( 6, 6:15 and 6:30 when we were there), so night time comes early.

Our room, the Wiseman Room was cozy and had an outside patio as did all the rooms there. There were TVs with a DVD/VCR player in each room, and some had hot tubs. A small gift shop is on site, too.

The staff was attentive, professional, and full of local facts to assist us. We learned that the delicious lobster my wife had was dropped off that afternoon by a local lobsterman - it was as tasty and sweet as any one she has eaten.

This is not a great place for young people, or families with teenagers, but if you want a quiet setting with a great water view, and a chance to relax and unwind, the Log Cabin Inn really hits the spot.

  • Liked — Quiet relaxing atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Too far away from home to visit more often.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ticket2ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hinsdale,nh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2007

my wife and i go here to chill from our stressful work weeks and believe me,this is the place to unwind. sitting in your hottub,overlooking casco bay and watching the lobster boats come and go.the staff bends over backwards to meet your every need and a great breakfast to start your day. go to their websight,click on the live webcam and see yourself being engulfed by the pleasure of this great place. mike and mary ann coakley

  • Liked — intimate location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjpc0819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bailey Island
9.9 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
19.2 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
17.1 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chebeague Island Inn
Chebeague Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Chebeague Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Log Cabin: An Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Log Cabin: An Island Inn

Property: Log Cabin: An Island Inn
Address: Route 24, PO Box 410, Bailey Island, ME 04003
Region: United States > Maine > Bailey Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bailey Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bailey Island, Maine it offers rooms with waterside decks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Log Cabin: An Island Hotel Bailey Island
Log Cabin: An Island Inn Maine/Bailey Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing