We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maine At Its Best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bailey Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Driftwood Inn and Cottages
Frenchtown New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Maine At Its Best”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Remote,rugged,laid back, beautiful and on the ocean. The Inn is a combination of cabins and rooms. Bring in your own supplies and hunker down and watch the sunset- sunrise and everything in between. The Inn has an official greeter- Menace- an adopted cat that is pretty cool in his own right. Do not expect luxury- but this establishment is comfortable in a camp like way, casual and has an extrordinary setting.

Room Tip: Some room - directly on the water have shared bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAINMAN84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    19
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We stayed at the Driftwood Inn over the 4th of July weekend and had a great time staying in one of the cottages. It was the perfect size for my wife, two girls (12 and 5) and I. The Futton in the living room was a good size for them while we stayed in the bedroom. It is very rustic with the wood paneled walls. The bedroom had a very comfortable bed and plenty of windows to let the night air in.

We only got to dine there once (for breakfast) and found the food to be very good at a great price. They have a deal where you can order individual items off the menu but it quickly adds up to the full breakfast price where you get one of everything.

There was a kitchenette in the cottage that was nice but we didn't get a chance to make use of it (except the fridge). On a future trip I think we would plan for it and use it more.

What really makes The Driftwood Inn is the location. As others have said the sound and smell of the ocean is very relaxing. Our girls also enjoyed watching lobsterman only a couple hundred feet away setting their traps. There were also sea kayakers out across the water enjoying the day. If you are into kayaking, there is a great place to set off from here where the shore is more sloped instead of the steep rocky edge as is found in the rest of the area.

At night, I really enjoyed just sitting out on the front porch of the cottage and listening to the waves crashing and having the cool breeze carrying the salt air over us. Very relaxing.

We hope to make it back here again and to get to make a longer stay of it. This was the 2nd stop on our two week roadtrip this year and we still have very fond memories of it even months later.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTDQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I enjoyed staying at the Driftwood Inn so very much. We were there off-season so meals were not available but we found lots of places to have food. My boyfriend gets up earlier than I do so he went out each morning and got us coffee and muffins at a nearby store. The room was very nice - rustic wood paneling and floors, a pretty quilt on the bed, and best of all, the sound and smell of the ocean just outside our window.
We had a bathroom but the shower was just down the hallway which was fine with us. If you want upscale luxury, this is probably not the place for you. It is homey and old-fashioned. The large porch with its Adirondack chairs is heavenly. Imagine yourself sitting outside on a lovely Indian summer night listening to the waves, smelling the salt water while two other guests had a fire going in the living room (the windows were open) as they played guitar and sang. It doesn't get much better than that.
We are returning next spring (off season again) and will rent a cottage this time so we can cook some meals and eat them seaside. I can't wait!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank claresparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Lots of changes have been made at Driftwood over the years -- rooms remodeled, menus expanded -- but the view, the surf and simplicity of the place is what brings us back. Fortunately, we had crystal clear weather all week and the pool was up and running for the season-- refreshing as ever! Although we cooked in our cottage, the dining room still has the best breakfast value and lots of new dinner choices. Without cell phone reception, computers or TV, our daughters actually enjoyed the company of each other-- and even us! . This is a great spot for a family vacation in the summer season. In the off-season, it's ideal for a therapeutic weekend get-away. No matter what season, nothing compares to sleeping with the ocean echoing outside your window. Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlljl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

The room was quaint and cozy, location fabulous. Just what one would expect of a seaside inn. The dining room was not open, which was very disappointing to my sister and I. Upon arrival we were told it would not open until the 26th of June, yet the website does not state this timeframe, and in several email exchanges with the owner prior to our arrival he never informed us of this. The pool is in disrepair and empty, and again the website boasts a wonderful salt water pool and no mention of it being unusable by the owner in his emails. The staff was not friendly, helpful or informative. In retrospect, the staff may have been the owners, who never did introduce themselves or make us feel welcome. When asked questions they acted like we were bothering them. Considering breakfast was not available as advertised, the staff did not even make a morning pot of coffee to offer the guests. Since there are no refrigerators or microwaves available for guest use, that leaves one with nothing to do but go in search of meals, which was not what we expected we would be doing when we arrived. Luckily we had a cooler with ice so we were able to buy ice at a local store, as well as other necessities, such as food. We enjoyed the room (which surprisingly had high speed wireless internet!) and the porch was wonderful to sit on and chat with a glass of wine, while the ocean provided waves crashing on the rocks below and the fishing boats went by. Otherwise, the inn keepers are sadly neglectful and we were very disappointed in our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lavendergrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Perched on the rugged coast of Bailey Island, Maine, The Driftwoods has an amazing panoramic view of the Atlantic Ocean. The rooms are rustic and cozy, but are suitable for a relaxing vacation or short visit to the island. The Driftwood is perfectly situated to explore the rest of the island on foot, by boat, or kayak. There is a small restaurant that serves breakfast and dinner.

Our stay was a reasonable price for two nights. It is important to note that the Driftwood Inn does NOT accept credit cards. They do state this n their website, but in small type. Be sure to take cash or check book for your stay; the closest ATM is a 30 minute drive away.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clevengera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

I felt like I had stepped back in time. The rooms were cozy and clean, the sound of the surf sent you to sleep, the food (breakfast) was awesome. The best part is sitting in a rocking chair overlooking the ocean and doin' nuthin.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tabok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bailey Island
13.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
13.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,370 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Chebeague Island Inn
Chebeague Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Chebeague Island
118 reviews
15.9 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#1 of 1 in Cape Elizabeth
967 reviews
10.5 mi away
Stonehouse Manor at Popham Beach B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn and Cottages

Property: Driftwood Inn and Cottages
Address: Bailey Island, ME 04003
Region: United States > Maine > Bailey Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bailey Island
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old style cottages and rooms located on Bailey Island, Maine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Driftwood Inn And Cottages Hotel Bailey Island
Driftwood Inn And Cottages Maine/Bailey Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing