We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“...the way a day sail charter SHOULD be!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tevake Sailing Charters

Tevake Sailing Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Full day, Half day, Two Hour DAY SAILS for up to six people. Call for details (207)841-9125. Join your Captains Bethany & Perry, at the end of Garrison Cove Road on Bailey Island, Maine.You can help set the sails or sit back and relax as we coast through the sparkling green waters of Casco Bay.Make our 1970 Mariner 31 your home for the day. We take care of the details.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“...the way a day sail charter SHOULD be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

OK so Perry rocks, awesome Captain - Now the review....

Boat was safe, clean, well maintained, and on time. The Tevake offered a unique sailing experience unlike the sheeple cruises one might find in Portland, Boothbay, Key West, Annapolis or other coastal vacation getaways. Folks this was a sweet sail and the real deal. We had average wind but since it kept shifting Perry was working overtime managing different sails and that gave me a great opportunity to study the way a sailboat works. Perry is well informed and generously shared his knowledge of the seas, the boats' operation and local interests such as coastline sightseeing, wildlife and the local lobstermans' trades. In 2014 Perry and Bethany will be adding a vessel to the fleet and I will definitely be back on Bailey Island to cruise on the ALERT; a 56' two masted gaff rigged schooner. Yes I texted Bethany for that info LOL. The Coast Guard were to approve it the day we enjoyed our sail with Perry. IF Perry and Bethany read this someday -- guys we had a great time thanks very much!! Also the butterscotch chip friendship bread was DELICIOUS!! thanks guys, hope to see you in a year or two.

Justin & Sheri Huffman
Pittsburgh, PA

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“There is nothing wrong with PERFECT *** PERFECT *** PERFECT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Okay. I know you, like me, are trying to squeeze in everything that Baileys & Orr's Islands have to offer these last few days of summer vacation. This is worth the price...and breath of fresh air and sea breeze. What ever you can afford in time and or money. Skip dinner. Pack a PB&J and just go sailing with Perry, Bethany and crew.
Enough said.

Oh, by the way. We are visiting again this fall and planning on a fall foliage tour. Why not?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonKim99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW area
Level Contributor
146 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great sunset cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Fabulous sunset cruise on the Alert. Bethany and Perry were wonderful hosts and even brought out the "cannon" to celebrate a gorgeous sunset. It was an evening that will be remembered fondly for a long time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TexanDFWarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We booked an all day sailing charter with Bethany and Perry, expecting to go out on the Tevake - when we arrived, they had the 56-foot Schooner Alert all ready to go! What a beautiful sailing vessel that is!! You could tell how impressive she looked by the reactions of the other boaters. It was a gray, windy day, which turned out to be the perfect weather to sail in and around the islands, and over to Portland and back. My husband was in heaven helping to hoist the sails and then steering the schooner as we sailed back to Bailey Island from our 6 hour tour. Lots of great stories, movie lines, and even some impressions. It was also fun having the bubbly, happy baby on board! We would highly recommend Bethany and Perry for your sailing adventures.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Way to spend the day ... Cinderella”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Bethany and Pery ... Margaret and Casco too- amazing hosts and captains.
We ha a great time and the ALERT schooner was even better then expected!
Perry told some great jokes too.
Highly recommend this sailing company.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank jas471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tevake Sailing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Tevake Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing