We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bailey Island Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bailey Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bailey Island Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bailey Island
Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My daughter and I stayed here on a college tour and we had the BEST time. The location is out of this world, the rooms are super clean and spacious, the restaurant next door was just what we were looking for and the chairs out on the lawn to watch the bay and enjoy the water views were icing on the cake. The coffee and muffins in the morning were just what we needed to get us on our way. Since it is a motel, you do get some noise from people walking by or congregating on the porch/walkway but everyone was pretty considerate and didn't linger too long. I LOVED this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KC4252013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Bailey Island for years but have never stayed at the hotel on the island. We have always stayed with family. The hotel is located right next to the Cribstone bridge which is a major landmark for the island. You can walk across the bridge and take in the beautiful view. Each morning there is a continental breakfast of coffee and homemade muffins. I really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others who plan to visit.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank peckstkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bythewatersedge, Owner at Bailey Island Motel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We are happy that you stayed with us. And hope that your family and friends think of us when they need a nice spot to stay the night. Come see us again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The view of the ocean and the cribstone bridge could not be beat. The room was clean, neat and very functional. Sunrise at low tide was exceptional and right out our door. The owner was friendly. Nice muffins and coffee served in the am. I love this island and the laid back atmosphere.

Room Tip: They have a couple of efficiency for the same price as the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bythewatersedge, Owner at Bailey Island Motel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your observation on Bailey Island and the Motel. We are very blessed to live and work here. We are almost next to the Cribstone Bridge, which is the only one like it in the world. The only thing separating us is Morses Cribstone Grill and Lobster shack next door. Where service, food, bar, and ocean front seating is the best atmosphere and you can roll up the driveway back to your room. The views are so nice to live and work by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Bailey Island Motel is located in a magnificant spot at the north end of Bailey Island with a 290 degree view from the adiorndack chairs. Chip prepares delicious muffins every morning along with Green Mountain coffee that we moved to the chairs at 7 AM. What an environment! The rooms are well kept and clean with open windows to gather the Maine fresh air.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, and room 6 and 61/2 the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bythewatersedge, Owner at Bailey Island Motel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Those muffins are always a hit. Not too sweet. Filled with Maine blueberries or raspberries or fruit of the day. They are just enough to start the morning, along with fresh coffee, tea and orange juice. Come back again and we just might share the recipe with you :) Thank you for writing about your experience with us. Pleas come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stumbled on this whilst making our way to Cooks Lobster House and decided to make this our base for a few days. It's in a great location, views to the bay with seating area, walking distance to 3 great restaurants.
The rooms are perfect size for a few nights, even has wifi and cable. The room was lovely and clean.
Compared to some of the motels further into Portland this is like a 5 star version of them with extra points for location and views.
We could not have been made to feel more welcome here, it was lovely for a few days of peace from the city hustle and bustle and some good fresh food.

Room Tip: Connies homemade muffins in the morning are amazing! Make sure you try them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donnamarieore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bythewatersedge, Owner at Bailey Island Motel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
All the way from England... so glad you found us and that you enjoyed your stay on Bailey island. We truly love what we do. The kindness of folks like yourselves make us very happy to welcome you. The motel is a perfect place to enjoy the island views and serenity. Hope you will come back this way again sometime. Thank you for coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

As soon as we arrived at this hotel, we were made to feel very welcome. The hotel is in a perfect location with water views everyone. There are plenty of places on the grounds to sit, relax and enjoy the views. It is right next door to a restaurant which is very convenient. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The room we had was on the second floor (room 6). It was large with a nice size bathroom. The bathroom had a container of cotton swabs and cotton balls which I thought was a nice touch. It also had shampoo and shower gel in the bathtub. The only suggestion I would have is to put a higher table in front of the window in the room for enjoying the continental breakfast at. Speaking of the breakfast, we enjoyed delicious juice and coffee along with amazing homemade muffins. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and definitely stay here again. I know one other review complained of a smell but we did not have any problems at all.

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful but request a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank redsox721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bythewatersedge, Manager at Bailey Island Motel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to your next visit with us. Thank you for the wonderful pictures you shared.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We had a great time here a little after Labor Day. Clean, cozy room with a wonderful view. The island was calm and quiet and relaxing. Great coffee and AMAZING homemade muffins for breakfast. (Chip will even give you the recipe!) The owner is a total local with lots of character and information. He took us to a fantastic local secluded spot that not everyone gets to see. Oustanding host! Staff was very friendly and helpful and did a great job. You almost don't need to go anywhere else to really enjoy the island. The lawn, dock, rocks, water, all right out the front door. Walking distance to excellent restaurant and cafe. All just what we needed to get away and unwind for a few days. Looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: Room 7 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bythewatersedge, Owner at Bailey Island Motel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you! We take pride in making your stay the best we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bailey Island
14.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
10.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
17.2 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
7.0 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
10.4 mi away
Stonehouse Manor at Popham Beach B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailey Island Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailey Island Motel

Property: Bailey Island Motel
Address: 24 Rte, Bailey Island, ME 04003-0004
Region: United States > Maine > Bailey Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bailey Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 Ocean View Rooms, Comfortable, Clean, Private Baths. Homemade Muffins, Juice, Coffee each Morning. Drive across the Historical Cribstone Bridge, eat at Famous Cook's Lobster House Restaurant, take a Noontime Cruise on the Island Romance Passenger Ferry. Visit Land's End Gift Shop. Close to Brunswick, Bath, Freeport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bailey Island Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing