We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Hotel in Bangor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
331 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Top Notch Hotel in Bangor”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I've been traveling to Bangor for years, but since this hotel has opened, I don't want to stay anywhere else. All other hotels pale in comparison. The rooms here are large and clean with up to date amenities. Location wise, it is a bit far away from shopping (not that anything could be far away in a small town like Bangor), and a river view room is not as fabulous as it sounds, but the decor, service, and comfort beats anything else in town. We stay so often that a couple of the front desk staff recognize us on sight. We just love it here.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for river view. You might get a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorHotel, Manager at Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Good Morning Katrina!

Thank you so much for your review. It's great to hear that we are living up to our expectations. As you know, we pride ourselves in our well kept building as well as outstanding customer service! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Johnna Pellon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    110
    49
    19
    10
See reviews for
60
187
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Have stayed at this hotel 3 times and every stay has been great! The rooms are very clean and certainly a cut above the rest,,,,,,, loads of big, fluffy towels, high quality toiletries and real crystal glassware, something pretty unheard of in our travels including to Florida and back. The staff are very friendly and efficient and if you are interested, the onsite casino will provide lots of fun. The buffet is also a drawing card to this hotel with good food and reasonable prices. While in Bangor, stay at Hollywood Casino Hotel.... you will not be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorHotel, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank You Dolly!

I love to hear from our guests! It sounds like you thoroughly enjoy yourself while you are here and that is what we aim for! Did you know we are opening a new restaurant in 2014? It will be a sit down restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We are very excited to be offering something new!

We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbellton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel October 15th and 16th. Our room was roomy, comfortable and very clean. The staff was polite, courteous and very helpful. The parking area could easily be accessed. It was our first stay in Bangor and found that the hotel's location was close to everything and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorHotel, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking time time to write a review! I'm glad you enjoy visiting our property so much! We are continually looking for ways to improve and strive to meet all of our customers needs. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great hotel right in the midst of Bangor, Maine. Not only are the rooms immaculate, the buffet is awesome and the slots are just an added bonus. We stayed only one night but were greeted enthusiastically and given the service we have come to expect. This was NOT our first stay and won't be our last as well. The front desk staff welcomed us and in a matter of moments we were on our way to a great room with a view of the river. We ate at the sumptuous buffet - includes not only peel-and-eat shrimp but the BEST prime rib I've had in a long time. The server at the prime rib station offed to "finish off" my GENEROUS cut on the grill behind her. I am not a fan of rare meat and the slice was returned to me perfect! To top it off there were baked potatoes, a large selection of "down-home" staples (baked beans, biscuits, etc.) and finally a row of desserts to satisfy anyone (including lots of sugar free items for those of us who are diabetic). Great visit!

Room Tip: Get a room in the back so you can see the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grampywraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorHotel, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Wow! It sounds like you had an excellent time! Thank you so much for taking time to review our property! We strive to provide excellent customer service, and it sounds like we were spot on! I will definately pass your notes onto the chef about his buffet staff! It's wonderful that the cook took the time to make sure you really enjoyed your meal!

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed at the hotel on October 2nd and 3rd. We got to the hotel early and they let us check in. The ladies behind the reservation desk were very nice and helpful. The room we had was at the end of the hall on the second floor so that was a bit of a walk for my husband since he walks with a cane but it was nice to be the last room at the end of hall for privacy reasons. The room was very clean and big. The king bed was very soft though and the mattress could stand to be changed. When we both stretched out it kind of sunk towards the middle. We had a 2 for one buffet coupon and went to eat at the buffet. It was later in the afternoon and the food was not that good. My husband had a panini and it was burnt and not edible! If you are going to eat at the buffet my guess is to try to hit it early in the day when everything is fresher. The gaming was very good to me as I won a couple of pretty nice jackpots on penny machines. We had a very fun time. When we left and got home my husband realised he left his pillow from home in the room and he called them and they shipped it back to us for the shipping cost. All in all it was a great stay and we would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorHotel, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your review! We really appreciate all guest feedback! We don't often sleep in our rooms so we rely on our guest feedback to help us continually approve. Next time you check in make sure to request a room closer to the elevator - or even at the time of reservation. We do as best as possible to accommodate all requests. There are rooms by the elevator that also are at the end of the hall with only neighbors on one side. They seem to be the most requested room - not only for the proximity to the elevator and the privacy but also because of the spectacular view of downtown Bangor!

I hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Disappointed in the Casino. It's small, not many table games, and the ones there are have high minimums. The only restaurant was a buffet and a very casual snack bar. Room was just OK, no refrigerator. Of course there is no breakfast included here. There are not many restaurants nearby, seems like a distressed area, but don't know for sure. Don't feel like good value for the price, would not recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorHotel, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
I'm sorry to hear you found your stay to be mediocre. That is certainly not what we aim for. Fridges can be requested at the front desk and delivered free of charge to any hotel room. Our Snack Bar offers a delicious breakfast from 6am to 10am every day. With the new Cross Insurance Center Opening across the street, the Darlings Waterfront Pavillion a ten minute walk from here, and the downtown area just a little further you can always find something going on in this area. We are also only 15 minutes from the Bangor Mall area, as well as 45 minutes from Bar Harbor and Acadia National park. It is my hope that you decide to come back and try us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Great overall experience! The buffet was tremendous,the rooms were clean, well furnished, and comfortable. The thing that impressed me most was the fact that the casino was non-smoking! I'm planning on returning here on my next vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sundsval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorHotel, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I am so happy that you enjoyed it! Our plan is to always provide top knotch customer service and provide a clean and fun atmosphere for all to enjoy. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel

Property: Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel
Address: 500 Main St, Bangor, ME 04401-6845
Region: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel offering seven stories of luxury and entertainment, perfect for business and leisure travel. 148 oversized rooms with king or two queen beds and 4 luxurious two room suites. All rooms include a complimentary full breakfast buffet and free parking in our parking garage. Amenities include 42” LCD flat screens, in-room movies, room service, fitness facility, and business center, buffet restaurant, lounge with live entertainment, and Maine’s only gaming facility featuring 1000 slot machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Slots Bangor
Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing