We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient to downtown Bangor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Harrison, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Convenient to downtown Bangor”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here recently while my wife was attending a business meeting. The hotel is only 5 or so years old and very neat and clean. The parking garage provides convenient parking. Located a 5 minute drive to the downtown area, there are several good restaurants in the area, and many more within a 10-15 minute drive. There is an attached casino for those interested, and a buffet which we found lacking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Barrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    109
    48
    18
    10
See reviews for
58
184
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Standish, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed and played at this property several times now, so finally I offer my review in earnest.

Let's start with the cons, because that's what most people want to know about first.

Yes, I understand this is in Bangor, Maine and not Las Vegas, Nevada. However having been to the latter many times, and to many of its hotels/casinos, I am therefore going to compare this property to my previous gambling experiences.

Ultimately this place, like all casinos, is interested solely in taking your money. However they could be a little less obvious about the money grab, and at least try to provide SOME value and entertainment for your dollar.

First - $5 per transaction at the ATM? Complete rip off. The most I've ever paid was $3 in Vegas, or anywhere else for that matter.

Second - $5+ per drink while gambling? I understand they cannot comp your booze per Maine law, but they can offer drinks at a lower price as at least some form of accommodation. Plus the drink service was very, very slow for such a small place. Get more waitresses or faster bartenders.

Third - not enough tables, and a poor selection for what they have. Only a few straight BJ tables (with 3-2 payouts) surrounded by other games with terrible odds (e,g, Let It Ride, Spanish 21, etc.). Table minimums are also incredibly high. Visited on a Saturday night on a holiday weekend, and three $25 BJ tables remained empty most of the night. There's a reason for that Mr. Pit Boss.

Fourth - poor slot and video gaming selection. Slots were tighter than a frog's you know what, and the place seemed to be dominated by penny machines, which caters to an older crowd. I guess this is their bread and butter, so to speak. Comps were ridiculous. I put several hundred through the machines and earned 81 cents in comp cash. Someday I suppose I will be able to get that free pack of gum in the gift shop.

Fifth - adding to point # 4; I think the average age of the visitors here was 70. Not bad if you're 70 or older I guess, and that is your scene.

Sixth - limited food and entertainment. There's a buffet and a small snack bar. The buffet is hit or miss (good prime rib and desserts but water-logged crab legs and shrimp). The bar located in the center of the casino is boring. I guess it would be better if they had better bands playing there, but I think Two Jills and a Jack were in residence the night I was there.

So what about the pros? Yes there are some.

First - the place is clean and well kept. Overall the staff seemed friendly given the constraints they had to work with.

Second - the rooms were decent size. Amenities were OK. Free Wifi, good TV, good bathroom. Hilton quality, but a bit overpriced.

Third - free parking, but something tells me they may start charging for this as business falls off to the competition (both in and out of Maine).

Fourth - good location, right off the highway, but again, it's in Bangor. There's not much else in the immediate vicinity (unless you're going to a concert/event down or across the street). There is also a shopping mall and golf course a short drive away.

Fifth - the "Hollywood" theme kind of worked. Neat, old-timey posters all around the place. Would be nice if they used some of their dead space for exhibits, artifacts and such, but hey, that would cost money.

Sixth - they are supposedly opening up a new bar and grill soon, which should add some variety to their food and drink options, and give the old folks another place to sit without losing their pensions.

Bottom line - if you're doing something else in Maine and this is on the way, give it a try for one night. You might get lucky. However, it's certainly not a worthy "destination" by any means. Save your money and visit some real casinos, or better yet - save your money and go to Vegas.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Leaving_LostWages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel has large and very clean rooms. It is a very well kept property. The staff are helpful and friendly. They treat you like family. The rooms even have a coffee maker.
The Casino is quiet, clean and odour free.
The whole property is smoke free.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcintra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Front desk attendant was not helpful or interested in helping during the check-in process. Unfortunately, as a military member I had stay in this hotel, but do not recommend it. I am positive that you can find more reasonable places nearby and at least they will provide a complimentary breakfast.

The price was quite high for a place that had no extras.....it appears that they only want people to come and spend money in the casino.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 282Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tremont, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The room was wonderful, with a River view...lights at night was an amazing site.
For the price of the room I am very surprised breakfast wasn't included.
It was nice to be able to walk to the Casino. Food at the Casino was very good....

Room Tip: Get a room with a River view...and can watch the train go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyndiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is a great place to stay if your visiting Bangor.

10-15min drive from the airport
located close to the downtown area
Rooms are modern, clean and have a great ambience to them
Internet is complimentary
Service is friendly.
Restaurant is in the casino area but all within the complex and convenient.
A little challenging to get a taxi for very early flights.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTZulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

One of my favorite Hotels to stay at.Relaxing and all is in the Hotel-no need to leave.The food is excellant and you have the Casino there,the Raceway not to mention entertainment at times.Love getting their emails to update me as to what is happening.Nice down town area to drive or walk about.Its just a really nice place to visit.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny-Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Everglade62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
4.0 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Charles Inn
The Charles Inn
#20 of 26 in Bangor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel

Property: Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel
Address: 500 Main St, Bangor, ME 04401-6845
Region: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel offering seven stories of luxury and entertainment, perfect for business and leisure travel. 148 oversized rooms with king or two queen beds and 4 luxurious two room suites. All rooms include a complimentary full breakfast buffet and free parking in our parking garage. Amenities include 42” LCD flat screens, in-room movies, room service, fitness facility, and business center, buffet restaurant, lounge with live entertainment, and Maine’s only gaming facility featuring 1000 slot machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Slots Bangor
Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing