We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So GREAT that I stayed longer than I had planned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Bangor
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is right off I-95. It is about a 10 minute drive from the hotel into downtown Bangor or downtown Brewer (close, but not walking distance). There is a LOT near the hotel; Target, Walmart, a huge mall, tons of chain restaurants (fast food and sit-down). There is nothing really within walking distance, you would need a car – but all those stores are a very quick drive up the main road - you can see them from the hotel. Acadia National Park is about a 45 minute - to an hour drive away. There is plenty of free parking, and good free wi-fi.

This hotel is awesome. First, it is super clean. Second, there is a very friendly staff – everybody was so nice. I loved everything about the hotel. Third, my room was perfect. It was really spacious, and I loved the big bathroom - it had had nice shelving, and a longer-than-usual tub, with like a little bench area; that was so nice. The beds were comfy and the room was spotlessly clean. I had a reservation for 2 days, then added another day, then another; I ended up staying 5 days because the place was so great.

They don’t feed you at this hotel, so no free breakfast. But, there is a very nice little café in the lobby. There’s a Starbucks there and you can order breakfast, then it closes – then opens again for dinner. I didn’t eat at this one, but I have at other Courtyards and the breakfast is pretty good. The only thing I got here was good coffee. They also serve alcohol at night, I believe.

Now, most important – something I really loved – there was a recycling bin in the room! I travel a LOT, and this is maybe only the second time I have seen that. I always wonder why hotels are not required to recycle. It was surprising because I had just come from a New Hampshire hotel that did not recycle (I thought NH recycled everything!). So, I was happy to see when I got into Maine they had this bin. It made me love this hotel even more. I could go on and on like I usually do, but I won’t. This is a great place. Stay here, you won’t regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tczig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangorCourtyard, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you so much for the great review! Our associates will be thrilled when I share your thoughts with them. They take great pride in their service to our guests and comments like yours keep them motivated!
We hope to see you back with us on your next trip through Bangor.

At Your Service,
Kim Whitmore
Front Office Manager
Bangor Courtyard by Marriott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Hubby and I stayed here for 2 nights and will definitely be coming back. After a day of shopping we came back to the room to freshen up to go out for dinner. It was so nice to sit back on the couch instead of having to stretch out on the bed to have a pre-dinner drink and snacks while watching a little TV and/or listening to music. The decor is modern and the rooms impeccable with white linen bedding. The only reason I did not rate this a 5 was the high prices at the Bistro.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangorCourtyard, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Canadian neighbor,

Thank you for choosing the Bangor Courtyard by Marriott for your recent shopping trip to Bangor, Maine. Thanks for mentioning our great location, minutes to the Bangor Mall shopping area and restaurants. We're just minutes from downtown too! We look forward to your next visit.

At your service,
Kim Whitmore
Front Office Manager
Bangor Courtyard by Marriott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Hotel lobby is very nice and inviting. We got free wifi but breakfast was not included in our room rate. The room was a little small but nice and functional. A close drive to restaurants and the Bangor mall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the restaurant area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffandjenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangorCourtyard, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. Thank you for choosing the Bangor Courtyard by Marriott for your trip to Bangor, Maine. We hope to host you on your next visit. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Kim Whitmore
Front Office Manager
Bangor Courtyard by Marriott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I have stayed here twice: once right after they had just opened and recently in October 2013 on a business trip to the area. As another reviewer noted, the hotel used to offer free tea and coffee in the lobby; now they do not and you have to pay at the bistro. This is a bit unfortunate, especially if you just want to grab a coffee in the morning before heading out. You may want to consider booking the breakfast rate at this hotel. It is only about $15.00 more than the standard rate and includes breakfast for two. This means you can order whatever you want at the bistro and get free refills on coffee or tea. If you are hungry and have time to eat, it will be worth it. I ordered the Breakfast BLT and a strawberry and banana smoothie. Both were very good and freshly prepared. Service was quick but it was not too busy either.

The first time I visited here I thought the rooms were excellent. Now, I am not so sure. The room with one king bed has the TV positioned at an angle, so that it is difficult to see it while you are in bad, or to put it another way, the bed faces the window looking outside instead of the wall, which makes watching the TV a bit awkward. The heating/cooling system has this naughty habit of turning off and on all night long. This interrupted my restful sleep. I tried to turn the fan on but that made the room very hot (even though the temperature read 67). On the other hand, WiFi worked fine (for checking email) and the room was very clean. The bed was comfortable and I did not see any stains in the carpet.

My most recent stay was on business and I booked two separate rooms. I requested that the charges for both rooms be put on a single folio. This makes it easier for me to get reimbursed from my school district. They said at check-in that this was not possible. I was a bit annoyed when other hotel chains have no trouble doing this. The staff at the front desk and at the bistro were friendly, however.

Room Tip: Higher floors will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinaShrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangorCourtyard, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Your comments indicate that we did not meet your expectations and we apologize. I hope that when you reported the issues during your stay that our staff was eager to address your concerns. We should have mentioned to you during your stay that unlimited complimentary coffee is available in your guestroom and I am sorry if we neglected to mention it. Starbucks coffee, tea and specialty beverages are available for purchase 24 hours a day in our Bistro. Guestroom TVs that do not line up directly with the seating area or the bed can be pulled out on their slider and rotated up to 90 degrees to adjust to the different angles you desire. Again, I am hoping that we were able to address your concerns while you were with us. Our entire staff is dedicated to your service, we would never want you to regret any part of your visit.

Sincerely,
Kim Whitmore
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Usually stay at the Hilton Garden Inn while in Bangor. Room and cost was comparable. Room clean and quiet, a must for me. We usually book nonrefundable a month or so in advance to get the best deal. Would not pay the regular rate listed a few days in advance. What I missed the most and this May seem minor, was complimentary tea in the lobby. I went down and bought a tea $2+ and so bought some tea bags and made some in the room. Front desk staff are efficient and personable. Fellow at the bar needs some customer service training. We ate out, so can't comment any more on the Bistro.

Room Tip: At the rear of the hotel facing the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangorCourtyard, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Carol,
Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor and thank you for choosing the Bangor Courtyard by Marriott for your recent trip to Bangor. You are correct! The advance purchase rates are a fantastic deal! We also have some great Marriott Rewards member discounts that you do not have to book so far in advance. I hope you decide to stay with us again the next time your travel plans bring you back to Bangor.

At your service,
Kim Whitmore
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

First, the property is very nice with all the std Marriot interior design innovations. What I was disappointed in? The fact they did not have a coffee service, the hot tub was chlorinated to the max, the restaurant was priced twice what I would pay in Boston. Two gin and tonic with bar gin $20.00, really?

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank rlp64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangorCourtyard, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest,
I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. Your feedback is very important to us. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address your concerns. Complimentary coffee should have been available in your guest room, with unlimited availability of extras at the front desk. I’m sorry if this was not communicated to you while you were with us. We also have Starbucks available for purchase 24 hours a day in the Bistro. I am hoping that when you reported the hot tub chlorine issue that it was addressed immediately. Our associates are quick to respond to maintenance issues. Yes, you are correct in thinking that the price of your drinks at $20 was high. My calculation for what you stated you ordered is different than that total. Please call me at the hotel directly to discuss reconciling this error. I can be reached at 207-262-0070.
Thank you again for bringing your concerns to our attention.

Sincerely,
Kim Whitmore
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I must say I was pleasantly surprised by this Courtyard. After reading some of the nrgative reviews I was expecting the worst.
However although the property is an older one it is very well maintained and the friendly staff more than make up for any minor faults you might find. The room itself was very well maintained and spotlessly clean. It had obviously had some upgrading done to it. I must congratulate housekeeping on a job very well done. My room was probably the cleanest I have ever seen at a Marriott Courtyard or similar property. I would definitely return to this Courtyard on our next visit to Bangor.
Oh!! And yes the cookie and milk delivered to my room in the evening was a very nice touch.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank unionjack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangorCourtyard, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our Bangor Courtyard by Marriott on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that we pleasantly surprised you! Thank you for the positive comments regarding our cleanliness and our friendly staff. I will be sure to share them at our daily associate meetings. Our associates take great pride in providing the best service to our guests. Thank you for providing us the opportunity to share your thoughts with them.
Please join us again the next time your travels take you through the Bangor area.

At your service,
Kim Whitmore
Front Office Manager
Bangor Courtyard by Marriott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangor hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Bangor
3.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Bangor

Address: 236 Sylvan Rd, Bangor, ME 04401-4221
Region: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bangor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
#6 Business Hotel in Bangor
Price Range: £86 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Bangor 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true Maine hospitality at the new Courtyard by Marriott. As one of the premier hotels in Bangor, Maine, the new Courtyard by Marriott design offers the latest technology, amenities and décor that exceed the expectations of today's business and leisure traveler. Yes, you can get there from here! With quick access from our Bangor, Maine hotel’s location near I95, travelers are just minutes from the Bangor International Airport and area corporations, including the University of Maine Orono (Go Black Bears!), Eastern Maine Healthcare, Husson College, Cianbro and General Electric. Maine's famous lakes, mountains and coastline are just a short, scenic drive away from our hotel. Additionally, as one of the most accommodating hotels near Bangor, ME, our friendly, knowledgeable staff can direct you to top attractions and local favorites like Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, The Maine Highland region and Baxter State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Bangor Hotel Bangor
Courtyard By Marriott Bangor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing